Search

Shimano :: Freshwater Rods :: Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

 

Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Overall Customer Rating: 4.22 of 5 stars Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning Rods 4.22 out of 5 (18 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Shimano
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

CSS50ULB

5'0"

1/32-3/16

1-4

Medium Fast

Ultra Light

CSS56ULB

5'6"

1/32-3/16

2-6

Medium Fast

Ultra Light

CSS56LB

5'6"

1/16-1/4

2-8

Fast

Light

CSS60ULB

6'0"

1/32-3/16

2-6

Medium Fast

Ultra Light

CSS60LB

6'0"

1/16-5/16

2-10

Fast

Light

CSS66LB

6'6"

1/16-5/16

4-10

Fast

Light

CSS70LB

7'0"

1/8-3/8

4-12

Fast

Light


* All Clarus Ultra Light Spinning Rods specifications from the official Shimano catalog. Shimano reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Great Value

2012-06-18T23:15:25

6/18/2012 11:15:25 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Shimano, in my opinion offers the best value in fishing. Their mid-priced rods and reels are leagues ahead of other company's rods and reels at the same price point.
This Clarus rod is excellent. Light, well balanced, and sensitive. At this price point, I don't think you can get a better rod.
(one fault, the rear handles are a bit on the short side, I guess this isn't really a fault more of a personal preference. Shimano if you''re listening....LONGER handles.)
Reviewed by: MickyO (NY)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

keep looking

2012-06-18T23:14:57

6/18/2012 11:14:57 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

Had two Clarus rods, one 6'6" and one 7' both medium rods. Rods felt great and really light but broke both rods. 6' broke at first guide with a 10-12lb black drum hooked up, and the 7'' broke the tip at first eye while jigging trout. Have since moved to St. Croix and Castaway rods and love them. Shimano has some of if not the best reels on the market, but I am moving on in the spinning rod department.
Reviewed by: nobugsforme (South Louisiana)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Not really tested

2012-06-18T23:13:48

6/18/2012 11:13:48 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I have the 7' ML and it feels great in the hand. I could not help but respond to the reviewer wanting longer handles. If you catch fish over 8-10 lbs., using a heavier rod, I can see sticking it in your belly and having a long handle might help. This might be especially true if drowning bait and sticking the rod in a rod holder. I have trouble finding rods with short handles (moving the reel seat back) to get longer fulcrum and make use of a longer rod. Several guys I know hate to do it, but will often have to cut off 2-3" of rear handle on a spinning rod. Of course then you only have a 6 3/4' rod, but you do not have all the unnecesay rear handle in your way casting all day. For speckled trout and redfish, generally under 10 lbs. keep those handles short for those of us casting and retrieving artificials all day! The Clarus rod is OK so far but the first review is alarming about breaking under strain of a decent fish!
Reviewed by: Fish4fun (Troutbusters! Southeast Louisiana)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Bargain

2012-06-18T23:12:43

6/18/2012 11:12:43 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

this rod is one of the best deals out there. i got the 7 ft medium specifically for using shaky heads. the rod is very light and sensitive as well as durable. great rod for the shakey head and drop shot.
Reviewed by: amigo (US, Florida)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Clarus Spinning Rods

2012-06-18T23:11:37

6/18/2012 11:11:37 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

An excellent rod!! This is the fourth rod of this type that Ive purchased. One of these is a gift for one of my Canadian fishing buddies who was so impressed with the rods perforemance during our fly in trips last year.
Durability is very good.
Sensistivity very good.
Hook set is fantastic on large pike.
Reviewed by: fish hooks (New Richland. Minnesota)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Great Rod

2012-06-18T23:10:43

6/18/2012 11:10:43 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have several of this model and I find them a to be a great value. I fish mostly for red fish, lady fish, and trout where accurate casts are very important.
I like this rod since it combines the right level of stiffness and sensitivity.
I use the 7 foot rod, medium/light, fast action.
Reviewed by: Networker (Orlando, FL)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Best in its class

2012-06-18T23:09:44

6/18/2012 11:09:44 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The Shimano Clarus is, without a doubt, the finest spinning rod for its price. It is durable, flexible, and the grip is ultra comfortable--not to mention the sensitivity of the rod is unmatched.
The Clarus is absolutely my favorite rod.
Reviewed by: Bass Mistress (Greenwich, CT)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Shimano Clarus Prima Donna Fishing Rod

2012-06-18T23:08:55

6/18/2012 11:08:55 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

This is my 2nd season with my Shimano Clarus, 6'-6" medium action, model CSS-66M2A. Yesterday it broke on me for the 2nd time since I have owned it landing a 10" Rainbow trout. It left me stranded a mile, 1 hour hike, from my truck with no way to continue fishing. I have to send it back to Shimano for a 2nd time this year for a replacement. Now I understand why they have a lifetime warranty. I am 48 years old, have my California Lifetime fishing license, and have been fishing the same way my dad taught me as a child. I hike down into rough high sierra and cascade mountain canyons to fish rivers and streams, usually following animal trails and climbing over many boulders on my typical fishing days. In the past I have used Berkley, Mitchell, and other No-Name brand rod and I had NEVER broken any fishing rod in my life until this one. The Shimano Clarus is a terrible, wimpy fishing rod. It canít take the slightest of a beating or abuse, and as far as Iím concerned this rod is the Prima Donna of the fishing rod world.
I will never purchase another one of these rods.
Reviewed by: Ewag (Chico CA)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Excellent

2012-06-18T23:07:53

6/18/2012 11:07:53 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Perfect rod for this price! I use 8.6" ML2 and never had a problem! Right now bought second one for my friend.
Reviewed by: tarkys (New Jersey/Ukraine)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Fragile or Flawed?

2012-06-18T23:07:02

6/18/2012 11:07:02 PM 2 of 5 stars 2 out of 5 stars

I recently purchased the 6'6" medium action rod and it worked great on the first day out. It's great for casting and the sensitivity is excellent. However, on the the 2nd day when I turned to help my son with his line, I hit the rod tip against a cleat, and the rod broke about 6" above the handle. I'm worried about the long term durability the rod.
Reviewed by: usrods (Southeastern WI)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Clarus fishing rod

2012-06-18T23:05:52

6/18/2012 11:05:52 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

Last year I bought a less expensive Shimano Scimitar bait casting rod for use in Alaska for Silver Salmon fishing. It is stronger and cast further than the Clarus spinning rod I bought this year for the same purpose. They are both 8' 6" with medium action. I ended up putting my spinning reel on the bait casting rod and using it.
Reviewed by: amfisher

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Good steelhead rod

2012-06-18T23:04:43

6/18/2012 11:04:43 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I fish for steelhead yr round. I bought 2 of these rods last yr as Pier fishing rods 9 footers. These rods are built well and can take some damage. I use them during summer; floating bobbers with shrimp for the hard fighting summer skamania. I use them for drifting spawn and bobbers in the river. They have a real nice tip action and make for a good walleye rod when fishing with live bait.
Good rods at a good price. I will be getting another one.
Reviewed by: Multispeciestamer (Michigan)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Good value for Steelhead Rod

2012-06-18T23:03:19

6/18/2012 11:03:19 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own and fish some expensive rods (e.g., Loomis GLX and IMX models and St Croix's) in shorter lengths and in lighter line weights, but I just bought a Shimano Clarus (8'6" ML model) for a Great Lakes trib winter steelhead trip, after comparing it to the Calbela's Fish Eagle II 9 footer and the St Croix Wild River steelhead rods. My local store did not have a Loomis or Lamiglas models to compare and that is anorther price category entirely. The Clarus felt lighter in the hand with more guides and was only 60% of the price of the St Croix. I used in last weekend (Jan 18) on the Salmon River in Pulaski NY and the Oswego River and I felt it was a good rod in a medium price range for this application. I landed a nice 9lb plus steelhead on it and a couple of smaller brown trout while wading drift fishing so I cannot agree with the reviews that it lacked strength -- the rod and the reel''s drag handled the chromer fine for repeated runs. Any graphite rod can be damaged by bushwhacking in to difficult areas or by high sticking during the fight. That is the price we pay for thin graphite walls and lightness in the hand. For steelhead fishing mid sized rivers and Great Lakes Tribs I felt this was a good rod choice among what is out there- comfortable to cast, light enough to fish all day, with power enough to put the boots to them, but sensitive enough to bottom tick or bounce. It might see some light salt water duty in Long Island and Block Island Sounds this summer for false albacore which would be a good test indeed. I think you will be pleased with this rod for the price.
Reviewed by: simslax (Northern CT)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Those bad reviews are full of it!

2012-06-18T23:02:45

6/18/2012 11:02:45 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the CSS-66M-2, 6'6" medium power,fast action. And it's been wonderful!!! I've caught hundreds of fish on it over the past 2 years. I''ve carried it through miles of woods and brush. It''s NEVER let me down. It casts a mile,excellent sensitivity,very good balance,fine cork. Yea, I broke the tip off mid season last year. SLAMMING IT IN A CAR DOOR!!!
I put a new tip on it and fished the rest of the season. No problem.
Today I''m getting a new one under warranty, no questions asked.
Reviewed by: Fidrat (Iowa City IA)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Excellent rods for the money!

2012-06-18T23:01:38

6/18/2012 11:01:38 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own nine clarus rods and have fished each one extensively from trout and crappie to muskie and stripers in the delaware river. Love these rods. Compre rods are great, but for the money I feel the clarus rod is one of the best. For the people who said they were junk I've dropped mine on rocks, fell down hills and in streams, walked through many a thicket off the beaten path and had no problems. If your rods keep breaking it's because you abuse your equipment. People try the clarus line and you'll become a believer and save some $$$.
Reviewed by: Stretchesplace (Lansdale, pa)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Can''t go wrong!

2012-06-18T23:01:00

6/18/2012 11:01:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have owned my clarus 7' spinning rod for 4 years. It goes to Canada every June for some serious walleye and northern action.
It is by far the finest rod I've ever used. The sensitivety you have when jigging is unreal. I rarely miss a hit when useing this rod.
I think anyone that buys one will be more than satisfied with the performance you get from a Clarus!
Reviewed by: Finnlanderguy (Saint Louis Park,MN)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

Clarus 6''6" light action spinning rod

2012-06-18T23:00:08

6/18/2012 11:00:08 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Nice rod for the money and I bought it on sale which made it a super deal. The action is really good on this rod and I might even prefer the IM7 graphite this rod is made of to the higher modulus found in more expensive rods. It has good flex along with good backbone when you load it up. If this is the most expensive rod you can afford, just fish on with this one because you could spend another couple hundred bucks and not have really any better rod. Shimano also has the best rod warranty in the business.
Reviewed by: TNLongshot (TN)

 
Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning

A very good rod especially while still on sale

2012-06-18T22:59:24

6/18/2012 10:59:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 2 piece 5'6" MH rod recently and paired it with a Pfleuger President and 10lb. mono. I plan to change to braided soon though. This reel is still pretty sensitive and really sets a hook! I only wish there were more sizes available and I would buy several at this price. I own 20+ rods including some fairly expensive St. Croix and my favorite of all has to be the Cabelas mag touch 6'6" ML. I would recommend this Shimano one to be well made and way worth the price if you need shorter rods. The casting distance isn"t great at the short length offered here but I fish out of a canoe on small lakes and streams so it gets the job done. One heck of a heavy duty rod at even regular price.
Reviewed by: LDW6559 (Ky)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Shimano Clarus Ultra Light Spinning Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: