Search

G. Loomis :: BASS :: Crankbait

 

G. Loomis Crankbait

Overall Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5 stars G. Loomis Crankbait Rods 4.9 out of 5 (21 Reviews)
Manufacturer: G. Loomis
Series: BASS
Model: Crankbait

G. Loomis Crankbait models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

CBR 781

6' 6"

1

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium Light

CBR 783

6' 6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Moderate Fast

Medium

CBR 785

6' 6"

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

CBR 841

7'

1

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium Light

CBR 843

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Moderate Fast

Medium

CBR 845

7'

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

CBR 847

7'

1

1/2 - 1 3/8

12 - 25

Moderate Fast

Heavy

CBR 903

7' 6"

1

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 17

Moderate Fast

Medium

CBR 906

7' 6"

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy


* All Crankbait Rods specifications from the official G. Loomis catalog. G. Loomis reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis Crankbait

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Great rod

2012-10-18T10:21:36

10/18/2012 10:21:36 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod back in January and have used it dozens of times since then. I paired it with a Johnny Morris reel (also excellent by the way) and have caught too many bass to count.
I had talked to people at a hometown fishing store and they had raved about the responsive feel of this rod. About a month ago i was throwing a deep diving crankbait over an underwater rise and hooked into a rather fiesty 5 to 6 pound bass.
Now I was afraid of it jumping and throwing the lure but not with this rod. The bass jumped and I watched the tip of this rod swing precisely with the head of the bass. No slack was there to allow him to get off.
This rod is lightweight, easy to use, effective, and with the lifetime warranty, this rod can't be beat.
Reviewed by: Brad (Auburn, AL)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Feel

2012-10-18T10:20:26

10/18/2012 10:20:26 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great casting rod. I have the CBR843 and can cast far. Lite weight, sensitive, and great hook set. I would recommend this crankbait rod.
Reviewed by: Bobby (Fort Worth, Texas)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Great but..

2012-10-18T10:19:36

10/18/2012 10:19:36 AM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

Great rod. I fished with it two weeks straight when I first got this rod. It is extremely impressive, but I must say for the money the shops crankin stick is almost as good, and at such a lower cost. I think by far the BPS crank is the better buy
Reviewed by: Chrisb (Ga)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Great Rod

2012-10-18T10:18:15

10/18/2012 10:18:15 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is lightweight, durable, and the tip is perfect for cranking. A have to agree with the other reviewers in saying that this rod is also great for throwing spinnerbaits. I own the CBR 783 (6'6" M) rod paired up with a Shimano Cruado 101D and the combination is amazing. You can pick up other cranking rods that will do the trick, but none that can match the weight, sensitivity, and and warranty of GLoomis. You will not regret getting this rod.
Reviewed by: PghBassAngler (Pittsburgh, PA)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Crankin!

2012-10-18T10:17:16

10/18/2012 10:17:16 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great crank bait rod. It is light weight and sensitive. I have the 7' Medium version and this rod really excellent. It casts a mie with accuracy. Highly Recommend this one!
Reviewed by: Andrew79 (Racine Wisconsin)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Crankin Stick

2012-10-18T10:15:48

10/18/2012 10:15:48 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own this rod in in the 7 foot, Medium power, I can't tell you what a great addition to my collection this rod has been. It throws crank baits with almost no effort at all. It also has plenty of power. The moderate slow action really helps prevent ripping hooks out of the fishes mouth too.
Reviewed by: Andrew (Wisconsin)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Amazing Rods!

2012-10-18T10:14:57

10/18/2012 10:14:57 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

just purchased this rod a couple of days ago and paired it up with a shimano calcutta 100 te with powerpro braid, it is the most sensitive rod i have used. youcan feel every wobble of the crankbait and when a fish bites you can feel the fish bite before you feel the weight of the fish. definatley gonna buy more gloomis rods.
Reviewed by: BIGCATSLAYER (BLAINE,KY)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Amazing Rods!

2012-10-18T10:13:35

10/18/2012 10:13:35 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the GLX med & med havy rod. The med paired with a Daiwa Zillion Crazy Crank reel, & the medium havy paired with a Shimano Chronarch D. These Rods are the most sensitive cranking rods I've ever used. If you are looking for a good rod these are the ones your looking for. Also try the setups i listed above i love them both! Amazing job Loomis and thanx for the awesome products.
Reviewed by: Hensley (Cumming, Ga)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Crankin Rod

2012-10-18T10:11:20

10/18/2012 10:11:20 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 6'6" model and it rocks for shallow cranking. It has enough tip to cast a shallow running bait and more than enough backbone to get the big ones out. It throws the RC .5 all the way to the RC 2.5 with great accuracy. It also makes a great tight in buzzbait rod. I fish areas where the trees over hang the river and it will get a buzzbait back in with accuracy. I love it - I plan on getting another one this Spring.
Reviewed by: FishingJunkie (Nokesville, VA)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Crankin Dream!

2012-10-18T10:10:33

10/18/2012 10:10:33 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod had perfect action and flex for crankbait fishing. Far lighter than other cranking rods and it's a little pricy but it's a Loomis and if you ever dealt with them on rod issues breakage etc. You will not be disappointed they will make it right it's worth the price difference.
Reviewed by: BassCat (Georgia)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Great Rod

2012-10-18T10:09:30

10/18/2012 10:09:30 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a nice rod for all types of Crankbaits. I have had this rod for just a few weeks and i have to say its great. I have used G.Loomis for most of my recent tournaments and i have won my last 2 with this rod. The rod is the best crankbait rod i have ever used.
A great price rod and it is worth twice the price, just dont tell G.Loomis that.
All crankbaits work for this rod, wether it is shallow crankbait to deep down crankbaits ,and even for mid crankbaits. The rod has a strong ,yet sensitive. When a fish bite you can tell right away.
Reviewed by: bassboy

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

G.LoomisŪ Crankbait SeriesŪ Trigger Rods

2012-10-18T10:07:52

10/18/2012 10:07:52 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

These rods are expensive for the average joe, but the performance is outstanding. Super sensitive, light weight and purdy. I would not recommend these rods for gifts unless you really know the person you are giving them to, as for the expense and differences in actions and lengths. This is not a negative review, the person using needs to select the rod they want or need.
All in all these are superior rods to others I have used.
Reviewed by: tbone (Finger Lakes, New York)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

THE BEST

2012-10-18T10:06:44

10/18/2012 10:06:44 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own three of these, the 841, which is used for smaller crankbaits, smaller topwaters, and small rip baits. The 843, which will fish a 1/2 oz trap, medium topwater, small blade, bigger rip bait. Also own the 845 which rocks for deep divers, big topwaters and other big reaction baits. The sensitivity is TOPS...I am feeling everything, including short strikers. Wish I would have just bought these in the first place instead of trying to find a decent lower-end crank rod. TRY ONE AND YOU WILL GET MORE.
Reviewed by: Creepy (On the water)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

CBR 843

2012-10-18T10:05:37

10/18/2012 10:05:37 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have one already and use it all the time love this rod had to have one more for my tournament fishing.
Reviewed by: Probass (Iowa)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

7 star rod

2012-10-18T10:04:55

10/18/2012 10:04:55 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

excellent rod from all points of views. i love my rod expensive but worth it. can't wait to fish with it. i know what make this rod so great "oh, its a Loomis" buy one and love it.
Reviewed by: allaboutfishing (riverside)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Great Rod worth the Money

2012-10-18T10:03:25

10/18/2012 10:03:25 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Best Crank Bait Rod I have ever used. Strong, accurate and a dream to cast. I'm using Triline Fluorocarbon 17# on it. Great Outfit..
Reviewed by: RoadWarrior (W. CO)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Class of all rods!

2012-10-18T10:02:39

10/18/2012 10:02:39 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

When Bass fisherman discuss fishing rods Gary Loomis is always at the top of the list. The crankbait series of rods have the perfect soft middle that allows the bass in inhale the crankbait. There is sufficient power in the butt section that works well with the tip to launch the bait for the required distance. You won't find a better rod!
Reviewed by: catsdaddy (North carolina)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Great Rod worth the Money

2012-10-18T10:01:48

10/18/2012 10:01:48 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Top half of rod gives enough to stop big fish from tearing crankbait out of its mouth.
Reviewed by: ealing (Spartanburg, South Carolina)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

Wont be disappointed

2012-10-18T10:01:04

10/18/2012 10:01:04 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Well to start off with i am a big G-Loomis fan. I say that in case i start to sound too bias and i believe in honest reviews. Ive have used many rods from different companies and do believe you get what you pay for. I will use DF for Deep flex for short in this review comparing it a little to this original Crankbait series.
I have used this rod and the Deep Flex Crankbait series so i will try to compare the both in this one review so those of you who are torn between the original crankbait rod and the new Deep Flex might have some better insight. This rod is a little stiffer then other crankbait rods from other companies. My friend used it a couple of times and is use to a more softer rod, i told him to just relax his hand so that when a fish hits it will have a little more give and get rid of his death grip. I have absolutely no problems with it. With that said don't be alarmed. This rod is very sensitive and casts a country mile. You can feel every little piece of grass or rock you might bump into. Even though it is a little stiffer i rarely miss any fish. Line type makes a big difference and changes the sensitivity and casting factors for both this rod and the DF. What i mean is you get more sensitivity with this rod with light braid or a low stretch line like fluoro. On the other hand it will cast farther with a more supple line. The DF rod is softer of course with more flex and i love it when fishing offshore structure that is free of grass such as rockpiles, brush or when fishing for suspended fish. The original crankbait series really shines when there is some sort of grass. Because it is stiffer it is easier to work your bait through the grass and ripping grass free is a little easier then it is with the DF. You will not be disappointed with either.
To sum it up i use this rod when cranking around grass and the DF for structure that is usual free from grass. Both cast extremely well and again the line type you use will alter the castability and sensitivity. For those of you who like the more traditional softer rods for cranking will love the DF, for those who like a little more responsiveness will enjoy this rod. I like the DF for fishing rattletraps more then this rod but both will work well. The original crankbait rod works a little better then the DF with jerkbaits and buzzbaits in my opinion but again its all about feel and what you like and how you fish.
Reviewed by: mdman (Baltimore, Md)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

So happy with it I bought another one!

2012-10-17T21:07:24

10/17/2012 9:07:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

These Crankbait series rods from G-Loomis are a must buy for anyone who either loves to throw crankbaits or is just getting started! It is actually difficult to LOSE a fish on these rods! Even on the jump or when shaking their heads the rod absorbs it instead of just ripping out the hooks. The best part is while these rods have the ability to flex enough to not allow the fish to spit or tear free, they still have enough backbone to rip the crank free from the weeds to trigger a strike. The 7 foot medium is a great rod for shallow to medium diving crankbaits, and the 7 foot heavy is perfect for the larger Wiggle Wart or DT style cranks. If you fish a lake that has dense weeds definitely get the heavy as the added backbone helps to rip the lure through the weeds, but it still has the same soft tip that will allow you to fling the crank out there to the end of your spool! You will not be disappointed with your purchase if you are looking for a GREAT all around crankbait rod that will last you a lifetime.
Reviewed by: LBass (Alexandria, MN)

 
G. Loomis Crankbait

wow!!!!!

2012-10-17T20:18:00

10/17/2012 8:18:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

magnificent rod, i bougt the 6"6', and is solid as rock, very very fast action, excelent sensibility!!!
Reviewed by: LordRiper (Torreon, Mexico)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the G. Loomis Crankbait Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: