Search

St. Croix :: Freshwater Rods :: Avid Casting

 

St. Croix Avid Casting

Overall Customer Rating: 4.92 of 5 stars St. Croix Avid Casting Rods 4.92 out of 5 (12 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Avid Casting

St. Croix Avid Casting models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

AVC60MF

6'

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

3.8

Casting

AVC60MHF

6'

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

3.9

Casting

AVC62MXF

6'2"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Extra Fast

Medium

3.8

Casting

AVC66MLF

6'6"

1

3/16 - 1/2

8 - 12

Fast

Medium Light

4.0

Casting

AVC66MF

6'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

3.8

Casting

AVC66MHF

6'6"

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.3

Casting

AVC66HF

6'6"

1

3/8 - 11/2

14 - 25

Fast

Heavy

4.6

Casting

AVC68MXF

6'8"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Extra Fast

Medium

4.2

Casting

AVC69MLXF

6'9"

1

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

4.0

Casting

AVC70MF

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

4.1

Casting

AVC70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.7

Casting

AVC70MHXF

7'

1

5/16 - 3/4

12 - 17

Extra Fast

Medium Heavy

4.7

Casting

AVC70HF

7'

1

3/8 - 11/2

14 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.0

Casting

AVC76MHMF

7'6"

1

3/8 - 11/4

12 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

5.7

Casting

AVC710HMF

7'10"

1

1/2 - 2

14 - 30

Moderate Fast

Heavy

6.9

Crankbait

AVC66MM

6'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Moderate

Medium

3.6

Crankbait

AVC66MHM

6'6"

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium Heavy

3.9

Crankbait

AVC70MM

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Moderate

Medium

3.7

Crankbait

AVC70MHM

7'

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium Heavy

4.1

Crankbait

AVC70HM

7'

1

1/2 - 13/8

12 - 25

Moderate

Heavy

4.7

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC86MF2

8'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.8

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC86MHF2

8'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

6.1

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC86HF2

8'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.2

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC90MLF2

9'

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

5.7

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC90MF2

9'

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

6.0

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC90MHF2

9'

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

6.1

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC90HF2

9'

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.4

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC90HM2

9'

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Moderate

Heavy

6.4

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC96MLF2

9'6"

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

6.2

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC96MF2

9'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

6.3

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC96MHF2

9'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

6.5

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC96HF2

9'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.7

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC106MLF2

10'6"

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

6.2

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC106MF2

10'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

6.9

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

AVC106HM2

10'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Moderate

Heavy

6.9


* All Avid Casting Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Avid Casting

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

Great Rod, Better Customer Service

2012-10-25T11:41:33

10/25/2012 11:41:33 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I'd be shocked to ever meet someone who has fished with or owned a st. croix rod and been anything but extremely pleased. Not only are they some of the best built most sensitive rod's around but there customer service trumps that of any other company. Broke a rod on a hook set last month, printed out the easy shipping label provided on their site and the rod was picked up, replaced, and returned to my door step in less than a month. Life time warranty enough said.
Reviewed by: novabasskid (Northern Virginia)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

Awesome Rod

2012-10-25T11:40:41

10/25/2012 11:40:41 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is my 3rd one. Awesome rod! Amazing warranty...Good all around rod at a decent price.
Reviewed by: lucky

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

Will Never Buy Another Rod

2012-10-25T11:39:41

10/25/2012 11:39:41 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The sensitivity of the St Croix rod is a grade above any rod I have ever fished before. My success on the water has improved with just this one change in my equipment. I now own 5 and any future rod purchase will definitely be a St Croix.
Reviewed by: mbassinrph (DeRidder, Louisiana)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

Best Product Ever

2012-10-25T11:38:35

10/25/2012 11:38:35 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is my second St. Croix Avid Trigger Rod. I think this is the best rod ever built. I would not be afraid to purchase another one and probable will in the near future. The rod is light and sensitive to any strikes.
Reviewed by: Walleye (Columbus, Ohio)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

One Sweet Rod!

2012-10-25T11:37:48

10/25/2012 11:37:48 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have owned the 7' medium avid paired with my revo STX for about a year and couldn't be more pleased! The balance is not perfect but hey they couldn't possibly make every reel balance perfectly.
The combo is super light for a 7'' rod and super sensitive even without it being a split grip so don''t worry about that if it''s something you''re weary about.
Also if you can only purchase one rod I would recommend getting the 7'' medium, fast action as well because you can fish plastics and crank perfectly with this action and if you''re a more serious angler but don''t have as much to spend you can purchase a lot more models and still have a sweet set up.
The blank is one step up from the mojo series and the tough alconite guides go well with the rod but for $200 bucks I would like to see the titanium guides with the Sic inserts but hey made in the USA with a lifetime warranty you can''t go wrong!
Reviewed by: UnReelFisherman (Collingwood)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

St Croix Believer!

2012-10-25T11:37:01

10/25/2012 11:37:01 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The Avid is amazingly sensitive and has increased my catch ratio! For the money, it CANNOT be beat. I have a Curado 200e7 on the 7ft med action and the setup is flawless. I fish mainly plastics but this rod handles crankbaits very well. My whole rod collection has been replaced with St Croix products and will never buy another brand. The warranty is all you can ask for, and its made in the USA!!! Highly recommend the Avid series rods...I have a Legend Elite as well and there is not much difference as far as sensitivity goes.
Reviewed by: man (pittsburgh, pa)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

My favorite rods

2012-10-25T11:35:52

10/25/2012 11:35:52 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I now own 6 of these rods and I love them. Lots of backbone but very sensitive.
Reviewed by: smallmouthhunter (Kentucky)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

Great rod for inshore saltwater

2012-10-24T23:09:57

10/24/2012 11:09:57 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Have been using St Croix rods for years, both fresh and salt water. St Croix Avid series is great for striped bass, bluefish, and fluke. Very fairly priced and worth the money. I have had several of these rods for five and six years and they have taken plenty of abuse. They are capable of handling braided lines and large fish. 6 and a half and 7 ft models should handle any inshore situation.
Reviewed by: jjfrize (Hillside New Jersey)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

AVC68MXF

2012-10-24T23:09:16

10/24/2012 11:09:16 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is an excellent top water rod! Light weight and flexible without being too sloppy. I made a wise purchase.
Reviewed by: rrzds (Yardley, PA)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

Good Medium Priced Casting Rod

2012-10-24T23:08:36

10/24/2012 11:08:36 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I recently purchased the St. Croix Avid Series Casting Rod in a 6'-6", 12-20 lb class. I found it to be very fast, strong, well balanced and light weight.
A good deal for the price.
Reviewed by: Nko (PA)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

should''ve bought sooner

2012-10-24T23:07:48

10/24/2012 11:07:48 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

best rod i have ever owned. first purchase of a premium rod and will never go back. Used ugly stik lites for a long time, and are great rods for the money, but if you are serious about artificial baits, i highly recommend the st croix investment. Will be revamping my rod collection in the near future. Couple the 6.6 mh avid with a curado and 10 lb flouro, and you have a very nice smallmouth rig!
Reviewed by: tx17tracker (pittsburgh, PA)

 
St. Croix Avid Casting

AVC69MLXF

2012-10-24T23:06:47

10/24/2012 11:06:47 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This one is going to be used to wade for Trout, Redfish and Flounder in the surf and back-bays. Whoo!
Reviewed by: ComeFrom (Texas)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Avid Casting Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: