Search

Shimano :: Salmon/Steelhead Rods :: Clarus Center Pin

 

Shimano Clarus Center Pin

Overall Customer Rating: 4.57 of 5 stars Shimano Clarus Center Pin Rods 4.57 out of 5 (7 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Shimano
Series: Salmon/Steelhead Rods
Model: Clarus Center Pin

The Shimano Clarus Center Pin Rods feature specially designed IM-8 Carbon blanks perfect for traditional center pin style fishing. These rods double as great float rods when you get into that situation. Clarus Center Pin Rods also feature Grade A cork handles, Fuji Aluminum Oxide guides, Pac Bay sliding rings, and come backed with Shimano's Limited Lifetime Warranty.

Shimano Clarus Center Pin models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

CSS130ML4B

13'0"

1/8-3/4oz

8-12LB

Moderate

Light

CSS113ML4B

11'3"

1/8-1/2oz

6-10LB

Moderate

Light


* All Clarus Center Pin Rods specifications from the official Shimano catalog. Shimano reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Shimano Clarus Center Pin

 
Shimano Clarus Center Pin

Clarus centerpin rod,

2013-05-18T13:36:05

5/18/2013 1:36:05 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

P,S, i forgot to mention on my last review, when i do my float fishing on still waters, i am using a fixed spool reel, " A Browning xitan match reel" loaded with 4lb Maxima line. This reel fits the clarus very well, it feels well balanced, So you can use a fixed spool reel or a centerpin reel on this rod , what ever you like best.
Reviewed by: allan punton (Scotland, u,k, )

 
Shimano Clarus Center Pin

Shimano clarus 11"3" centerpin float rod.

2013-05-18T13:24:53

5/18/2013 1:24:53 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I like this rod so much, i bought a second one, here is the reason. I do alot of float fishing on still waters, over here in Scotland, i like to make up my rods before i leave home, i attach the float, the split shots, and the hooklenth, as the clarus comes in four sections, i then split it in two halves for transporting, then when i get to the water bank, i simply assemble the rod, and i can be fishing in a matter of minutes, So now i have two of these fine rods, i can set up the two rods with different setups, ie, different floats, hook sizes for different conditions, I have only been fishing a few weeks now with my first clarus rod , and already caught a good two and a half pound hard fighting CHUB, also a nice 1lb Bream, and some smaller fish, it really has impressed me with the rod being so light, and having a soft action, I know i am going to enjoy using these rods in the near future, I hope you do to, tight lines everybody,
Reviewed by: allan punton (Scotland, u,k, )

 
Shimano Clarus Center Pin

big al,

2013-05-01T14:48:11

5/1/2013 2:48:11 PM

I bought this rod for float fishing mainly on still waters for roach, perch, bream, tench, and carp, and i have to say for the money it,s a great rod, feels well balanced, and has a lovely soft action, looks good , and having a softer action won,t pull out of the smaller fish you may catch, yet still fine for the bigger ones, It seems strange having a graphite made rod, as over here in the u,k. we have not had them for a number of years, all our rods are high modulas carbon, still i really like the shimano clarus, and would recommend it. tight lines every one,
Reviewed by: allan punton (Scotland, u,k, )

 
Shimano Clarus Center Pin

Finally a travel sized float rod

2012-07-10T15:14:23

7/10/2012 3:14:23 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

performs well for centerpinning for trout/steelhead and etc. versatile
Reviewed by: Skip (Mt.Pleasant,Pa.)

 
Shimano Clarus Center Pin

Great rod

2012-07-10T15:13:36

7/10/2012 3:13:36 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Used for steelhead fishing the great lakes. 3 for 3 first time out. Great power and improved casting when compared to my old noodle rod. Tough to beat the quality and guarantee of Shimano poles
Reviewed by: Nick (Youngstown, Ohio)

 
Shimano Clarus Center Pin

Shimano clarus C pin rod

2012-07-10T15:12:46

7/10/2012 3:12:46 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I like the way it casts and 4 pcs makes for easy transport. Caught some nice sized browns and bows the rods power made for quick realease. It is just right for the small to medium sized streams I fish. The reel mounting rings needed a little tape to keep the reel in place and the hook keeper should be moved behind the reel to keep it out of harms way. All and all,a GREAT rod!
Reviewed by: Magic (Hebron, Ct.)

 
Shimano Clarus Center Pin

Good bang for the buck

2012-07-10T15:12:01

7/10/2012 3:12:01 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Caught 2 steelhead first time using the rod and was please with how the rod handled the fish, one 8 and one 5 pounds. May get another clarus in the future
Reviewed by: walker (johnstown, pa)

 
Shimano Clarus Center Pin

Great Rod

2012-07-10T15:11:12

7/10/2012 3:11:12 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Picked it up after reading how everyone was raving about this rod. It is a really good rod for the price. Very light, crisp, and a perfect size handle. After fishing with a Browning Six Rivers for a year, this felt like an improvement. It handles steelhead very well even with 4lb leaders and feels like it will have enough backbone for slowing down a king. My only concern would be the eyes on the last piece of the rod. They are small and would probably freeze up easy.
Reviewed by: Craig (Upstate NY)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Shimano Clarus Center Pin Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: