Search

G. Loomis :: SALMON & STEELHEAD :: Classic Steelhead

 

G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

Overall Customer Rating: 4.93 of 5 stars G. Loomis Classic Steelhead Rods 4.93 out of 5 (15 Reviews)
Manufacturer: G. Loomis
Series: SALMON & STEELHEAD
Model: Classic Steelhead

G. Loomis Classic Steelhead models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

STR 1024 C GL3

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1024 C GL2

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1025 C IMX

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

STR 1025 C GL3

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

STR 1025 C GL2

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

STR 1084 C IMX

9'

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1084 C GL2

9'

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1086 C GL2

9'

2

3/8 - 1 1/2

10 - 20

Fast

Heavy

STR 1263 C GL3

10' 6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1263 C GL2

10' 6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1264 C GL2

10' 6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Moderate

Medium

STR 1265 C GL2

10' 6"

2

3/8 - 1 1/2

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium Heavy

STR 1024 S GL3

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1024 S GL2

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1025 S GL3

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

STR 1025 S GL2

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

STR 1082 S IMX

9'

2

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 10

Moderate

Light

STR 1082 S GL2

9'

2

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 10

Moderate

Light

STR 1083 S GL2

9'

2

3/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Fast

Medium Light

STR 1084 S GL2

9'

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1141 S GLX

9' 6"

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Slow

Ultra Light

STR 1141 S IMX

9' 6"

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Slow

Ultra Light

STR 1141 S GL3

9' 6"

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Slow

Ultra Light

STR 1201 S-SK GL2

10'

2

1/16 - 3/16

6 - 10

Moderate

Light

STR 1265 S GL2

10' 6"

2

3/8 - 1 1/2

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium Heavy


* All Classic Steelhead Rods specifications from the official G. Loomis catalog. G. Loomis reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

G LoomisRods

2013-11-12T19:16:12

11/12/2013 7:16:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

own three rods by GLoomis...GL3 levelwind, GL2 centrepin, and GL2 1084 spinning rod. Incredible action, never miss a hookset, the only answer for fishing for steel!
Reviewed by: kaitlyn (Vancouver BC)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

G Loomis Rod

2012-10-17T22:44:24

10/17/2012 10:44:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This GL2 spinning Rod by G Loomis is top knotch. It is by far the best rod I own.
Reviewed by: Seabranch (Hobe Sound Florida)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

G-LOOMIS SPINNING ROD

2012-10-17T22:42:56

10/17/2012 10:42:56 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

After fishing many other brands,spending many hours with a rod in my hand,I decided to spend the money and buy two new G-LOOMIS.After fishing two weeks with the new G-LOOMIS RODS,I have found the rods I want in my rod locker.These rods are very sensitive with great backbone.Now I see what the hype was about.
Reviewed by: ricrbp (mpls. minnesota)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

Spendy,But worth It

2012-10-17T22:41:22

10/17/2012 10:41:22 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This 2 piece rod has been very satisfactory for Jig fishing Walleyes and Crappies,sensitive,light and balanced well with a 1000 Shimano Saros reel,It also stows well being a two piece rod.
Reviewed by: TURK101 (North Platte Ne)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

Nice Rod

2012-10-17T22:40:34

10/17/2012 10:40:34 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great quality, light weight fast acting. Great rod to fish with.
Reviewed by: Steve (Spooner, Wi)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

Great Rod, Weird Handle

2012-10-17T22:39:50

10/17/2012 10:39:50 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I love the feel of this rod. Though many rods claim to be made of the same compound, this rod has more backbone than any other UL I have used. Yet it still is sensitive.
My only complaint is the handle. I have several ice poles that have the same setup, but it makes it really hard to know exactly where to put the reel. I have tried several positions, but it even makes a Quantum Energy 15 feel a bit heavy and unbalanced.
Overall I still love the rod, but I hope they get a better handle setup on future versions of this rod.
Reviewed by: bobwhitebarry (Cedar Hills, Utah)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

Great Rod

2012-10-17T22:38:42

10/17/2012 10:38:42 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great rod and one of me best purchases. Absolutely awesome for trout fishing. Extremely sensitive and powerful every fish you have on feels like its 10 lbs. Awesome casting and light too. I do a lot of trout fishing both fly and casting and fish a lot of different water... plain and simple this rod is fun to catch fish with!
Reviewed by: DOCGator (Trumbull, CT)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

Great all around rod!

2012-10-17T22:37:45

10/17/2012 10:37:45 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is perfect whether i am trout fishing or going for large mouth this light action rod gets the job done!
Reviewed by: fisher (Chester Springs PA)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

gl2

2012-10-17T22:37:03

10/17/2012 10:37:03 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

awesome steel head rod! super sensitive so you can tell the difference between a bite and rocks, best bang for your buck in my opinion
Reviewed by: rubitank (tacoma, wa)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

g.loomis str-1025c imx

2012-10-17T20:40:21

10/17/2012 8:40:21 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

If there was ever the perfect rod made for fishing the higher,
faster flows, and the bigger, nastier winter steelhead, the IMX 1025C is it. This rod is light and sensitive,
but with all of the muscle you need for winter fish. Casting
larger chunks of roe with drift bobbers and 1 ounce of lead?
This rod will do it, no problem. But, it will also let you downsize for those times when water flows are lower and baits, bobbers and lead need to be smaller as well.
The 1025C is the best steelhead rod i've ever owned.
Reviewed by: steelheadtom (santa rosa, california)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

super rod

2012-10-17T19:47:50

10/17/2012 7:47:50 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

great rod, as a professional guide i use and see all makes and models of rods, when fishing for large pike and lake trout you need a rod with back bone to bring the big boys in. this rod works just the way one would need one to.
Reviewed by: nwiniewski (Saskatchewan, canada)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

Great rod

2012-10-17T19:43:17

10/17/2012 7:43:17 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Got one steelie on it. Works great
Reviewed by: jccengr (Enumclaw, Washington)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

G.Loomis Rods

2012-10-17T19:39:12

10/17/2012 7:39:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

It is great. Just what I ordered at the best price around
Reviewed by: Jakeb (Osburn, Idaho)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

Awesome Rod

2012-10-17T19:36:34

10/17/2012 7:36:34 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Works as advertised. Great action and allows for a perfect cast each time. I've loved using it and haven't missed a bass hiding in the weeds yet.
Reviewed by: Botch (Salt Lake City, UT)

 
G. Loomis Classic Steelhead

Cant Beat It!

2012-10-17T19:35:56

10/17/2012 7:35:56 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I got this rod for my boyfriend for Christmas and that's all that needs to be said!! The best rod on the market for stealhead and he couldn't be more happy!
Reviewed by: TO2288 (oregon)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the G. Loomis Classic Steelhead Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: