Search

Shimano :: Freshwater Rods :: Cumara Spinning

 

Shimano Cumara Spinning

Overall Customer Rating: 4.61 of 5 stars Shimano Cumara Spinning Rods 4.61 out of 5 (18 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Shimano
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Cumara Spinning

Shimano Cumara Spinning models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

CUSDX68M

6'8"

1

1/8-3/8

6-12

Extra Fast

Medium

CUS68M

6'8"

1

1/8-3/8

6-12

Fast

Medium

CUS68MH

6'8"

1

3/16-5/8

8-14

Fast

Medium Heavy

CUSDX72M

7'2

1

1/8-3/8

6-12

Extra Fast

Medium

CUS72M

7'2

1

1/8-3/8

6-12

Fast

Medium

CUS72MH

7'2

1

3/16-5/8

8-14

Fast

Medium Heavy

CUS76M

7'6"

1

3/16-1/2

8-14

Fast

Medium


* All Cumara Spinning Rods specifications from the official Shimano catalog. Shimano reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Shimano Cumara Spinning

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

2012-10-12T23:19:40

10/12/2012 11:19:40 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I personally have 2 Shimano Cumara rods and love them to death. Great amount of sensitivity, light weight, and great warranty...however...I need to catch some more fish with them. I can count the number of fish I've caught on my Cumaras on my fingers so sad...
Reviewed by: Big O Tires Angler (Fresno, CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

not the best

2012-06-29T15:41:24

6/29/2012 3:41:24 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

i've tried the 6'8''' medium extra fast action for drop shotting and it feels a lot heavier than the crucial 6''8'''' drop shot. you would think with the more expensive it goes, the lighter and stronger rod should be! the balance is kinda off whereas the crucial was perfect... good sensitivity and power but tip action was just too soft... just bought yesterday and already hearing cracking from the guides/graphite... shimano does make great reels but they should get up to par with the rod industry... i''ve had previous rods from shimano and they all have weak tips, prone to breaking; r.i.p. my clarus and crucial drop shot. if i was to choose between the two (cumara and crucial), i''d definately get a crucial drop shot rod... lighter and better value.
Reviewed by: fishcrazy (Owasso)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

No Second Chance

2012-06-29T15:40:27

6/29/2012 3:40:27 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

I purchased the Cumara in Mid-March. The very next day I took it fishing. On the 4th-5th cast I snagged an underwater branch. I tugged (nothing serious) the rod snapped just below the 3rd eye. I was using 8lb p-line fluorocarbon. The rod was rated 8-17lb line.
I strongly believe the rod I purchased was just a lemon. But this being the priciest rod I have ever purchased I expect more.
Bass Pro returned my purchase no questions asked. Thanks guys.
Reviewed by: fisher (Southern Indiana)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

awsome rod

2012-06-29T15:39:38

6/29/2012 3:39:38 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i have had this rod for about 2 months and it is awesome. i had a cape fear inshore rod and believe it or not this rod is lighter, more sensitive and i think a all around better rod.
Reviewed by: brad1118

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Amazing, Amazing

2012-06-29T15:38:45

6/29/2012 3:38:45 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I researched rods for over 2 months before making my purchase. I ultimately settled on this after painstaking homework and in hand feel. I called Shimano, G Loomis, St Croix, Powell, Pheonix, and Daiwa and spoke with their gear experts, and tested out several rods in bass pro shops and other dealers. I needed a rod specifically for deep water split shot tubing, finesse jigging in 20+ feet of water, and the versatility to cast spider jigs on a shakey-head, and very light texas rigs. The Cumara is absolutely the best and by far the most sensitive rod available on the market today hands down. Trust me I did my homework, and I'm an extremely discriminating angler. If you want to sound like an important fisherman waste your money on a G-Loomis and get lower quality components and an slower action (more parabolic--mushy tipped) but if you want to feel smallmouth tapping your split-shot rig in 30 feet of water over 100 feet from your boat buy this rod. This rod will improve your fishing from the moment you cast into the water. 2 more affordable options I really like are the St Croix Avid 6'8" M XF action and the Shimano Crucials (the 6'8" XF and the 7'' fast action).
The cumara baitcasting rod is even more impressive...Great job Shimano!
Reviewed by: flash81 (midwest)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Just Awesome

2012-06-29T15:38:06

6/29/2012 3:38:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

These rods are incredible, not much more needs to be said.
The crucial is much heavier than a cumara.
Reviewed by: Speerzy (Guelph, Ontario, Canada)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

The best spinning rod

2012-06-29T15:37:13

6/29/2012 3:37:13 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is simply the most sensitive rod Ive ever had! Its killer for the shaky head,lighter jigs and any other finesse presentation you can think of,pair this up with one of shimano's high end reels an you got great combo that can beat any bass out there!
Reviewed by: mrbond (East Lansing,Mi)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Great rod Shimano

2012-06-29T15:36:35

6/29/2012 3:36:35 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod very sensative, altough not as sensative as a G-loomis IMX or GLX, but still well done shimano especially for the price...I guide around 4 to 5 days a week and both my Cumara's I use for live baiting snook in the inlet and channel edges...
Pair them up with a Shimano Sustain 3000 and you have a great live bait rig...
Reviewed by: Gators5220 (Vero Beach, FL)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

2012-06-29T15:35:15

6/29/2012 3:35:15 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is one of the strongest spinning rods I have ever used! If you are in need of power, please look no further, this is the rod for you. I use this rod for skipping Senko's and worms under docks and in trees, I have yet to hook into a fish that can get away from this rod! I can't stress enough how incredibly strong these rods are.

I use the 7'2" MH with a Shimano Stradic 3000MG, and spool it with 20 lbs braid, and this rod will land any fish that bites! Great purchase!
Reviewed by: RBKING (Ontario, Canada)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Strongest rod I have seen

2012-06-29T15:34:27

6/29/2012 3:34:27 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The Shimano CUMARA rods are outstanding. I use the spinning MH w/ a substain 4000. for skipping Senkos etc under docks. I haven't lost a fish yet. Thay are not quite as sensitive as a GLOOMIS....but for the money it is now my only choice. I have purchase 2 BC' S and another spinning M. Excellant job from Shimano.
Reviewed by: BIGT2 (Oklahoma City)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Best rods I''ve ever used

2012-06-29T15:33:44

6/29/2012 3:33:44 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I picked up a MH/Fast 3/16-5/8 oz Cumara at a BPS store in California and paired it with a Sustain 3000 reel. The rod has awesome backbone, is very lightweight, and is extremely sensitive. It does everything well.
I liked it so much that when I got my tax refund I ordered a Medium/X-Fast 1/8-3/8 oz Cumara and a Stella reel ($$$) just for finesse fishing. Both set-ups are worth every penny.

I'm always amazed at how well I can feel every rock, weed, and timid fish that gently mouths my bait, and wonder how many fish got away in the past because I didn't even know they were there.
The foam-padded rear portion of the grip tightens down with positive clicks, holding the reel securely while covering all of the threads (a nice upgrade from the Crucial). It's comfortable and I''ve never had it loosen while fishing.
The foreward portion of the grip is just long enough to seat the reel, allowing my index finger to rest naturally on the blank. It''s a different feel from a standard cork grip, but the increased sensitivity is noticable. This is how Shimano solved the whole cork vs. rubber issue, I guess.
I was initally put off by an audible clicking noise coming from the guides when I first got the rod home, "casting" it without a reel or line on it. Any fears of poor workmanship have been laid to rest though, as the noise does not occur while I am actually fishing. So far these are the best performing rods I''ve ever owned.
Reviewed by: NoCalBassGuy (Northern California)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Cumara Spinning

2012-06-29T15:32:55

6/29/2012 3:32:55 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've been fishing with the CUS72M and CUSDX72M for about 2 seasons now. I've been mainly using 6lbs. test Yozuri-Hybrid and 8lbs. test Bass Pro Excel for all of my fishing applications. I've paired various reels on these rods that range from Stradics to Stellas. These rods will fish tubes, dropshot, shakeyheads, wacky rigs, light texas rig, and splitshot rigs beautifully. Just about any situation where finesse is wanted or needed. I''ve found that there is very little difference in action between the fast and extra fast version. The only difference I can see is that the fast version has a little hole in the foam for the hook keeper and the extra fast version has a drop-shot style hook keeper located on the bottom of the split grip handle. As far as balance goes, they both seem seem to be a tad bit tip heavy but not to the point where it bothers me. In fact, I recently picked up a Powell Max Wacky Rig Rod that''s only 6''8" and this rod is noticeably much more tip heavy than the 7''2" Cumaras. It immediately gave me a new found appreciation for the Cumaras balance. I would be willing to bet that the 6''8" Cumara rods should have perfect balance. Next up is the strength of these rods. Like everyone else out there, I''ve come across many snags and hang ups during my fishing expeditions and when I do, I seriously try to stress these IM10 blanks out by pulling and jerking the rods in an upward position to try to free the snag, break the line, or in this case simply trying to see if the rods will handle the abuse. Well the short answer to that is that I have not had any breakage issues yet and I probably won''t as long as I''m fishing with them and not closing car doors on them.
The subject of sensitivity is so subjective that everyone is going to have a different opinion. So anyone reading this will have to "take it with a grain of salt". I personally didn''t think that there was anything amazing about the sensitivity. Till this day, I still feel that the GLoomis GLX blank offers the most sensitivity out of all the rods I''ve fished in my lifetime. So I''ll keep it even shorter and just say that it''s on par with other rods that are currently out there on the market in it''s class. I''m a stickler for premium components and this is probably the best part about these line of rods. The list consists of Fuji SIC guides, lightweight EVA foam handles, super-strong and lightweight IM10 blank, rounding off this list is my personal favorite and that''s the custom graphite reel seat and handle. This is by far the most comfortable handle I''ve ever used on a spinning rod. You have to see it and feel it to truly appreciate it. Add the lifetime warranty and you simply get the most value in any rod in this price range. These are all the reasons why the Cumaras are my favorite spinning rods off all time.
Reviewed by: MaxZmus (San Diego, CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Hands down best purchase

2012-06-29T15:32:04

6/29/2012 3:32:04 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

29 years old fish the most finicky fish I personally think in the united states at casitas lake. I started out with using fenwick HMG rods then got a job n started using g loomis rods. When I purchased my g loomis rod I bought a medium heavy 6'8" bronzeback rod and I thought it was my greatest purchase. Until one of my buddies introduces me to the Cumara, yes I have to say I had to get use to the feel of the foam handle but that didn't take much time. I sold my loomis and bought the 6' 8" med heavy Cumara within the following week I paired it up with the ultimate setup a sustain 3000 and 8 lb seaguar invizx the ultimate finesse setup. Now, shimano is all I fish. Don''t be hardheaded buy what you know is best and for me it''s these Cumara rods. Im on my way down to BPS to get my 3rd rod a 7'' 2" med heavy for drop shotting, I also have to say their casting rods are also impressive. I have a 7''2" med hvy casting rod paired up with a shimano core "lightweight" for my jigs and Texas rigging. Also the warranty "the list goes on and on" is by far the best on the market you can exchange them at BPS if you have on nearby or through shimano directly the staff at both outfits are awesome and friendly.
These rods have major backbone, sensitivity, great looks, and price rates. Shimano does everything right with a warranty plan and great customer service.
Why would you shop anywhere else? Fantastic job shimano!!
Get these rods hands down.
Believe me...
Reviewed by: Casitas (Ventura, CA)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Cumara

2012-06-29T15:30:12

6/29/2012 3:30:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

You get a great feel for the fish and is very light!
For its price I would get a another one!
Reviewed by: TMYang22 (Jackson County, Goergia)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Top Notch!

2012-06-29T15:29:19

6/29/2012 3:29:19 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME ROD.....I have a Medium Heavy Spinning and use 10lb Power Pro Braid. This Rod weighs like an ultra light yet very heavy duty. Fuji Guides makes casting effortless, feels like and extra fast tip. I have used just about every brand and type of rod of 20 years of fishing and by far this is my best. I'm always into high end equipment and know them well. With the action of this rod, I use this set up stated earlier for Pan Fish, Trout, all bass and even caught some massive Drums and Catfish. Its and all around rod if you don't want to take 3 different rods for a fishing trip. Very Powerful and flawless for finesse fishing. East Tennessee area for top water I recommend Joe's Flies Short Strikers & Super Strikers.size 8,10 and 1/4 in the white millers. These will hit hard year round. This Rod is awesome with smaller tackle. My reel is the Shimano Stradic CI4 2500. For my salt water....the absolute best rod is the Shimano Terez Waxwing Medium. I hit some massive Tuna''s on this lightweight but brutal rod. Check out the Youtube Videos on the Terez Waxwing...you''ll be impressed.
Reviewed by: prodigy1333 (Knoxville, TN)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

great rod

2012-06-29T15:28:20

6/29/2012 3:28:20 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I have matched it with a 2500 stella shamno reel for a great in shore flats red fish rig. Using lite line it has too have a strong back bone to take the fight to them which it does. My only problem is i had to take it in to have a hooker put on it.
Reviewed by: ghall (panama city, fl)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

Awesome rod!

2012-06-29T15:27:37

6/29/2012 3:27:37 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod ( 7' 6'' medium) to pair with Stradic CI4 3000 and it does perfectly! Took it out this past weekend and landed a 25'''' red w/ no problems. Great action in the rod, nice and light.
Only complaints there is no hook holder.
Reviewed by: Matt16 (St Pete, FL)

 
Shimano Cumara Spinning

The Best Rod

2012-06-29T15:26:14

6/29/2012 3:26:14 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have used Shimano Reels for years and have finally ventured out and purchased the the best rod I have ever owned. The Cumara Rod is the perfect match for my Stradic reels. From the time I picked it up I knew it was the right one. I purchased 2 rods at one time having the confidence I was right for me. The Lifetime Warranty was a Plus also. I would recommend this rod to anyone looking for a well balance rod and one that lets you feel every movement of your lure and the slightest tick of a fish.
Reviewed by: blackbeard (TN)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Shimano Cumara Spinning Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: