Search

Lamiglas :: Bass Rods :: Excel Bass

 

Lamiglas Excel Bass

Overall Customer Rating: 4.85 of 5 stars Lamiglas Excel Bass Rods 4.85 out of 5 (13 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Lamiglas
Series: Bass Rods
Model: Excel Bass

Lamiglas Excel Bass - a series of excellent spinning for big fish a variety of ultralight and light lures, small wobblers and jig lures. Equipped with touch handle rings Fuji, spinning all the parts are made of highest quality materials. However, like all products Lamiglas.

At each spinning indicated for any way to catch a spinning best suited

Conclusion: So am I ready to set aside my JDM sticks in favor of this new value oriented rod from Lamiglas? Of course not. The Excel rods are not intended to replace your high dollar, enthusiast level sticks. Rather they are an answer for those who are maybe fed up with the high price of fishing rods but are discouraged that the only options out there in the roughly one hundred dollar space are rods that are made overseas. The XL734C is a very fine performing stick that, together with its price of only $109 and the fact it was built in Lamiglas’s own factory in Woodland, Washington, is a testament to what can be accomplished when a company puts its best resources forward.

Lamiglas Excel Bass models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

XL663C

6' 6"

1

1/4- 5/8

8-15

Fast

3

Casting

XL664C

6' 6"

1

1/4- 3/4

10-20

Fast

4

Casting

XL665C

6' 6"

1

3/8-1

12-25

Fast

5

Casting

XL703C

7'

1

3/16-5/8

8-17

Fast

3

Casting

XL703CM

7'

1

3/16-1/2

8-17

Fast

3

Casting

XL704C

7'

1

1/4-3/4

10-20

Fast

4

Casting

XL704CM

7'

1

1/4-3/4

10-20

Fast

4

Casting

XL704GLASS

7'

1

1/4-5/8

8-20

Fast

4

Casting

XL705C

7'

1

1/4-1

12-25

Fast

5

Casting

XL705Glass

7'

1

1/4-1

8-20

Fast

5

Casting

XL734C

7' 3"

1

1/4-3/4

8-20

Fast

4

Casting

XL735C

7' 3"

1

3/8-11/2

12-25

Fast

5

Casting

XL7116C

7' 11"

1

1/2-2

12-25

Fast

6

Spinning

XL662S

6' 6"

1

1/16-5/16

6-10

Fast

2

Spinning

XL663S

6' 6"

1

1/8-3/8

6-12

Fast

3

Spinning

XL664S

6' 6"

1

3/16-5/8

8-15

Fast

4

Spinning

XL702S

7'

1

1/16-1/2

4-10

Fast

2

Spinning

XL702SM

7'

1

1/16-5/16

4-10

Fast

2

Spinning

XL703S

7'

1

1/4-1/2

6-12

Fast

3

Spinning

XL704S

7'

1

3/16-1/2

8-15

Fast

4


* All Excel Bass Rods specifications from the official Lamiglas catalog. Lamiglas reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Lamiglas Excel Bass

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

2012-07-10T13:27:29

7/10/2012 1:27:29 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

They are a good rod for the money. I think they are more sensitive than my Major, and lighter.
Reviewed by: FishinTN (Clarksville, TN)

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

2012-07-10T13:00:06

7/10/2012 1:00:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i've used many lamiglas rods and they are excellent. lami's rod rating system is slightly different than what you may be used to as it goes up to 8 (most others go to 6) so the numbers are not directly comparable. lamis actions are also a tab more on the softer side...closer to a g.loomis than, say, a dobyns or a zillion. if anything were to ever happen to my lami XCF705R or SR705R, i'd pick up a 705cb excel glass to replace it.
Reviewed by: 21farms (california delta)

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

2012-07-10T12:59:26

7/10/2012 12:59:26 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I bought one last Fall, strictly going by the action and power ratings from Lamiglas...I never held one in my hand until the one I have arrived from TW. While I like the one I have, the comment about them being over rated for weights they can handle is right on. Mine is rated for 1/4 to 1 oz. and there is no way it could handle even a 3/4 oz., much less a 1 oz. bait. I also think their action ratings are either different from most other rod manufacturers or else they too are a bit on the over rated side. Mine is rated as a fast action, but compared to other fast action rods I own, the Lamiglas is more of a moderate action.
Like I said at the start, I like mine, but because I've found other things I can do with it, not because it will do what I bought it for. I would be reluctant to buy another one without first being able to handle it and evaluate for myself what it's capabilities are.
Reviewed by: MNGeorge (Sartell, MN)

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

2012-07-10T12:58:18

7/10/2012 12:58:18 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

You will not be disappointed! I have the 7116C, 734C, 704C, and a 703C. I plan to add two more to complete my arsenal. Good warranty and made in the USA. Very sensitive in my opinion and light. I caught this bass this past weekend on the 703C ML. It handled this fish with no problem.
Reviewed by: Red (Waco, TX. USA)

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

2012-07-10T12:57:36

7/10/2012 12:57:36 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have a 734C and a 703S. Both are really nice, light and reasonably sensitive. They are (IMHO) a bit underpowered in relation to their ratings. The 734 is a "MH" according to Lamiglas, but is feels like it has less power than my "M" Allstar rod. I know this isn't specific to Lamiglas, but something to keep in mind.
My 703/Pflueger Supreme XT combo is just pure sessiness!!!
Reviewed by: webertime

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

2012-07-10T12:56:42

7/10/2012 12:56:42 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i have a 704C. i love it. i use it for spinnerbaits and lights jigs and t rigs. i would buy another in a heartbeat. you wont be disappointed
Reviewed by: Love Bass Fishing

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

2012-07-10T12:56:03

7/10/2012 12:56:03 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

They are awesome rods, perhaps the most underrated rod in their price class. Why? I think they're just not really known as well as other rods outside the west.

Anyway, they are made from Lamiglas' certified pro blank, as I have been told by reps I know. Certified Pro blanks are excellent.
Reviewed by: Tsunekichi

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

Lamiglas Excel bass rod - 1st impression

2012-06-21T14:34:56

6/21/2012 2:34:56 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I bought a Lamiglas Excel bass rod (model XL703S, Spinning Rod 7' Medium, Line Weight: 6-12 lbs. Drop Shot, Shaky Heads, Tubes & Gitzits) as my drop shot rod.
Before this, my drop shot rod was the St. Croix Legend Tournament (LTBS69MLXF, Spinning drop shot Rod -6'9" Med Lt, Line Weight: 6-10 lbs)
I'm new to fishing and rods, but here are some of my impressions about the Lamiglas excel rod (at least to the model I have):

1. Not as light as my old drop shot rod (LTBS69MLXF) and the Shimano crucial drop shop rod. I didn''t compare them side by side, it''s all based on my feeling and memories.
2. The finish on the blank is nice, i really like the deep copper color.
3. I don''t really like the rubber reel seat/handle; i like the cork better.
4. I think the guides and reel seat are not Fuji.
5. The rod butt is Fuji, and is made in Japan (prints on the rod butt).
6. Something about the rod balance that i can''t explain. It seems that the part before the reel seat is very heavy. I put the Okuma vsystem 30a spinning reel (~10.5 oz) on it, and the balance point is about 2 cm before the fore grip (well, there is no fore grip, just the plastic that is part of the reel seat/handle). Is that normal? I don''t know.
7. When i pulled the rod out of the shipping tube, i didn''t like it that much. You might argue that it''s only $99 and comes with life time warranty. I know, I didn''t have high expectation - just an impression.
8. fished with it a few times but haven''t landed a fish yet. Other than that, the rods looks and feels just fine.

Overall, It''s worth the money.
Reviewed by: whate

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

Lamiglas Excel Rods – First Impressions

2012-06-21T14:31:34

6/21/2012 2:31:34 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I can say that the Excel series left a great first impression. I believe Lamiglas really hit it out of the park in terms of value and performance at this price point. I believe that they are also made here in the good US of A. Now that’s practically unheard of today.

No, I haven’t fished with the Excel rods, BUT I know full well the excellent traits Certified Pro rods possess in feel and sensitivity. I would feel very comfortable recommending an Excel rod as an excellent candidate to a budget minded angler. Getting the rod of Certified Pro performance for about $100 is a steal of a deal any time.
Reviewed by: islandbass (WA State)

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

Happy with Excel Bass rod

2012-06-21T14:29:26

6/21/2012 2:29:26 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Lamiglas is a great company, so dont think im downing your purchase one bit. I would be totally happy with that rod man.
Reviewed by: GermanKnight (Ohio)

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

I love them

2012-06-21T14:24:09

6/21/2012 2:24:09 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have been fishing the Lamiglas Excel Bass Rods since the fall and I love them. They are priced well and perform great. I have a casting rod and a spinning rod and plan to buy more. I have always like Lamiglas, my first good bass rod was a Lamiglas, and the fact that they are made in America makes it even better. The price point is only around $100 which makes them more affordable and allows you to buy a couple more.
Reviewed by: FishingTour (US)

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

XL 664S - Great!

2012-06-21T14:19:34

6/21/2012 2:19:34 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

XL 664S - Best for Senkos, light jigs, flukes and Texas rigs
Reviewed by: KingFisher (CA)

 
Lamiglas Excel Bass

XL 703S

2012-06-21T14:18:01

6/21/2012 2:18:01 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

XL 703S - Ideal for drop shot, shaky heads, tubes and gitzits.
Reviewed by: USFisherman (US)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Lamiglas Excel Bass Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: