Search

Daiwa :: Surf & Jetty Rods :: Beefstick-SF Surf

 

Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Overall Customer Rating: 4.26 of 5 stars Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf Rods 4.26 out of 5 (23 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Daiwa
Series: Surf & Jetty Rods
Model: Beefstick-SF Surf

Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

BFSF1202HRB

12'

2

1 - 10

20 - 40

Regular

Heavy

Spinning

BFSF702MRS

7'

2

1/2 - 2

10 - 20

Regular

Medium

Spinning

BFSF802MRS

8'

2

1/2 - 4

12 - 30

Regular

Medium

Spinning

BFSF902MHRS

9'

2

1 - 6

12 - 30

Regular

Medium Heavy

Spinning

BFSF1002MHRS

10'

2

1 - 6

14 - 40

Regular

Medium Heavy

Spinning

BFSF1102MHRS

11'

2

1 - 6

17 - 40

Regular

Medium Heavy

Spinning

BFSF1202MHRS

12'

2

1 - 6

17 - 40

Regular

Medium Heavy


* All Beefstick-SF Surf Rods specifications from the official Daiwa catalog. Daiwa reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

For the price - BEST PURCHASE EVER

2012-09-26T00:45:36

9/26/2012 12:45:36 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Recently purchased the 10' rod at Bass Pro in Katy, TX and went fishing in Corpus Christi, TX this past week. I fished at the Bob Hall pier and was casting against heavy wind (30mph) with a 50 lb mono line and 6 oz lure all day. The rod proved to be very durable, handles great and is very well balanced. I had no problems reeling in whatever took the hook. In fact, at one point I got my line stuck and after a few power pulls the line brought back a nice custom wire leader that someone lost while fishing for sharks. I'm completely satisfied with the performance of this rod and will be getting the 11 and 12 foot rods for surf fishing.
Reviewed by: Campos (Huntsville, TX)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Excellent value

2012-09-26T00:44:08

9/26/2012 12:44:08 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I needed another surfcasting rod for a family vacation and this fit the bill. It gets the lures out well and was very easy to handle for newcomers. You can not beat this rod for the price.
Reviewed by: Surf11 (Florida)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

whale of a rod

2012-07-10T15:58:53

7/10/2012 3:58:53 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

cant wait to hit surf and catch a small shark
Reviewed by: tighline luke (austin, tx)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Good quility for the $$

2012-07-10T12:32:05

7/10/2012 12:32:05 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Bought a 11 ft for surf fishing. For the $$, it is a good rod. Suites my needs and seems to be well made. Bought a 2nd one in an 8 ft length and it is the same quality but I wish it had a couple more line guides.
Reviewed by: Bert

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

completely satisfied

2012-07-10T12:31:11

7/10/2012 12:31:11 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Very inexpensive yet quality rod - exactly what I was looking for.
Just used it last week for fall salmon. No luck, but the rod felt strong.
Reviewed by: Kedric (New Haven CT)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Great Rod

2012-07-10T12:29:57

7/10/2012 12:29:57 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I teamed the 12' Beefstick up with the Daiwa DF100A Giant Spinning Reel for shore fishing for large catfish and carp on the river. I stocked the reel with Trilene 20-lb. mono mainline and a 50-lb. mono shock leader. I can cast 3-5 oz sinkers 80-100 yards consistently with this combo. Everything seems to be well made and has held up through several casting and fishing sessions. For the money, I think this rod is a great buy.
Reviewed by: Augy (Illinois)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

exelent rod

2012-07-10T12:29:18

7/10/2012 12:29:18 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I think it excellent for resistance and weight, very good product for the costs or pier fishing.
Reviewed by: cabezon (BARRANQUILLA, COLOMBIA)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

dont buy

2012-07-10T12:28:36

7/10/2012 12:28:36 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

Got it, to try it....First trip, 3rd cast, first time I really loaded her up with an 8 and bait, and Wham!! half of the rod goes flying down the line, only to be reeled back in, with the rig retrieved she got tossed in the back of the truck and taken back.
Reviewed by: zambezi (virginia beach)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

beef stick

2012-07-10T12:27:49

7/10/2012 12:27:49 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod for the price. I just got it and teamed it up with the new Penn Fierce reel. I've landed a 40lbs ray from the pier here in SF Bay. The Rod has done it's job as of now.
Reviewed by: Kevin Jaime (Sacramento, Ca)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

great product no doubt under rated for the price

2012-07-10T12:26:59

7/10/2012 12:26:59 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I WAS LOOKING TO REPLACE MY EAGLE CLAW RODS THAT ARE VERY STRONG ! FOUND AND HEARD FROM MANY CAT FISH FRIENDS ABOUT BEEF STICK SPINNING RODS BOUGHT TWO THE 11 AND 10 FT AND BOY CAN THEY CATCH THE BIG ONE 40 PLUS LB. FLATHEADS WITH NO PROBLEMS WOULD LIKE TO SEE DIAWA BRING THIS ROD OUT IN A HEAVY ACTION IN A SPINNING ROD.THIS ROD HAS A SOFT TIP AND GOOD BACK BONE FAIR AMOUNT OF BEND IT WANT BREAK JUST HANG ON THIS ROD IS UNDER RATED FOR THE MONEY BUY ONE YOU WILL NOT BE UNHAPPY .I CAN CATCH BLUE GILL ON THE 11FT ROD THEN GO BANG IT OUT WITH A BIG FLAT HEAD CAT LIKE I SAID UNDER RATED TRY ONE YOU WILL BE SOLD ON THEM BEST ROD FOR THE BUCK .
Reviewed by: novacat (OHIO)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Great Deal

2012-07-10T12:26:00

7/10/2012 12:26:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod performs well and is balanced well. It has greatly improved my casting capability. The tip is strong enough for heavier weights.
Reviewed by: pslider (West Virginia)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Best for your buck!

2012-07-10T12:25:00

7/10/2012 12:25:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Just got the 10' Beefstick last week and went fishing for stripers off the pier and caught a 24 incher, brought the striper up the pier with ease. by far the best rod for the price $24.99 come on you can't go wrong!!! Very strong rod!!! perfect also for sturgeon fishing.
Reviewed by: beefsticklover (Hercules, Ca)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Works good

2012-07-10T12:24:05

7/10/2012 12:24:05 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I caught 2 sharks and some white trout on Redington beach Florida. I can cast out past the sanbar with hardly any effort. I'm using the 12 foot rod.
Reviewed by: whitenavarre (North Redington Beach, FL)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

great buy

2012-07-10T12:23:05

7/10/2012 12:23:05 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I own two of these the 8ft and 10ft. Both cast well, and for the price you can pick up a few. are they as nice as the $200.00 rods? no by far they are way off and heavy. but if your just going for a weekend or just hit the beach a few times a year this is a outstanding buy! Buy one for everyone in your family and pass on the fishing!
Reviewed by: lovett (Germantown, MD)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

So Far So Good

2012-07-10T12:22:20

7/10/2012 12:22:20 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I haven't used yet, but seems really sturdy. Look out stripers here I come! Looking to use for surfcasting in Maine this summer.
Reviewed by: fisherman (Vermont)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

too bad

2012-07-10T12:21:13

7/10/2012 12:21:13 PM 2 of 5 stars 2 out of 5 stars

I bought two of these rods. before I had a chance to use this them the rubber stopper at the bottom of the top section came out of the rod and got stuck in the bottom half of the pole. Without the rubber insert, the top section will not stay secure to the bottom. the rubber piece got stuck in the bottom, however, through great effort, we were able to retrieve the rubber plug and we re-glued it on. I checked the other pole and it too nust came out. So I glued it back in. I hope it stays. I emailed Daiwa to see if I could get more plugs.
Reviewed by: hopefulhi (Honolulu, HI)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

SIIICK ROD

2012-07-10T12:20:08

7/10/2012 12:20:08 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I PURCHASED THE 10 FT AND I WAS IMPRESSED. WITH THE RECOMENDED WEIGHT IT CASTS BEAUTIFULLY I MATCHED IT WITH A PENN FIERCE GREAT COMBO.8 SHARKS TO 30 LBS AND A RAY AROUND 60 HANDLED WITH NO PROB!
Reviewed by: AXEMAN (CALI)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Too Heavy

2012-07-10T12:19:06

7/10/2012 12:19:06 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

Rod is to heavy to use for surfcasting and not practical.
Reviewed by: swfishing

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

great rod

2012-07-10T12:18:17

7/10/2012 12:18:17 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

My casts have never been better and farther! I'm thinking of getting the 12' now
Reviewed by: stripercity

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Worth every penny

2012-07-10T12:17:18

7/10/2012 12:17:18 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I ordered this rod some time ago not knowing exactly what I was going to get having not held the rod before. I was very happy with what I got. It is not to bulky or heavy as other surf rods in this price range and it is not so stiff that it can,t load up when casting long distances. I have it paired up with Daiwa DF100A giant spinning reel that I purchased at the same time it cast great. No it is not my Lamiglas but for the price its great. I would not throw a lure with it much due to the size and weight but for bait fishing its great and worth every penny.
Reviewed by: pacificajack (Pacifica California)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Great rod for the price

2012-07-10T12:16:05

7/10/2012 12:16:05 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have a 12 ft. and is a perfect chunking rod for blues and strippers in the surf. It has handled strippers over 25 pounds with ease and bluefish over 15 pounds the same. It casts great but I wouldn't go over throwing more than a 5 ounce sinker plus the chunk.
This rod is definitely worth the price and more.
Reviewed by: BxKreiger (Long Island Sound, NY)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

Great value & quality

2012-07-10T12:15:04

7/10/2012 12:15:04 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I bought a 10' and 11' beefstick. I paired them both up with the DF100A reel. The rods work great for surf fishing. They cast great, the action is really nice, and they're cheap.
If you''re looking for a great backup rod or just a cheaper surf rod this is definitely it.
Reviewed by: delawaresurffisher (Delaware)

 
Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf

For the price - BEST PURCHASE EVER

2012-07-10T12:14:14

7/10/2012 12:14:14 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Recently purchased the 10' rod at Bass Pro in Katy, TX and went fishing in Corpus Christi, TX this past week. I fished at the Bob Hall pier and was casting against heavy wind (30mph) with a 50 lb mono line and 6 oz lure all day. The rod proved to be very durable, handles great and is very well balanced. I had no problems reeling in whatever took the hook. In fact, at one point I got my line stuck and after a few power pulls the line brought back a nice custom wire leader that someone lost while fishing for sharks. I'm completely satisfied with the performance of this rod and will be getting the 11 and 12 foot rods for surf fishing.
Reviewed by: Campos (Huntsville, TX)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Daiwa Beefstick-SF Surf Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: