Search

Shimano :: Freshwater Rods :: Cumara Reaction

 

Shimano Cumara Reaction

Overall Customer Rating: 5 of 5 stars Shimano Cumara Reaction Rods 5 out of 5 (10 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Shimano
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Cumara Reaction

This 12-model series is extremely lightweight and designed to fish moving baits — from deep water cranking to heavy cover buzzbaits.

Shimano Cumara Reaction models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

CUC63M

6'3"

1

1/4-5/8

8-15

Medium/Fast

Medium

96 g

CUC63H

6'3"

1

3/8-1

12-20

Fast

Heavy

100 g

CUC69M

6'9""

1

3/8-1/2

8-17

Extra Fast

Mediium

116 g

CUC69MH

6'9"

1

1-2-1

10-20

Extra Fast

Medium Heavy

114 g

CUC70M

7'0"

1

1/4-5/8

8-15

Medium Fast

Medium

112 g

CUC70MH

7'0"

1

3/8-3/4

10-20

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy

112 g

CUC70MH

7'0"

1

3-8-1

12-25

Medium Fast

Heavy

118 g

CUC76ML

7'6"

1

1/8-1/2

8-15

Medium Fast

Medium Light

112 g

CUC77M

7'7"

1

3/8-3/4

10-20

Fast

Medium

130 g

CUC711M

7'11"

1

3/8-3/4

12-25

Fast

Medium

136 g

CUC711MH

7'11"

1

3-8-1

12-25

Fast

Medium Heavy

132 g

CUCX711MH

7'11"

1

1/2-11/2

12-25

Extra Fast

Medium Heavy

136 g


* All Cumara Reaction Rods specifications from the official Shimano catalog. Shimano reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Shimano Cumara Reaction

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

the best rod ive ever had

2012-06-29T15:23:34

6/29/2012 3:23:34 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is soooooo sensitive and if u r crankbait fisherman out their than get this rods the best rods in the world!
Reviewed by: knucklehead (California, CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

Simply Excellent

2012-06-29T15:22:35

6/29/2012 3:22:35 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I finally got the chance to take this rod out for some fun and was I ever impressed!
When paired with a Shimano Core 50MG reel, this outfit was feather light and well balanced. I fished for three days in ugly wind and wasn't at all fatigued from all the casting. Great sensitivity and feel.
The pair I mention here is definitely pricey - not for the faint of heart but if you're willing and able to get both you won't be disappointed!
Reviewed by: SouthwestBassman (New Mexico)

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

G-Loomis BEWARE!!

2012-06-29T15:21:39

6/29/2012 3:21:39 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Gloomis rod lovers...save money, look good doing it, and catch more fish while you're at it...buy a Cumara. You won't regret it.
Cumara has restructured my entire fishing philosophy. No way on earth I would have bought one in the store because the finish would'nt have met my standards. I thought a rod had to have a bare graphite finish to be sensitive because in the past every rod I picked up with a coating on it felt mushy. I was always looking for the closest resemblance to a super-light piece of steel I could find. I was hearing so many good things about these rods I (did something I never do) took a leap of faith and bought one online. It got here and the first thing I said when I saw it was R-rated. It took one cast into a brush top for all that to change. Most sensitive rod I''ve ever had the pleasure of fishing with...and there aren''t many I haven''t fished with.
First one was a Cumara 6''8" MH XF just bought a Reaction in 7'' Med Med fast...it''s a little on the light side for me so I''m going to exchange for a MH...my fault for buying a rod online...always get your paws on it first!!!!
Reviewed by: PhillipnMeridian (Meridian,Ms)

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

2012-06-29T15:20:18

6/29/2012 3:20:18 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod knowing I'd be using it for nothing it was designed for. But.... I knew it would do the trick the moment I picked it up. I got the 7'7" model. 90% of my fishing is wade and kayak fishing in shallow saltwater flats for redfish and trout. So, distance is a MUST. I wanted something to pair with a Shimano Calcutta 201DC that I could sling a topwater a football field. And I have tested a LOT of baitcast combos. Let me tell ya somethin.... this rod exceeded my expectations by a country mile (pun intended). Even from 200 ft., and yes, this rod can chunk a Spook 200 ft. with ease... A lure set is no problem (10 lb. mono). It is everything you could want in a rod and then some. So light, so strong, so sensitive. And on the occasion that I toss a jig and work the flats, you can easily feel the difference between sand, oysters, or grass. Heck, I can feel the difference between types of grass! It's on par with a GLoomis GLX, or a Croix as far as sensitivity goes. Hands down, the best bang for the buck out there. AND.. a no questions asked over the counter guarantee???? C''mon, what are you waiting for?
I can''t wait until my wife has calmed down so I can get another. That 7''11" MED power is calling my name.
Tight lines.
Oh yeah, that''s a 31" wide kayak... That was a good one, almost 10 lbs.
Reviewed by: FlatStalker (Gulf Coast FL)

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

Move over GLoomis

2012-06-29T15:19:18

6/29/2012 3:19:18 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I tried one of the Cumara rods after years of fishing GLoomis IMX rods.
The Cumaras are very sensitive, strong and extremely light weight when paired with the Shimano Core 50MG reel. This is the best combo I have fished in 20 years (and I have fished them all basically).
I now have 6 combos and love them.
Reviewed by: Gerard (Baton Rouge, Louisiana)

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

cuc70m best rod I have

2012-06-29T15:18:12

6/29/2012 3:18:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is the best rod I have.
I also have a gloomis My cumara with chronarch is so smooth I will only buy cumara and crucial rods.
Reviewed by: phxjack (arizona)

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

The Sweetest Cranking rod!

2012-06-29T15:17:01

6/29/2012 3:17:01 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Our local Shimano representative doesn’t bring in the Shimano Cumara Reaction range of rods and it’s a great pity! I have the normal Cumara’s for my other applications and was looking for a quality cranking rod… well the Cumara Reaction is it… light and responsive and comfortable…. Married with a Core 50 makes it’s an absolute pleasure. If the shipping charges to South Africa were not so high I would buy the a couple more…luckily I have 2 Kistler’s for DLN’s and one for DD22’s and they are also perfect for the job!
Reviewed by: KingDinger (Durban, South Africa)

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

am i dreaming

2012-06-29T15:16:06

6/29/2012 3:16:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

bought this rod from the tacklebox, never had better! great for any kind of fishing! ive caught plenty of bass on this rod! very sharp looking! this aint one of them products that catch the fisherman! this is the real deal! i actually put it to the test and lifted a 12 lb weight with this rod and had no problem! ive matched it with the team daiwa zillion! the crazy cranker edition and it's the best setup ive had in many years! i highly recommened this rod
Reviewed by: kissmybass1989 (oklahoma)

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

7''11" shimano cumara rod

2012-06-29T15:14:49

6/29/2012 3:14:49 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I was on a fishing trip using the same lure as my friend and he was out-catching me 4-1. He was using this rod with the same reel I was (Pfleuger President ). The only difference between our gear appeared to be the length of the rod. He let me borrow his gear and I was impressed with the sensitivity of the rod when used with a lipless crankbait. I did proceed to catch a couple of 2-3 pound bass and came home and ordered this rod the next day.
Reviewed by: aprohlind (Bedford Indiana)

 
Shimano Cumara Reaction

My first shimano rod

2012-06-29T15:14:13

6/29/2012 3:14:13 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

For years I have been using shimano reels and have wanted to get a shimano rod but they were always too expensive and I couldn't justify the cost. Well after reading alot of reviews I finally went for it, and I couldn't be happier with the product! The rod is light weight, sensitive, and strong. I bought the 7' MH moderate fast action rod for throwing shallow cranks and it performed flawlessly pulling in a 4 pound bass over the weekend. The main thing though that put me on shimano rods was the warranty. If you break it...no matter what the cause was...bring it in and get a new one no questions asked. Now what rod company does that without any added cost?
Reviewed by: lpcustom987 (Joliet, IL)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Shimano Cumara Reaction Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: