Search

Shimano :: Jigging Rods :: Trevala Butterfly Jigging

 

Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Overall Customer Rating: 4.76 of 5 stars Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging Rods 4.76 out of 5 (25 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Shimano
Series: Jigging Rods
Model: Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Cast

TVC58XH

5'8"

1

160-270

80-200

Medium Fast

Extra Heavy

Cast

TVC58XXH

5'8"

1

120-270

80-200

Medium Fast

Extra Extra Heavy

Cast

TVC60H

6'0"

1

160-270

65-200

Medium Fast

Heavy

Cast

TVC66H

6'6"

1

270-325

80-200

Medium Fast

Heavy

Cast

TVC66M

6'6"

1

75-200

30-80

Medium Fast

Medium

Cast

TVC66M2

6'6"

2

75-200

30-80

Medium Fast

Medium

Cast

TVC66MH

6'6"

1

110-240

50-100

MediumFast

Medium Heavy

Cast

TVC66MH2

6'6"

2

110-200

50-100

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy

Cast

TVC70L

7'0"

1

55-90

10-30

Medium

Light

Cast

TVC70ML

7'0"

1

55-135

20-50

Medium Fast

Medium Light

Spin

TVS58XXH

5'8"

1

120-270

80-200

Medium Fast

Extra Extra Heavy

Spin

TVS66M

6'6"

1

55-160

30-65

Medium Fast

Medium

Spin

TVS66MH

6'6"

1

110-240

50-100

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy

Spin

TVS70L

7'0"

1

55-90

10-30

Medium

Light

Spin

TVS70ML

7'0"

1

55-135

20-50

Medium Fast

Medium Light


* All Trevala Butterfly Jigging Rods specifications from the official Shimano catalog. Shimano reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

awesome

2017-05-13T12:01:41

5/13/2017 12:01:41 PM

used the 5ft 8inch xh on a 5 day trip this past march. skipper thought I was nuts but this rod landed 3 kingies(yellowtail)over 31 kg with the largest @38 kg(83 lbs). if this rod can handle these demons,it can handle anything. absolutely the best jig rod for the money out there period.
Reviewed by: rick beilfuss (3 kings new zealand)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

One word- Awesome!

2012-07-07T10:13:13

7/7/2012 10:13:13 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't believe the amount of flexibility on this rod. I bought the one rated for 80-200 since I plan on using it in CapeCod this fall for Bluefin tuna. Paired with a comparable high speed reel, I've elaready used the setup in NC for Amberjack and in Florida for Grouper.
Reviewed by: StrategicAngler (East Coast Angler)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Great rod - HIGHLY RECOMMEND

2012-07-07T10:12:07

7/7/2012 10:12:07 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

What a fishing rod , used for jigging tuna , drifting the reef for fluke , and chunking for stripers . Just change the reel and you have a new weapon.
Reviewed by: FINKNOCKER (New Jersey)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Shimano Trevala responce

2012-07-07T10:11:21

7/7/2012 10:11:21 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the Trevala at the recommendation and his assessment of the product was right on with my Avet reel. I only was able to get out to LI Sound a couple of time but during my trip with my brother for Blackfish and Scup was great. The sensitivity and response for the small nibbles was fantastic and the rod is very light weight.
Reviewed by: JoeyJJC (Rocky Hill CT)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

One for all

2012-07-07T10:09:34

7/7/2012 10:09:34 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

From stripper to black or porgy fishing; the only rod you need.
Reviewed by: fisherman

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

BEST ROD EVER! Use it for everything

2012-07-07T10:08:55

7/7/2012 10:08:55 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I live in Tallahassee, FL and fish the Gulf coast out to about 200 miles every weekend. I use this rod for amberjack, grouper, snapper, kings, tuna, dolphin, cobia, and wahoo. I have broken these Trevalas only twice; once on a 12 foot tiger shark and once on a 78 pound cobia! Amazingly enough, both times the lower eye on the rod held on long enough after the rod snapped to get the fish to the boat! I love these rods! The warranty is awesome, also! I am actually on here today buying another one! Get a Trevala with a Shimano Torium 50 reel!! The Torium reels are awesome and they are half the price of the Trinidad. I honestly have four of these rods, and they are used for everything but trolling. If I could, I would post on here my picture with the tiger shark in the water and me leaning over the gunwale with a blood covered Trevala in my hands!
Reviewed by: Maxwell (Tallahassee, FL)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Nice rod, but lighter than I thought

2012-07-07T10:07:35

7/7/2012 10:07:35 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

This is a very nice rod for the price. I really like the feel and shape of the grips and the overall quality is high. My only problem is that the rod ( 6'6", M power) is a bit lighter in power than I expected. I would suggest to anyone that is looking to purchase one of these rods to check them out in person. If I had it to do over, I would have gone up at least 1 step in power. Luckily, I found the perfect niche for it in my arsenal.
Reviewed by: Huevos (San Diego)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Great Rod!

2012-07-07T10:06:42

7/7/2012 10:06:42 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The best rod on the market. It can be used for any type of fishing. I use it for trolling, butterfly jigging, bottom fishing, and casting. After i bought my first one i ended up buying 2 more.
Reviewed by: fishingtom (Tampa, FL)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Awesome Rod

2012-07-07T10:05:52

7/7/2012 10:05:52 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I use this rod for flounder to stripers. Great for detecting the subtle nibble of fluke and has tamed a 34# Striper and several in the high 20's. I use a Shimano level wind with braid. I now have 4 of these rods and everyone that uses them becomes a believer.
Reviewed by: Finatic (Central Connecticut)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Excelent Choice

2012-07-07T10:04:36

7/7/2012 10:04:36 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Trevala Rods are strong and light weight and come with a good warranty. Ideal for for jigging big fish. Yellowtail hit hard and a strong rod is required to stop a fighting Yellowtail from going down to the rocky reef were your line would be cut. A light rod is a must when it comes to jigging for hours. Best jigging rod I have ever tried and good for big game fish trolling too.
Mike, Sea of Cortez on the Costa Lotta
Reviewed by: CostaLotta (San Carlos Mexico)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

My go to light wieght rods

2012-07-07T10:03:36

7/7/2012 10:03:36 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I now have four of these powerful light weight rods!
last June on the Royal Polaris I was on an eight day trip down the coast and was able to reel in a Yellow Fin in the 60# rang fly lining a sardine with 30 # Power Pro, a Blue Fin in the 45# rang and a monster 53 # Yellow tail jigging a butterfly jig all with The moderate fast, medium power 30-80# braid 1 piece rod!
On the same trip with my heavy power 5.3" 200# braid rod I landed a 169# black sea bass.
By far the best rods I have ever used from jigging, casting, fly lining sardines or trolling this is my go to rod
Reviewed by: halibutlove (Reno Nevada)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

True fish fighting power

2012-07-07T10:02:21

7/7/2012 10:02:21 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod has great strength for its weight. I hauled in some nice Stripers with ease. I am already purchasing another one in the spinning version. These rods are now my go to all around game fish rods.
Reviewed by: fisherman (United States, Maine)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Best rod in the boat!

2012-07-07T10:01:20

7/7/2012 10:01:20 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the ITVC70ML 7' Moderate Fast, Medium Light ,20-50 Lb Trevala primarily for jigging Brown Trout and King Salmon on the Great Lakes. It not only excels at that but did a number in Alaska on Halibut up to 70 lbs and was allot of fun with Rock fish as well. Very light, well balanced, deceptively powerful and extremely versatile. Felt like much larger Halibut would have been no problem at all. Will be adding more to my arsenal!!
Reviewed by: Mudcrawler (Menominee, Michigan)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

I liked it so much I picked up 2 more

2012-07-07T09:47:43

7/7/2012 9:47:43 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

One of the best rods I ever purchased at a great price point. The 6'6" 50-100lb braid rod that I purchased easily took care of a 60lb BFT in 25 minutes. The rod is very deceiving. looking at it you wouldn't think that it has the power that it has but it does.
Reviewed by: JMR (Millbury, MA)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

excellent

2012-07-07T09:46:54

7/7/2012 9:46:54 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Am very pleased with this rod.
Reviewed by: jesser (MS)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Trevala Jigging rod: Spinning

2012-07-07T09:46:15

7/7/2012 9:46:15 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Very light and sensitive. Seems well made. But too delicate for what I need: single-footed guides are not durable enough for offshore use.
Returned rod.
Reviewed by: Bluerunner (Gulf of Mexico)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Great product

2012-07-07T09:45:22

7/7/2012 9:45:22 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased one of these rods to take with me on fishing trip down to Baja. I was very happy with the performance of the rod as well as the durability (it was a rough camping trip!) The trevala is so light and has action similar to a bass rod, I had old timers telling me that yellowtail would rip me right off of the boat while using it! I had to remind them the rod can handle up to 100 lb braid.
Reviewed by: Jack (Washington DC)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

worth the money!

2012-07-07T09:44:15

7/7/2012 9:44:15 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have been very happy with this rod. Happy enough to have purchased two of them. I have brought in tuna to 80lbs, striped bass, blues, Cod, Haddock etc. It has the back bone for tuna and the sensitivity for the others. Great rod! I use several reels from Okuma v45 to an Fin-nor OF65. My son uses the second rod with a Penn ssm 950. A bit over kill but he is only 12 and can use the extra line for 100lb class tuna.
Reviewed by: Fish36 (Boston)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Shimano Trevala & customer service

2012-07-07T09:43:21

7/7/2012 9:43:21 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

I have a few of these rods plus a few of the F series as well both conventional and spinning. Most were bought here on Cabelas. More than a month ago, one the TVS66MH spinning rod snapped in half on a 6 lb or so bonita. I packaged it up and sent it to Shimano. They said it was probably a "bubble" in the rod that caused it to snap in half. I told them I would like to upgrade to the F series, that I was now gun-shy on this model and pay the difference but they said they couldn't do that. I waited a few weeks and still no rod. I called again and they said it was on back order for more than a month. I asked again to upgrade and pay the difference and while they had the one that I wanted to upgrade in stock, Chris, the supervisor, wouldn't do it even though he said he had authority to do so. I am very unhappy Chris/Shimano won't let me pay for the upgrade and make me wait instead more than one month. This is not customer service! This is a disservice. I am now going to start buying other rods, ie, Crowder comes to mind.
Reviewed by: Norman (Juno Beach, FL)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Highly recommend this rod to all my fishing buddies

2012-07-07T09:42:12

7/7/2012 9:42:12 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have used this rod from rockfishing to catching huge
sturgeon and performed flawlessly. Super light and sensitive.
Reviewed by: Jedmo (CA)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

trevala spinning rod

2012-07-07T09:41:21

7/7/2012 9:41:21 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Incredible blank with a wide range of uses,I use the same rod for fluke big stripers and even smaller tuna (50 lbs).
Reviewed by: bowguide

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

SHIMANO TEVALA SPINNING ROD

2012-07-07T09:40:10

7/7/2012 9:40:10 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

GREAT FOR ALMOST ALL SALTWATER FISHING APPLICATIONS. USED FOR EVERYTHING FROM SEA BASS TO STRIPERS & BLUES. GREAT ACTION.
Reviewed by: CRITTERMAN (ROCKLAND COUNTY, NEW YORK)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Shimano Trevala Spinning Rod

2012-07-07T09:39:05

7/7/2012 9:39:05 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a light sensitive rod that is tough enough to handle larger fish Striper,Shark and Black Drum. But sensitive enough to feel Flounder or Tog bite on deep structure.
I just bought a second one for my wife.
Reviewed by: PaLongrifle (S.Central Pennsylvania)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

rod tvs66mh

2012-07-07T09:38:17

7/7/2012 9:38:17 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I already bought a TVS66MH, and went to fishing in southern China and was able to catch some small yellow fin tuna etc. and I got a exceptional response with this rod-Good
Reviewed by: ofjc (Macau)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Very nice rod

2012-07-07T09:37:14

7/7/2012 9:37:14 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Can't believe how lightweight this rod is, to strength ratio. Absolutely amazing.
Reviewed by: cvac (United States, Virginia)

 
Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging

Strong and Light

2012-07-07T09:36:19

7/7/2012 9:36:19 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is light and thin it can full you. Yet strong enough to handle 2 good size Amberjacks and one good size red snapper.
Reviewed by: StrikerDZ

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Shimano Trevala Butterfly Jigging Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: