Search

St. Croix :: Freshwater Rods :: Avid Spinning

 

St. Croix Avid Spinning

Overall Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5 stars St. Croix Avid Spinning Rods 4.6 out of 5 (20 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Avid Spinning

St. Croix Avid Spinning models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Carp

ACS96MMF2

9'6"

2

1/2 - 3

8 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium

7.6

Carp

ACS120MHMF2

12'

2

1/2 - 4

8 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

11.8

Salmon & Steelhead Center Pin

AVS130MLM2

13'

2

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 10

Moderate

Medium Light

5.9

Salmon & Steelhead Center Pin

AVS150MLM3

15'

3

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 10

Moderate

Medium Light

6.8

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS86MF2

8'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.5

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS86MHF2

8'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.6

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS86HF2

8'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.8

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS90LM2

9'

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

5.0

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS90MLF2

9'

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

5.3

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS90MF2

9'

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.6

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS90MHF2

9'

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.8

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS90HF2

9'

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.0

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS96LM2

9'6"

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

5.4

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS96MLF2

9'6"

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

5.7

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS96MF2

9'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.8

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS96MHF2

9'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

6.0

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS96HF2

9'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.2

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS106ULS2

10'6"

2

1/16 - 1/4

2 - 6

Slow

Ultra Light

4.6

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS106MLF2

10'6"

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

6.2

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS106MF2

10'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

6.6

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

AVS110LM2

11'

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

4.8

Spinning

AVS46ULF

4'6"

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

1.7

Spinning

AVS50ULF

5'

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

1.9

Spinning

AVS56ULF2

5'6"

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.1

Spinning

AVS59MXF

5'9"

1

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium

3.2

Spinning

AVS60ULF

6'

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.3

Spinning

AVS60ULF2

6'

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.4

Spinning

AVS60LF

6'

1

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Fast

Light

2.5

Spinning

AVS60MLF

6'

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.3

Spinning

AVS60MF

6'

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.4

Spinning

AVS63MLXF

6'3"

1

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Extra Fast

Medium Light

3.5

Spinning

AVS63MXF

6'3"

1

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium

3.6

Spinning

AVS66ULF

6'6"

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.5

Spinning

AVS66ULF2

6'6"

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.5

Spinning

AVS66LF

6'6"

1

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Fast

Light

2.6

Spinning

AVS66LF2

6'6"

2

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Fast

Light

2.8

Spinning

AVS66MLF

6'6"

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.7

Spinning

AVS66MLF2

6'6"

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.7

Spinning

AVS66MF

6'6"

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.8

Spinning

AVS66MF2

6'6"

2

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.9

Spinning

AVS66MHF

6'6"

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.0

Spinning

AVS66MHF2

6'6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.0

Spinning

AVS68MXF

6'8"

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Medium

3.8

Spinning

AVS69MLXF

6'9"

1

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

3.7

Spinning

AVS70ULF

7'

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.6

Spinning

AVS70ULM2

7'

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Moderate

Ultra Light

2.6

Spinning

AVS70MLF

7'

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.8

Spinning

AVS70MLF2

7'

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.8

Spinning

AVS70MF

7'

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.1

Spinning

AVS70MF2

7'

2

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.2

Spinning

AVS70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.3

Spinning

AVS76MLXF

7'6"

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

4.1

Spinning

AVS76MLXF2

7'6"

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

4.1

Spinning

AVS80MLM2

8'

2

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Moderate

Medium Light

3.6


* All Avid Spinning Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Avid Spinning

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

best rod

2017-09-27T08:33:57

9/27/2017 8:33:57 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have a AVS66MF I love this rod went out and purchased AVS66MLF using for my crappie setup. Rods are AWESOME
Reviewed by: mr big11 (nwi indiana)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

Avid series spinning

2012-10-25T11:33:42

10/25/2012 11:33:42 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best rod i have ever owned i got this matched with a shimano saros and its the lightest and the most sensitive pole you can feel the lightest strikes on it and its got plenty of backbone i got the UL and it can handle 4-5 lb large mouth bass with ease..
Highly recommended
Reviewed by: Un (Old Fort, NC)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

awesome

2012-10-25T11:32:59

10/25/2012 11:32:59 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

my second st croix won't be my last, the sensitivity is unreal, i have it paired with the quantum smoke and it casts a mile. has plenty of backbone to pull up trophy walleye and big northerns. worth every penny.
Reviewed by: frankiebt (alberta canada)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

favorite

2012-10-25T11:32:20

10/25/2012 11:32:20 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I crappie fish alot in the spring and own 5 rods, the st. croix avid is my favorite and has made fishing more fun.
Reviewed by: paul (north central oklahoma)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

St.Croix Avid

2012-10-25T11:31:35

10/25/2012 11:31:35 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The Avid is second St.Coix rod I have purchased but first in the upper price range.This rod has blown me away with its light weight and sensitive feel when soft plastic fishing among other baits when bass fishing. The medium light also has awesome power and plenty of backbone in the seven foot model. This is must have rod for serious anglers who want great feel and long casting strong guides and graphine to match.
Reviewed by: Drew

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

Best Rod Ever

2012-10-25T11:29:35

10/25/2012 11:29:35 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Rod is Super-Sensitive and plenty of back bone. Has the strength to handle any fish you hook. Pairs great with an Okuma Adventurer reel. 10 lb line for crappie fishing is awesome.
Reviewed by: Josh (Copan, Ok)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

St. Croix Avid Series 6''6" Medium Power 2 piece

2012-10-25T08:45:28

10/25/2012 8:45:28 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Used this rod in Canada on Walleye and Pike. It holds heavy fish well and with a Shimano Sahara reel, casts beautifully. Best rod and reel combo I've ever owned.
Reviewed by: tubbus (New Jersey)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

St. Croix Avid Series 7'' UL, Medium, 2 Pc

2012-10-25T08:44:41

10/25/2012 8:44:41 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I've always wanted one of these St Croix ultralight rods. I do a lot of jig fishing with 1/16 and 1/8 oz jigs and 4 lb line. I've only had the rod for a couple of weeks so I refrained from rating it a full 5 stars.
I am happy with its sensitivity and balance. My only concern is that when I develop a favorite fishing rod I always find a way to break it.
This is quickly becoming my favorite rod.
Reviewed by: IvanUS (Northern Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

good rod for the money

2012-10-25T08:43:20

10/25/2012 8:43:20 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

i have had lighter and more sensitive rods, but they cost a whole lot more.
Reviewed by: RubTheChub

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

Avid 6''9'''' rod

2012-10-25T08:42:49

10/25/2012 8:42:49 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Most expensive rod I have every owned. Feels great, looks great.... will not fit in my lund boat rod locker. Will try a shorter rod, and hope the distance from handle to the first eye allows it to fit. First eye is too large. I will not have a rod like this bouncing around in the bottom of the boat.
Reviewed by: walleyechasr (Northome, MN)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

Avid 6''6" Light Action -- Used for Trout

2012-10-25T08:41:35

10/25/2012 8:41:35 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best Trout rod I have ever owned. My prior rod was a Shimano Compre light action, which had more than enough power for big Trout but lacked sensitivity. The Avid srikes a perfect balance between sensitivity and power. A 14" Rainbow is still fun with this rod, but I had no problem landing a 5.5 lb Rainbow either. And on top of all that, it is extremely light weight and well balanced with a Shimano 1000 size reel.
A great rod.
Reviewed by: man (Fairfax, CA)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

7 ft. medium light spinning

2012-10-25T08:40:40

10/25/2012 8:40:40 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod! very light weight, with plenty of back bone to land the trophies! purchased it for river fishing walleye in Indiana, most of my fishing is by wading and the 7 footer gives me a little extra distance. have it paired with a shimano stradic ci4 2500, perfect all purpose set up! Once you buy a St. Croix plan on replacing all of your other rods, because none of the others will compare!
Reviewed by: klbeeks (Wabash, IN)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

One awesome rod!

2012-10-25T08:39:47

10/25/2012 8:39:47 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I used to fish with cheap rods. Not anymore. I would trade the other 25 rods I own for another one of these babies. INCREDIBLE sensitivity. If you could test drive a rod before you bought it, there would probably be only a few rod-makers out there, and St. Croix would be at the top. WOW! Makes all my other cheap rods look like complete junk.
Never expected it to make such a difference...
Reviewed by: huntnfish (Stevens Point, WI)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

Great Smallmouth Rod

2012-10-25T08:38:43

10/25/2012 8:38:43 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great Smallmouth rod, I use it alot fishing the New and Bluestone Rivers in WV and VA. One of my two favorite rods. I have it paired with a Shimano reel and it makes an awsome setup for Smallies. You will not be disappointed with this rod. Plus it is made in U.S.A.
Reviewed by: WVlongbeard (Southern WV)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

Dream Rod

2012-10-25T08:38:02

10/25/2012 8:38:02 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've owned a lot of rods in the past but this one is the most sensitive I've ever owned i can feel rocks and the slightest bite. Its expensive but it is worth the money deserves my most highest recommendation
Reviewed by: Jr (Old Fort, NC)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

strong and sensitive

2012-10-25T08:37:26

10/25/2012 8:37:26 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Sensitive enough to tell the difference but strong enough to set the hook.
Reviewed by: WRESLE (United States)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

poorly made

2012-10-25T08:36:43

10/25/2012 8:36:43 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

The pole snapped in half as I reeled in a 2 lb. bass...
Reviewed by: drymocke

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

very good rod

2012-10-25T08:36:02

10/25/2012 8:36:02 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

recently purchased a St Croix avid 7 ft medium action spinning rod with a fast tip. It is great for casting medium and heavier lures including soft plastics, Is awesome for setting the hook on larger Bass and pulling them out of heavy weeds. This rod is lightweight and a pleasure to fish with. The reel holding knob loosens up quite a bit and i hope ST Croix will address this issue.
Reviewed by: fastaction (United States, New York)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

unbelievable fishing rod

2012-10-25T08:34:59

10/25/2012 8:34:59 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've had this for a couple years now.
Bought it because another friend had it for maybe 10 years or so.
You won't find a better fishing rod and it is Made IN USA!
Reviewed by: jcforester (United States)

 
St. Croix Avid Spinning

Best trout rod ever

2012-10-25T08:34:02

10/25/2012 8:34:02 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have this rod in a 7 foot UL power fast action, the best fight action with a trout on I ever experienced.
Reviewed by: troutman (United States)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Avid Spinning Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: