Search

G. Loomis :: SALMON & STEELHEAD :: Classic Salmon

 

G. Loomis Classic Salmon

Overall Customer Rating: 5 of 5 stars G. Loomis Classic Salmon Rods 5 out of 5 (7 Reviews)
Manufacturer: G. Loomis
Series: SALMON & STEELHEAD
Model: Classic Salmon

G. Loomis Classic Salmon models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

SAR 1084 C GL2

9'

2

1 - 6

10 - 30

Moderate

Heavy

SAR 1265 C GL2

10' 6"

2

2 - 8

10 - 40

Moderate

Heavy

SAR 1266 C GL2

10' 6"

2

2 - 1

15 - 40

Moderate

Extra Heavy

SAR 1363 C GL2

11' 4"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy


* All Classic Salmon Rods specifications from the official G. Loomis catalog. G. Loomis reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis Classic Salmon

 
G. Loomis Classic Salmon

guide

2013-10-07T19:44:11

10/7/2013 7:44:11 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The SAR1265C GL2 is one of the best rods I have ever used. Great for salmon trolling with dropper weights. You don't miss fish with this rod. Get is on ebay for $270.
Reviewed by: jim (boise)

 
G. Loomis Classic Salmon

2012-11-06T08:18:22

11/6/2012 8:18:22 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Yes those SAR 1265's are great rods, I have a TH 1265 that is almost the same. They are great for trolling Tillamook for fall Kings. I am looking for the little brother though, don't need all that power for spring fish up here in the gorge! There is nothing more exciting then fighting a large fish on a lighter rod.
Reviewed by: Pickles (Bonneville dam)

 
G. Loomis Classic Salmon

2012-11-06T08:15:28

11/6/2012 8:15:28 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have used G Loomis rods exclusively until last year
(gear and fly) when I purchased a couple of Sage fly rods. I have been happy with both but am still more pleased with the Loomis rods. For gear I use G Loomis SAR 1363c and have been very happy. I find the extra length to be very handy when float fishing. I do not honestly believe you can say one is better over the other. It just comes down to personal taste. I do not think you would be unhappy with a Loomis product.
Reviewed by: hawg hunter

 
G. Loomis Classic Salmon

2012-11-06T08:11:30

11/6/2012 8:11:30 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

SAR 1084 C in GL2 is a fabulous choice, My clients have landed many salmon and sturgeon on the 1084, even a few oversize sturgeon.
Reviewed by: The Greek (Portland and Tillamook Bay)

 
G. Loomis Classic Salmon

G-Loomis/Salmon Series

2012-11-06T08:09:53

11/6/2012 8:09:53 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Those SAR1084c's are some of the most versatile Salmon rods I own. They work for sturgeon, but are a little light in the backbone. My Loomis 10-40 8' BBR is a awesome keeper sturgeon stick though and it fishes up to 10 oz without a problem.

If I had just one rod for salmon and sturgeon it would be a 1084.
Reviewed by: weekende (Willamette Valley)

 
G. Loomis Classic Salmon

G-Loomis/Salmon Series

2012-11-06T08:08:38

11/6/2012 8:08:38 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

the SAR 1084c GL2 works in a variety of situations. Trolling, mooching and bobber for salmon and shallow water sturgeon, this is a great rod. I've used this rod at Tillamook with spinners and herring with weights over 8 oz. and the rod worked great. For shallow sturgeon tossing 4 to 8 oz weights this rod should work excellent.
Reviewed by: Hookset (Mid-Willamette Valley)

 
G. Loomis Classic Salmon

2012-08-23T08:10:32

8/23/2012 8:10:32 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The 1084 also gets my vote as a good choice, it is a G loomis classic as it is very versatile.
Reviewed by: RODACTION (Salem, Oregon)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the G. Loomis Classic Salmon Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: