Search

G. Loomis :: BASS :: Drop Shot

 

G. Loomis Drop Shot

Overall Customer Rating: 4.88 of 5 stars G. Loomis Drop Shot Rods 4.88 out of 5 (8 Reviews)
Manufacturer: G. Loomis
Series: BASS
Model: Drop Shot

G. Loomis Drop Shot models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

DSR 820 C

6' 10"

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 8

Extra Fast

Magnum Light

DSR 822 C

6' 10"

1

3/16 - 1/2

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Magnum Medium

DSR 820 S

6' 10"

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 8

Extra Fast

Magnum Light

DSR 822 S

6' 10"

1

3/16 - 1/2

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Magnum Medium


* All Drop Shot Rods specifications from the official G. Loomis catalog. G. Loomis reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis Drop Shot

 
G. Loomis Drop Shot

The Pinnacle of drop shotting rods

2012-10-18T10:30:50

10/18/2012 10:30:50 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Many of us have discovered dropshotting over the past few years. It is an extremely effective tactic for catching deepwater bass, especially those suspended just off the bottom.
The technique itself can be a bit tricky to master. Keeping in contact with bottom in deep water while trying to empart a lifelike action on your bait certainly takes skill and the right equipment. When it comes to rods there simply is not a better tool for this job than the G Loomis Drop shot rod. It is everything you want and then some. I have the 6'10" medium action. It is light in weight and a real joy to hold. The thing oozes quality and it's an absolutely gorgeous looking piece of craftsmanship. You'll be amazed at the sensitivity of this rod. You''ll be able to feel every contour of the bottom and the most subtle of pick ups.
The extra fast tip allows you to really bring that bait to life without your weight losing touch with the bottom. Just shake that tip a little bit and get ready. The strength of the rod will allow you to battle the big boys up from the depths.
Combine all this quality with the G Loomis warranty and this rod is very simply the best drop shot rod available.
Reviewed by: Madhouse (Bar Harbor, ME)

 
G. Loomis Drop Shot

Another great G. Loomis rod

2012-10-18T10:29:34

10/18/2012 10:29:34 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Using the G. Loomis DSR822 S, I find it hard to imagine another rod with a comparable combination of sensitivity and reaction strength. The craftsmanship and performance of these rods serve as a fine example that the G. Loomis reputation has been well-earned.
Reviewed by: Scrappinjack (San Diego, CA)

 
G. Loomis Drop Shot

A MUST HAVE

2012-10-18T10:28:48

10/18/2012 10:28:48 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I started crappie fishing this year after years of bass fishing. I purchased this rod for small lures and finesse fishing. Little did I know this is the sweetest rod on the planet for crappie. I realize the price is over the top for a crappie rod, but fishing is my favorite hobby and I like the best of the best and this is it. If you want the best rod on the planet for crappie this is it. I can feel the fish looking at the jig.
I will never use anything other than a G.Loomis rod. After many years of fishing they have never let me down.
Reviewed by: Loeboys (Mooringsport, Louisiana)

 
G. Loomis Drop Shot

2012-10-18T10:27:55

10/18/2012 10:27:55 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

For emergency use or every day pleasure. One of the lightest most sensitive rods i ever used.
excellent for any style of finess fishing
Reviewed by: boebass

 
G. Loomis Drop Shot

DSR822

2012-10-18T10:26:49

10/18/2012 10:26:49 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The DSR822 is very sensitive rod that I use with 8 lb. line. Not only is it a great drop shot rod, it is also effective in casting light shakey head jigs and grubs.
Reviewed by: Ranger (Lake Texoma)

 
G. Loomis Drop Shot

G.Loomis = Quality

2012-10-18T10:25:30

10/18/2012 10:25:30 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Had 2 great days at Diamond Valley Lake with this rod. Would recommend to any one, sensitive and paired with Shimano Ci4 cant be beat.
Reviewed by: Raul (Covina, CA)

 
G. Loomis Drop Shot

awesome

2012-10-18T10:24:43

10/18/2012 10:24:43 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i have the mag medium and i fished it a few times and all i got to say its once u pick it up thats it u wont put it down. just awesome. absolutely awesome. feels great. u can tell its a Loomis rod.
happy fishing people.
Reviewed by: allaboutfishing (riverside)

 
G. Loomis Drop Shot

no hook keeper

2012-10-17T22:46:11

10/17/2012 10:46:11 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

As with all Loomis rods... the sensitivity is just something you have to own a Loomis to understand. One thing that bothered me though on this rod...no hook keeper. While I know that is a "small" thing, I am bothered by it, and hope the cutting of corners is not something to come from Shimano taking over Loomis.
Reviewed by: gracedoc (Hiram, Georgia)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the G. Loomis Drop Shot Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: