Search

Fenwick :: Eagle GT

 

Fenwick Eagle GT

Overall Customer Rating: 3.93 of 5 stars Fenwick Eagle GT Rods 3.93 out of 5 (15 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Fenwick
Series: Fenwick
Model: Eagle GT

Fenwick Eagle GT models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

EGTT 66MH-2

6' 6"

2

3/16 - 1

10 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

Casting

EGTT 862MH

8' 6"

2

1/2 - 1 1/2

10 - 25

Fast

Medium Heavy

Salmon/Steelhead

Casting

EGTT 7101MT

7' 10"

1

1/4 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium

Salmon/Steelhead

Casting

EGTT 902XHVY

9' 0"

2

3/4 - 3

15 - 50

Fast

Extra Heavy

Salmon/Steelhead

Spinning

EGTS 70ML-4

7'

4

1/8-5/8

4 - 10

Medium Light

Spinning

EGTS 56UL-2

5' 6"

2

1/32-1/4

1 - 6

Ultra Lite

Spinning

EGTS 60L-2

6'

2

1/16-3/8

2 - 8

Light

Spinning

EGTS 66MH-2

6' 6"

2

3/16-1

8 - 17

Medium Heavy

Spinning

EGTS 70M-2

7'

2

1/8-3/4

4 - 12

Medium

Spinning

EGTS 70L-2

7'

2

1/16-3/8

2 - 8

Light

Spinning

EGTS 66M-2

6' 6"

2

1/8-3/4

4 - 12

Medium

Spinning

EGTS 66L-2

6' 6"

2

1/16-3/8

2 - 8

Light

Spinning

EGTS 56MH-2

5' 6"

2

3/16-1

8 - 17

Medium Heavy

Spinning

EGTS 60M

6'

1

1/8-3/4

4 - 12

Medium

Spinning

EGTS 66M

6' 6"

1

1/8-3/4

4 - 12

Medium

Spinning

EGTS 53L

5' 3"

1

1/16-3/8

2 - 8

Light

Spinning

EGTS 66ML

6' 6"

1

1/8-5/8

4 - 10

Medium Light

Spinning

EGTS 66MH

6' 6"

1

1/4 - 1

8 - 17

Medium Heavy

Spinning

EGTS 59M

5' 9"

1

1/8-3/4

4 - 12

Medium

Spinning

EGTS 70M

7'

1

1/8-3/4

4 - 12

Medium

Spinning

EGTS 60ML

6'

1

1/8-5/8

4 - 10

Medium Light

Spinning

EGTS 60MH

6'

1

1/4 - 1

8 - 17

Medium Heavy

Spinning

EGTS 49UL

4' 9"

1

1/32-1/4

1 - 6

Ultra Lite

Spinning

EGTS 962M

9' 6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium

Salmon/Steelhead

Spinning

EGTS 862M

8' 6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium

Salmon/Steelhead

Triggerstik

EGTT 60M

6' 0"

1

1/4-3/4

8 - 20

Medium

Triggerstik

EGTT 66M

6' 6"

1

1/4-3/4

8 - 20

Medium

Triggerstik

EGTT 70M

7'

1

1/4-3/4

8 - 20

Medium

Triggerstik

EGTT 70MH

7'

1

1/4-1 1/4

10 - 25

Medium Heavy

Triggerstik

EGTT 66MH

6' 6"

1

1/4-1 1/4

10 - 25

Medium Heavy


* All Eagle GT Rods specifications from the official Fenwick catalog. Fenwick reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Fenwick Eagle GT

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

2015-10-13T02:48:25

10/13/2015 2:48:25 AM 2 of 5 stars 2 out of 5 stars

Has a decent backbone. But like many others have said, broke on a cast, right where the 2 pieces meet.
Reviewed by: Realist (Ca)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

EGTS 962M

2013-02-18T05:55:24

2/18/2013 5:55:24 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

Bought this rod for the better half last season, for a birthday gift. Picked it up at around 9am and was returning it by noon. First cast my girlfriend made the rod broke just about the where the sections meet. Have heard of others on the river saying similar freak breaks on these rods as well. For the price i'd stick with an okuma celilo. Won't buy another GT series again.
Reviewed by: Chuck (NW,WA)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

Fenwick Eagle GT Salmon/Steelhead Spinning Rod

2012-11-09T12:43:12

11/9/2012 12:43:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Bought this rod by Fenwick to use in the surf here in Southern California. Its great for casting small plastic grubs and crankbaits. I have it married to a Garcia Cardinal 402 spinning reel filled with 12# Nanofil line. The rod has great action and is made with quality components. This is Fenwick's introductory series so I was a bit concerned about what the quality might be like. For the price, I believe I got a real bargain. The rod comes with a 5 year warranty. Thanks Fenwick!
Reviewed by: WCF

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

Fenwick Eagle GT Salmon/Steelhead Spinning Rod

2012-11-08T12:42:41

11/8/2012 12:42:41 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod for the price. I used it for salmon fishing in the river. It's amazing how much pressure they can take. Only had 10# leader with 14# main line but it worked great!
Reviewed by: Jim

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

performance rod without the price

2012-08-24T10:53:19

8/24/2012 10:53:19 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod gives you everything you would expect from a high end performance rod but without the price tag. I have teamed it up with a Phlueger president and its been amazing. Very sensitive in its light and medium power rods. I use the 6'6" light for trout and switch to the 7' medium for larger trout at Henry's lake and other large species. Outstanding rods for the money.
Reviewed by: fishin4trout (Rexburg, ID)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

Durable, Sensitive rods

2012-07-02T10:41:58

7/2/2012 10:41:58 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have two piece ultralight, light, and medium action Eagle GT rods.
The ultralight 5'6" is my stream trout and smallmouth rod. Plenty of backbone but a sensitive tip and very well balanced. Casts light hardware and jigs just as well it's whippier and/or longer competitors. I have caught over 100 trout with the rod.
-Just used the 6'6" light action for reservoir trout today. It fishes a bit more like an ultralight than expected-could use a tick more backbone, but sensitive, light, and great for slinging hardware into the lake and just stout enough for bait rigs. Due to soft action, aggressive hooksets are needed with this rod.
I use the 6' 6" medium action for bass and some reservoir trout. The tip is limber enough to protect a 4# mono or flouro leader. Not overly stiff like many bass rods but sensitive enough for worming and the tip is soft enough for topwaters and cranks. Plenty of backbone for steering big bass out of the weeds.
Reviewed by: OVHunter (United States, California)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

Pefect all around Bass rod

2012-05-15T10:52:22

5/15/2012 10:52:22 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Bought this along with a Triumph and this one outperformed the other in every aspect. Incredibly sensitive,durable and balanced. I have never owned a rod that picked up mono line so smooth before. The eyes on this rod are far and away the best I have ever had.
Reviewed by: WiscoHunter (Paddock Lake WI)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

2012-01-08T10:51:37

1/8/2012 10:51:37 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Great rod, but while I was putting on my reel the top piece of the handle's Cork cracked straight across. with just a minor twist to tighten the reel. Still an excellent rod, maybe I got a lemon. Fenwick is going to warranty it. so its all good.
Reviewed by: TakedownTackle (Oregon)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

Excellent Choice EGTS56UL-2

2011-12-10T10:50:25

12/10/2011 10:50:25 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I didn't know what to expect not being able to handle the product before purchase. As it turns out for me, it was a great choice. It was precisely what I was looking for in a UL rig. Nice backbone yet not over bearing. I loaded my Okuma Hardstone HS-10 with 4 lb. Silver Thread Super, and stuck it on. Complete package! I already put it to the test whipping for Papio (trevaly), brought dinner home.
Reviewed by: Localboy (Dakine - Kauai, HI)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

6''6 ML....broke 2, 1 pc rod

2011-12-05T10:49:02

12/5/2011 10:49:02 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

Brand new rod broke 1/3 down from tip retrieving a bass. Lost the fish but thought I had hooked a whale that got away. Shop replaced the rod in warranty no questions asked. The replacement rod broke in half on a cast! (first time out) I loved the feel of the rod but I really question the quality control at the factory....they can't all be this bad.
Reviewed by: Paul (Bergen Cty, NJ)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

Great Rod

2011-11-30T10:47:39

11/30/2011 10:47:39 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have a 6'6" ML and 6"6" M that I use mostly for jigging and rigging walleyes. I had these rods for 3 years and the are great, very light and sensitive. Have landed Muskies up to 44" on the Wisconsin river while fishing for walleyes. I just ordered a 7' casting rod for bass fishing. My medium action rod will even handle jigs up to 1 oz that we sometimes need to use on the Mississippi river for Walleyes. Best rod for the money in my mind.
Reviewed by: Bigsack (Tomah, Wisconsin)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

EGTS 66L-2

2011-09-24T10:46:05

9/24/2011 10:46:05 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

After catching 11 small Rainbow Trout the 6" tip broke off while bringing in a huge 8" trout! Only good thing about it is I was able to land that whopper. I always thought Fenwick made a good product but now I"m not too sure. This waste first Fenwick I have ever purchased and probably the last. I have since purchased a 7'6" L Okuma and have landed 20+ bigger fish with no issues and would recommend this fun rod to anyone.
Reviewed by: mountaineer (Mountain Home, Idaho)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

Great Rod

2011-08-17T10:43:56

8/17/2011 10:43:56 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have two of these, one is a medium and one is a light. I have not had a lick of trouble with them, I usually use a 1/2 oz jig head and rapalas to fish for walleye's and for trout. They always work great!
I would highly recommend these for the money.
Reviewed by: wyocowboys (Laramie WY)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

Fenwick M

2011-08-05T10:43:01

8/5/2011 10:43:01 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is by far my favorite rod. It is big enough to land Alaska reds, down to little trout fingerlings. It is wonderfully sensitive.
I can easily feel hits from three and four inch trout. It is just long enough to chuck the larger lures out in the water but the smaller size lets you weed through the brush without getting big tangles because you can't see the end of you rod.
All around great rod.
Reviewed by: Fiddleboy (United States, Alaska)

 
Fenwick Eagle GT

Excellent Action

2011-03-01T10:40:05

3/1/2011 10:40:05 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Fishing for Largemouth Bass, I use the 6 foot Medium Power rod for short, accurate casting in front of weed lines, tulle grass, sunken trees, and rocks, with a wacky rigged Senko. It has just the right amount of back bone for positive hook sets yet has enough flex so the smaller, 1/0 wacky style hooks do not rip out of the fish's mouth. The rod is light enough so I can cast all day if need be without fatigue. I caught my largest bass to date (fishing for 5.5 years now), an 8 pound 4 ounce largemouth, with this rod.
Reviewed by: Tytlyns (Tucson, AZ)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Fenwick Eagle GT Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: