Search

Shimano :: Freshwater Rods :: Cumara Casting

 

Shimano Cumara Casting

Overall Customer Rating: 5 of 5 stars Shimano Cumara Casting Rods 5 out of 5 (35 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Shimano
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Cumara Casting

The Cumara ultra-performance bass rod series is specifically designed for bottom bouncing techniques. Featuring IM-10 graphite blanks, Fuji Sic guides and custom performance reel seats, Cumara is simply the lightest, most sensitive, innovatively designed rod series you will ever fish.

Shimano Cumara Casting models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

CUC68M

6'8"

1

1/4-1/2

6-12

Fast

Medium

CUCX68M

6'8"

1

1/4-1/2

8-14

Extra Fast

Medium

CUC68MH

6'8"

1

1/4-3/4

10-17

Fast

Medium Heavy

CUCX68MH

6'8"

1

1/4-1

12-20

Extra Fast

Medium-Heavy

CUC72M

7'2"

1

1/4-1/2

6-12

Fast

Medium

CUCX72M

7'2"

1

1/4-1/2

8-14

Extra Fast

Medium

CUC72MH

7'2"

1

1/4-3/4

10-17

Fast

Medium Heavy

CUCX72MH

7'2"

1

1/4-1

12-20

Extra Fast

Medium-Heavy


* All Cumara Casting Rods specifications from the official Shimano catalog. Shimano reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Shimano Cumara Casting

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Can I say sensitive?

2012-07-02T10:42:56

7/2/2012 10:42:56 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This has to be one of the most lightest and sensitive rods on the market today, not to mention it has the best Fuji guides they make. I especially like the trigger where you rest your fingers and it's just the rod and your fingers, no cork or grip in between. You can feel every tiny pebble and rock not to mention the slightest little nibbles.
If you love to drop shot then I say this is the rod for you.
Reviewed by: Big Bass Slayer (San Diego, CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

By popular request!

2012-07-02T10:42:03

7/2/2012 10:42:03 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I actually read about this rod in the BP forums. and everyone was trying to find someone that had one and actually used it. Well here you go!
This rod is is lighter than my GLX....no kidding!
The grip is like a gift from God! WOW!!!!!
Shimano really did something great with this one. I have a Crucial as well and this makes it feel like a toy.
Super sensitive and plenty of back bone. Lets just say this. I won't go buy another GLoomis unless it's the crankbait rod. by the way I have the 7'2" MH fast.
Can''t wait to get a 7''2" Heavy. GO SHIMANO!
Reviewed by: Beene (ARKANSAS)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Other than that, worth every penny

2012-07-02T10:41:03

7/2/2012 10:41:03 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Shimano just raised the bar with the release of the Cumara series.
I heard the buzz and had to see for myself if this rod lived up to the hype. Yep, sure does.
This is absolutely the lightest and most sensitive stick that I have ever used. Don't let it's weight and sensitivity fool you, this rod has some muscle. From the EVO comfort grips, to the sweet hook keeper, this rod is all it's meant to be.
I almost feel bad for the other guys now that Shimano has released the Cumara,
Almost.
My only recommendation to improve this rod would be to make a 7''0 foot model. The 6''8 and 7''2 is nice, but some rod lockers can''t handle a 7''2.
Reviewed by: river man (San Diego, Ca)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Sensitivity and light

2012-07-02T10:39:50

7/2/2012 10:39:50 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have Two Crucial Rods and just picked this one up last month. Comparing the two, WOW!
Shimano out did them self again!
Sensitivity and light, I thought the Crucial was good this top it!
Reviewed by: fisherman

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Excellent light weight rod

2012-07-02T10:38:33

7/2/2012 10:38:33 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable and light weight!
Works excellent paired with my 50MG Chronarch for several applications.
Worth every penny!
Reviewed by: Tackle junkie (Riverside, Ca)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

I am ordering three more Cumara rods

2012-07-02T10:37:32

7/2/2012 10:37:32 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have had two of these rods since June 2007 and nothing on the market that I've found is better. I have St.Croix Legend Elite and Kistlers and this is the top of the heap - and a better value because of pricing. I have been combining them with 101MG and Core reels and there's nothing more sensitive and light weight.
You will NOT regret owning this piece of equipment.
Reviewed by: Tmmytomato (Aurora, CO)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Awesome Rod

2012-07-02T10:36:04

7/2/2012 10:36:04 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't wait for the Cumara to reach our local tackle shops in South Africa and once again it was Bass Pro Shops to the rescue. I ordered the 6’8” and fished with it once before ordering my second Cumara (7’2”)… they are so light and coupled with my new favorite reel (Steez) the combo is amazing. The only problem is that after you have fished with the Cumara Steez combo you will end up replacing all your rods and reels. I can’t recommend the Cumara more… my favorite type of fishing is with plastics and the Cumara is simply awesome… it is very responsive and you feel bites you missed before.
Reviewed by: KingDinger (Durban, South Africa)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

super lite

2012-07-02T10:34:14

7/2/2012 10:34:14 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great rod, i mostly buy shimano, i have 2 curados, citicas, corvalle, convergence, clarus, slade, calcutta, stradic, scimitars and i hope to buy the new curado E soon, but this rod is lighter than my Gloomis and very strong, i landed a 3 foot Florida gator on this the rod bent at the handle but didn't break.
I would trade all my rods for an arsenal of these.
Reviewed by: trentfish (Lakemary, FL)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Cumara the sensitive one

2012-07-02T10:32:42

7/2/2012 10:32:42 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Have been using Crucial rods for the past two years. Needed to replace two older All Star rods. Bought another Crucial and bought a 6'8" MH Cumara. Fished today...wish I had all Cumara rods. So sensitive, you can feel everything your lure touches. Worth the money if you like fishing soft plastics.
Reviewed by: dackmd (Louisiana)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Great buy for a great rod

2012-07-02T10:31:53

7/2/2012 10:31:53 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Up until this point I have only used G-Loomis rods, but I think the Cumura has changed my mind.
I own two of these rods now and have not been disappointed yet. They are lighter than my G-loomis rods and offer the same sensitivity. The reel seat looks "weak", but I have not had any problems out of it yet.
Great buy for the money.
Reviewed by: Ranger (Texarkana, AR)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Awesome Rod!

2012-07-02T10:29:46

7/2/2012 10:29:46 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 7'2" CUC72MH earlier this year along with the Curado 200DPV. What an awesome rod is all I can say. I've always fished with the Crucials(Not that they're bad) but the Cumara is sooo much better. I''ve used this rod this year mainly targeting those Casitas Largemouth. This rod has exactly what I was looking for, tons of backbone and sensitivity. I pitch frogs,IKA''s, Senko''s, and Jigs with ease. With it''s length, you can cast a mile with those very nice Fuji Guides. This rod can double as a heavier Carolina and Spoon rod.
I think I''ll be picking up a 6''8" soon for the lighter line duties.
Reviewed by: Phamtaztik (Ventura,CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

excellent

2012-07-02T10:28:04

7/2/2012 10:28:04 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod over the summer and it is certainly the most excellent rod i have owned thus far. its the highest price i have paid too. some reasons i love this rod: light, sensitive, powerful, versatile.
I have the 7'2" MH, fast action. i do a lot with it fishing almost any plastic along weedlines and jigging around docks and deep flat. I fish carolina rigs an even deep cranks with this. it is as advertised and excels at the bottom bouncing stuff but this rod can do a lot more than that, about the only things i don't do with it are top H2 0 and shaky head stuff. I have a Shimano crucial and wile its a great rod this one blows it out of the water!
I definitely hope to get some more of these some day.
Reviewed by: vtbasser (Shaftsbury, VT)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

WOW

2012-07-02T10:24:27

7/2/2012 10:24:27 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This certainly isn't an inexpensive rod, but the sensitivity in this rod is almost unmatched.
This really is an incredible rod.
Reviewed by: Speerzy (Guelph, Ontario, Canada)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

The best rod Ive ever owned!

2012-07-02T10:23:17

7/2/2012 10:23:17 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is super light and most importantly super sensitive! Its pricey no doubt, but its worth the investment! You'll feel bites that you never felt before, and when using any technique on the bottom ( jigs or carolina rigging for example)You'll feel everything on the bottom!
Buy one and you will be very pleased!
Reviewed by: MrBond007 (East Lansing,Michigan)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

NICE FEEL

2012-07-02T10:21:47

7/2/2012 10:21:47 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is very light and is one of the most sensitive I have used.
I use the medium action rod for a "shaky head" presentation and have been pleased with the sensitivity on those shy bite days.
Reviewed by: FISHUNT7 (BAMA)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Sweet Rod

2012-07-02T10:20:47

7/2/2012 10:20:47 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought two of these rods just for fishing a jig and today I got to try them out . The shallow bite shut down and I found the fish deeper they had pulled out from a cold front so I started crawling my jig slow as I could stand it and they started eating . The fish would just pick up the jig and sit there the first one I missed because when the fish spit it out I thought it bit . I had to look for the smallest change in my jig and this rod was telling me what was going on . I caught 7 bass 4 to 6 # in 3 hours . I was fishing 16' to 20' and I felt like I was fishing 5' . I feel this rod will improve my fishing even more. I highly recommend trying the 7''2" mh fast this rod might not help you out but I feel I took a step forward. These rods cost about $100 more than the average rod but I can say $100 well spent.
Reviewed by: livn2fish (Arkansas)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Possibly the best rod I have ever purchased!

2012-07-02T10:19:33

7/2/2012 10:19:33 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Read the reviews on tackletour and ended up buying the CUC68M, and they were right! Looks can be deceiving. Holding this rod, you wouldn't think it could handle lunkers but believe me, it can! It has a strong backbone, and I didn't even get the extra fast action. I pair it with the shimano core and the chronarch 50mg and I've caught big 4-5 lb fish on it and even landed an 8# with no stress on the rod. It handled well, I''m getting one more in the future!
Reviewed by: abiley84 (Norwalk, CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Excellent Rods!

2012-07-02T10:18:00

7/2/2012 10:18:00 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Before moving up to the Cumaras I used and still own a few Crucials, Graphite USA, Gloomis, Castaway, and a few other reputable names in bass fishing rods. The main motivation was the shorter rear grip. I fish mostly out of my float tube and the longer rear grip on the Crucial 7"2" drop shot rod would bang up against my elbow and my ribs depending on how I was sitting at the moment. With the Cumara 7'2" 6-12lb MF I can sit anyway I feel comfortable and still work my dropshot or shakey head without having to reposition my posture. For regular stand up fishing on shore or boat the longer rear grip on the Crucial is a none factor. Besides that I do like how the Stella 2500FD looks and feels on the Cumara, especially with the graphite twist on insert which enhances the sensitivity a bit instead of dampening it with foam or cork. You also get the best guides Fuji makes which are SiC vs. alconite which are not as hard but it's the next best guide insert material after SiC. This is another reason why I choose to stick with Shimano because I was seriously considering the St. Croix Legend Tournament series for the exact same price point but the alconite guides were a deal breaker.
I also purchased the CUC68M recently for lightline finesse fishing. When paired with a CH-51Mg this combo balances out perfectly. It's been an absolute joy to be able to pitch and cast 4-6 inch plastics with 1/8th bulletheads with very little effort and pinpoint accuracy. The reel seat on the casting series also have a nice grippy, soft, feel to them as well. I would assume that the lighter weight is due to the cut down reel seat which allows direct contact with the blank. Overall, a well thought out design and competitively priced.
These rods are an excellent value for what you get.
Reviewed by: MaxZmus (San Diego, CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Be Careful!

2012-07-02T10:16:23

7/2/2012 10:16:23 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Used two of these rods on my last bass trip.
Had Calais APV reels on both. Caught fish from 3 lbs to 8-3/4 lbs. Love the rods...just wish they had a hook keeper. Now, please be careful. Do not try out a Shimano Core reel on these rods!...Unless you are prepared to buy Core reels. I've taken off both Calais and now have a Core reel on each rod. They are light as a feather and casting is like throwing darts. Accuracy and distance have improved with softer lure water entries.
You can pitch lures, over hand, under hand, back hand, just cast any way you have the ability to throw something out there with this rod and a Core reel.
Price'y...you bet...but you'll smile every time you make a cast. So be careful!
Reviewed by: RMIII (Mississippi)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Best Rod In Boat

2012-07-02T10:14:55

7/2/2012 10:14:55 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 6'8" fast recently and was blown away with the sensitivity of the rod. I thought my other rods were top of the line until I fished this baby.
You'll feel every tap and movement on the bait.
I'm ordering another one!
Reviewed by: mwmitch (Central Arkansas)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Top of the line!

2012-07-02T10:13:50

7/2/2012 10:13:50 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

To me this is the best worm and jig rod ever. Bought the CUCX68MH about 6 months ago, absolutely awesome rod. Paired it up with a Shimano CH50MG. Absolutely light as a feather and balances perfectly. You won't be dissapointed with this rod. I had been fishing plastics with G LOOMIS IMX series, sold them all and got two more Cumaras. The IMX does not compare, in my opinion.
I have been a bass fisherman for over thirty years, and this is the best and lightest worm rod that I have found. If you are a plastics fisherman, get a couple, you will be glad you did.
Reviewed by: 437gg8 (Arkansas)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Best Rod I''ve Owned

2012-07-02T10:12:50

7/2/2012 10:12:50 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I just purchased this rod after having my Johnnie Morrie Elite Series rod snap in half on me.
I absolutely love this rod. It is a lot more sensitive than my old rod and i love the fact that it has a split grip on it. It took me a little while to get used to it because i had never messed with a rod like it but once i got used to it i love it.
I also love that when u hold the rod ur hand is on the blank which makes it very sensitive.
It is a little pricey but i definitely think its worth the money.
Reviewed by: CrackCorn17 (Oklahoma City)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

One of the best rods you''ll ever use

2012-07-02T10:10:50

7/2/2012 10:10:50 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The cumara is super light, very sensitive, strong and backed by Shimano's over-the counter Lifetime warranty - that's a winning combination. Plaine and simple, It's one of the best rods you can buy on the market today. Just wish they made one in 7''0".
Reviewed by: MNbassguy (Minneapolis, MN)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

AMAZING ROD

2012-07-02T10:09:28

7/2/2012 10:09:28 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

WOW! I have the 6'8 Med/ X-fast rod and paired it with my Pflueger patriarch reel and it is an amazing combo. Lightness rod Ive used and incredible sensitivity.
MUST BUY ROD!
Reviewed by: Alex84 (Pensacola, FL)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Super quality rod

2012-07-02T10:07:35

7/2/2012 10:07:35 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I'm absolutely amazed with this rod! I bought the 6'8 medium action rod and have it paired with a Shimano Chronarch 50 mg and I cannot believe how light this setup is! At first I was a bit skeptical with the power of this rod but when I got out on the water I finally understood the justification of spending over $200 on a rod. Throwing a smaller swimbait, I thought I was getting strikes until I realized it was my lure bumping into the hard cover! Thats how sensitive this rod is! It actually takes a minute of getting used to it. The actual strike of a fish is unbelievable!
Overall, the best rod I've ever owned and you get what you pay for.
You wont be disappointed with this rod!
Reviewed by: calichef (Livermore, California)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

6''8" x-fast

2012-07-02T10:05:49

7/2/2012 10:05:49 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

just amazing. i have the 6'8 x-fast coupled with my origional blue "made in sweden" ambassadeur bait caster, that and 10 lb maximal landed a 13lb5oz striper at silverwood lake, and a 9 lb steurgon at santa ana, this rod + so-cal fishing= a great time. thanks bass pro shops in rancho cucamonga for outfitting me with a nice rod.
Reviewed by: bassmaster626 (Covina, CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Sweet Rod

2012-07-02T10:04:11

7/2/2012 10:04:11 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This may be the nicest rod Ive ever used and my friend that is a G-loomis guy has let me use his IMX's and GLX's and I put the Cumara right with them. I put a Shimano Curado 201E7 on a 7 ft 2 in. medium action fast tip Cumara and I can't believe how light this set up is. When you first pick up the Cumara you wouldn''t believe that it has much backbone because it''s so light but you barely have to set the hook and it pulls fish in with ease. It is hard for me to spend so much money for a rod but the Cumara is well worth it. The only other rods in this price range that I would buy besides the Cumara would be G-loomis GLX''s I would not even consider a St Croix but I think that I will stick with Cumara''s.
Last thing, though this Cumara is made for bottom contact fishing it also works great for crank baits.
Reviewed by: stratohawk (Iowa)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

amazing

2012-07-02T10:02:52

7/2/2012 10:02:52 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I first bought the fast 6'8 medium and was blown away with the quality and performance of this rod. i love it ! this rod is so light and sensitive yet super strong i can feel everything my bait touches. i loved this rod so much i went and bought the 6'8 MH fast action and cant put it down. I without a doubt think this is one of the best sticks ive ever owned and really recommend it to everyone.
Great job shimano!
Reviewed by: guest

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

love it

2012-07-02T10:01:13

7/2/2012 10:01:13 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is lite,strong,and sensitive.Took it out the day I recieved it and caught 2 bass on a spinnerbait. I'm an owner of 8 GLoomis rods and this compares well. It's paired with a new shimano curado, SWEET!!! Someone stated here there was no lure holder. At the bottom of the handle is a hole,under eva grip.
I use that,hope that helps.
Reviewed by: MrTee

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Great Rod

2012-07-02T09:59:34

7/2/2012 9:59:34 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Very sensitive rod for working Senkos, worms or flukes. I have purchased two more similar Shimano Cumara rods with plans to replace all my rods eventually with cumaras.
Great equipment helps if you want to become a better fisherman.
Reviewed by: doc39717 (Winter Haven, FL)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Great Rod

2012-07-02T09:58:06

7/2/2012 9:58:06 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is fantastic. Everything I wanted + more.
Light, sensitive, easy to hold and fast tipped.
You can really set the hook with this rod.
Worth every penny.
Reviewed by: JimC4Bass (Indio, CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Shimano''s Lightweight Killer

2012-06-19T00:02:03

6/19/2012 12:02:03 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the CUCX68M casting rod, and was pleasantly surprised to find the rod was not simply a juiced up version of an existing blank to appeal to the "maximum touch" crowd. This rod weighs in at 5 ounces on my digital Rapala scale. Think about that for a moment...5 ounces! While I could complain that the action is more of a medium heavy than a medium, whining about that would be a waste of time. Every manufacturer's medium is different, since there really is no standard to measure against. This rod is strong, light, and has unequaled sensitivity over previous Shimano products. I've combined it with a new Curado E201, which weighs in at 7.6 ounces, so the total weight for the outfit comes in at less than 1 pound. Yes, you can get lighter- at a cost of literally hundreds of dollars per ounce of weight loss. Not a game I want to play. If you want to have just one premium, lightweight outfit, you should consider this rod. Shimano backs this with a limited lifetime warranty, and the craftsmanship, feel and finish is excellent. One word of caution, though. I have small hands, and this rod is perfect for me, so anglers with big paws may find this too small. I'd recommend you get to a retail location to try it out for yourself. You can add a lightweight reel of your choice and get a real time feel for how your combo will handle. Great product from Shimano, sold by the greatest retail chain on the planet. Thank you again, Shimano!
Reviewed by: Huskyjerkjohn (Highlands of NJ)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

awesome rod

2012-06-19T00:02:01

6/19/2012 12:02:01 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

what a rod this is... this is the lightest rod i own and maybe the most sensitive. i have caught some decent size bass on this thing and it handles well. it has a lot of strength and im not to worried about it because of the lifetime warranty... Shimano is the best.
Reviewed by: cubsguy818 (Midwest Fisherman)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Great Rod

2012-06-19T00:01:12

6/19/2012 12:01:12 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

According to the first reviewer, the Cumara weighs in at 5 ounces - that is inaccurate. The Cumara weighs in at 3 to 4 ounces depending on what model you have. And I can tell you that there is a HUGE difference between 3 and 5 ounces. The Cumara IS one of the lightest rods you can buy. But don't let the light weight fool you, it hauls some serious bass. It's sensitivity is up there with the higher-priced G. Loomis and St. Croix rods. Plus it's backed by a Lifetime Over-the-Counter Warranty. The rod itself can also be used for other techniques besides what it was designed for. I use the Cumara for top water (especially buzz baits), swim jigs and even some light crank baits.
Overall, one of the best rods on the market today.
Reviewed by: Pete612 (Minneapolis, MN)

 
Shimano Cumara Casting

Great Rod

2012-06-19T00:00:09

6/19/2012 12:00:09 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Overall a great rod. Very light and very sensitive while maintaining strength. Have even used it in saltwater to haul in reds and specs. Needs to be included in your arsenal.
Reviewed by: TXoutdoors (Deep South, TX)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Shimano Cumara Casting Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: