Search

Fenwick :: Elite Tech Smallmouth

 

Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Overall Customer Rating: 4.79 of 5 stars Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth Rods 4.79 out of 5 (19 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Fenwick
Series: Fenwick
Model: Elite Tech Smallmouth

Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

ESMC610M-F

6' 10"

1

1/8 - 5/8

8 - 14

Fast

Medium

Casting

ESMC69MH-F

6' 9"

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

Casting

ESMC63M-MF

6' 3"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Moderate Fast

Medium

Casting

ESMC69M-XF

6' 9"

1

3/8 - 5/8

10 - 17

Extra Fast

Medium

Casting

ESMC610MH-MF

6' 10"

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

Casting

ESMC6102M-F

6' 10"

2

1/8 - 5/8

8 - 14

Fast

Medium

Spinning

ESMS63M-F

6' 3"

1

1/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

Spinning

ESMS692M-XF

6' 9"

2

1/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Medium

Spinning

ESMS69ML-F

6' 9"

1

1/16 - 5/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

ESMS74M-F

7' 4"

1

1/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

Spinning

ESMS632MH-F

6' 3"

2

1/4 - 3/4

10 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

ESMS69M-XF

6' 9"

1

1/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Medium

Spinning

ESMS63MH-F

6' 3"

1

1/4 - 3/4

10 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy


* All Elite Tech Smallmouth Rods specifications from the official Fenwick catalog. Fenwick reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Excellent rod for the price !!

2013-09-17T15:53:14

9/17/2013 3:53:14 PM

I bought the 6'9" ML spinning rod and have it paired up with a Shimano Stradic MgFB 1000 with 6lb. mono.
The rod is very light by itself and with the Stradic the combination feels nicely balanced. I use the combo for throwing small/medium sized crankbaits. My favourite lure with this rod/reel is a Bomber squarebill. You can feel every vibration created by the lure. The rod is super sensitive. Even though it's ML the rod has a real nice action when fighting fiesty Smallmouth Bass. With the drag adjusted properly and a bit of patience I have never lost a fish using the Fenwick.
One funny thing. I'm usually not a fan of split grip rods but this Fenwick is an exception!!
Highly recommended.
Reviewed by: Ed (Southern Ontario, Canada)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Unbeleivable Rod

2013-08-09T12:18:37

8/9/2013 12:18:37 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

By far the best bang for your buck on the market at 100 dollars. I got the medium moderate fast 6 foot 9 inch casting rod. I picked up a used shimano calcuta for 100 bucks. The combination is dynamite I couldn't be more happy with it. The feel is awesome, the sensitivity is awesome, and has plenty of back bone for fishing slop/tree's and for getting good hook sets. I love the split grip It was ackward at first but now incredible. Ill give you a money back garantee, if you buy one and don't like It i will buy it off you for exactly what you paid hahaha. Im sure i will be adding some more of these beauties to my arsenal anyways.
Reviewed by: Brad (Rice Lake, Ontario)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

GREAT ROD!

2012-12-09T17:58:04

12/9/2012 5:58:04 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is awsome for tubes. Works great for senkos..just an all around great rod!
Reviewed by: Kyle S. (Burlington,VT)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Remarkable!

2012-11-18T15:54:35

11/18/2012 3:54:35 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

After fishing the spinning version and being highly impressed with it I had to try a casting model out and I got the 6'10M-F, and it is super light, amazingly sensitive for a rod in this price range and is very comfortable to fish. I was worried the sensitivity would suffer from the "hidden handle" design but it isn't so, this rod is truly a high end rod without the high end price tag. So if you always wanted to try a high end rod but couldn't afford one, get one of these rods and you'll know how enjoyable a performance rod is to fish with.
Reviewed by: smalljaw (Minersville, PA)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

2012-11-18T14:38:32

11/18/2012 2:38:32 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 6'10" M/F casting. I have had it out three times and it fishes nice.
I've been using it for wacky rigged finesse worms & senkos plus some small jigs with a Curado 50 and 8 lb. fluoro.
I wasn't sure about the handle at first, specifically the blank being covered by the cork, but after fishing with it a few times I like it.
Reviewed by: BradH (Columbus, NE)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

2012-11-15T12:46:19

11/15/2012 12:46:19 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought a used G loomis rod for $200 around the price. sticker had been $325. I prefer the Fenwick. It's lighter and still has all the backbone you need for smallies.
Reviewed by: Tim

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

UNBELIEVABLE

2012-11-15T11:05:18

11/15/2012 11:05:18 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 6'9" M-XF and I can honestly say this is the finest spinning rod I have ever used. I got the rod for fishing tubes and other light jigs and found it not only works well with those techniques but makes a great shaky head and drop shot rod! The sensitivity is incredible as well as the comfort plus it is super light with a lot of backbone. I will be getting a few more, and would do so even if they were twice the retail price, you won't regret getting this rod.
Reviewed by: smalljaw (Minersville, PA)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

2012-11-10T12:44:12

11/10/2012 12:44:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The Fenwick elite smallmouth rod. They got it right, best tube fishing rod I have ever used.I plan on buying another.
Reviewed by: Fishon

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

awesome rod

2012-10-12T15:53:43

10/12/2012 3:53:43 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

great , light ,very sensitive.
I have bought a 6'3' medium casting rod.
Great rod for small-medium jerkbaits
Reviewed by: jcs (United States, New York)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Thank you Fenwick

2012-10-08T15:52:42

10/8/2012 3:52:42 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the 6 ft 3in model and paired it with a Shimano Curado 51E. This set up is super light and super sensitive. It has fought a few decent northern smallmouth and largemouth this year and performed very well.
I am thrilled to have it in my growing Fenwick arsenal.
Reviewed by: NHBass (United States, New Hampshire)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Good Senko Rod

2012-10-05T15:51:41

10/5/2012 3:51:41 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod for weightless rigged senko type baits
Reviewed by: jac

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth Casting Rod

2012-10-01T15:51:04

10/1/2012 3:51:04 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 6'9" XF baitcast rod. Needless to say it is a solid rod, high quality construction, very sensitive, light, and fun to fish with. I catch SM, LM , and Musky with this rod. It doubles as a jig rod and crankbait rod. The fast tip action provides for good solid hooksets.
I'd buy another Elite Tech.
Reviewed by: Quinteman

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Fantastic Rod

2012-06-23T11:04:43

6/23/2012 11:04:43 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I can't say anything negative about this rod. The craftsmanship is outstanding! This thing is super light as well. I have 6'9 MXF and it's just fewer than 3.5 oz. I have used on the river and also on the lake and it handled a 5 pounder just fine. I have thrown tubes and senkos with this rod and it's extremely sensitive and casts a mile.
I highly recommend this rod! I own and use some higher end rods but for the money hands down this rod is excellent and ranks right up there with some of the higher end stuff. I hope they come out with a LM series.
Reviewed by: BassDude (Michigan)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Top of the Line Smallmouth Rod

2012-05-10T11:03:34

5/10/2012 11:03:34 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Where I come from is some of the best smallmouth habit in the world. The New River produces some of the best smallmouth around I have recently purchased the elite tech smallmouth series MXF 6'9' rod by FENWICK this rod is the best rod I have ever used for this this type of fishing. Any way you want to fish smallies soft plastics to crankbaits to spinners you will not go wrong this rod is light accurate sensitive to everything. This rod will not disappoint you in any way.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT for the price you cant go wrong!
Reviewed by: Wollfman (United States, West Virginia)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Fenwick 6"9" MXF

2012-04-28T11:02:25

4/28/2012 11:02:25 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Once you pick up this rod you"ll never wanna put it down. I have a total of 9 Fenwick rods and all of them are great, but this Elite Tech Smallmouth...fantastic!! This rod is so light and comfortable in your hand you"ll swear you are just holding a reel n line. It really casts like no other and accurate. Fenwick really up't their game. Yes its expensive but ur getting what u pay for. West Virgina bass beware.
Reviewed by: rugermk

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Great rod

2012-03-05T11:01:39

3/5/2012 11:01:39 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod for dragging and snapping tubes and plenty of sensitivity and backbone for driving the hook home
Reviewed by: Blackbass (United States, Illinois)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

2012-02-23T12:25:21

2/23/2012 12:25:21 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I had a chance to handle the Elite Tech Smallmouths this weekend. I can really see the appeal. They are light & seem very sensitive. With a Stradic 2500 FI, the only weight I felt was the reel. One of the nice things about the unique reel seat was that I could still put my finger on the blank if I wanted to. Both the 6'9" MXF and 6'3" MF spinning rods look as though they would be a lot of fun. Tips soft enough to toss really light baits, but enough backbone to control a big one.
Reviewed by: LAO (Western MA)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

2012-02-11T12:22:21

2/11/2012 12:22:21 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have a 6'9" ML spinning rod that I got last fall and that's a great rod.
I love the handle on the spinning rod, but it feels strange on the casting model. Probably just me. The rod seems to be high quality, and I think I will adapt to the grip pretty quick especially considering what I paid for it.
Reviewed by: Basser (Mendon, MA)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

2012-02-08T12:19:00

2/8/2012 12:19:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I think most angler have had a look at the new series that Fenwick released the end of last year. I got on board right away as I needed a new spinning rod, so I gave the new Fenwick a shot, I purchased the 6'9" medium power, extra fast action spinning model and I can tell you I was very impressed with the feel of the rod. I got the rod to use for shaky heads and light jigs and tubes but I got a bonus as it really was great to use with small soft jerkbaits like the super fluke Jr and baby slug-o. It has more than enough strength and backbone to throw normal 5" and 6" soft jerkbait and senkos but it really threw the small ones which impressed me the most. I could feel the bottom and light bites in 26' of water on a shaky head using 8# mono, it is without a doubt the most sensitive rod in its price range that I ever used and what make it nice is the reel seat is not only comfotable to hold, but simply extending your index finger puts it right on the blank, this is a plus and looks to be very well thought out. Well I liked that so much I ordered, and just recieved, my new Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth casting rod. It is 6'10" medium heavy power, moderate fast action, the line rating is 12# to 20# and the lure rating is 3/8oz to 1oz. The first thing you notice when you pick it up is how light it is and when you feel how much power the rod has the weight is even more incredible, especially in its price range. I can't get out on the water just yet but I was able to mount a reel and tie off the line to a post and apply some pressure to check the action and it was more than I expected. When I first manually pulled the rod tip it felt kind of stiff, more like a fast action rod but once I tied the line to a post and began putting pressure on it you could see the blank begin to distribute the weight all the way through the mid section of the rod instead of just the top half as a fast action rod does. The reel seat is outstanding in terms of comfort and depending how you palm a reel, a simple extension of the index finger may be all that is needed in order to have direct access to the blank. That is my one and only complaint at all with the reel seat, the lack of blank exposure isn't there like you have on a normal fuji exposed blank reel seat but for this rod it really isn't needed as the rods intened purpose is square bills, large shallow cranks, traps, and it may even see jerkbait duty as it has enough tip for me to control the jerkbait yet has enough flex to fight the fish without pulling the trebe hooks free. I never liked traditional style cranking rods with jerkbaits, I just never felt in control of the lure with them but it isn't the case with this new rod. BTW, I got this rod on Amazon for $77.49 with free shipping!!!! So, if you're in the market for a new rod and perhaps on a budget, you may want to give these Fenwicks a try, I liked my spinning rod so much I gave my grandson my old rod, a G.Loomis SJR722 GL3.
Reviewed by: Keeper (Minersville, PA)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth

Materail defect?

2012-02-03T11:00:55

2/3/2012 11:00:55 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

I bought two rods and we used both exactly three times. Today on the fourth fishing trip, each rod had a broken guide within 1/2 hour of each other. The 3rd guide from the bottom of one rod just had a broken ring, while the 4th guide (from the bottom) of the second rod just snapped off cleanly. It was really disappointed because we really like the actions. But it seems these rods are not built to last.
Reviewed by: Trantheman (United States, Texas)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Fenwick Elite Tech Smallmouth Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: