Search
 

St. Croix Eyecon

Overall Customer Rating: 5 of 5 stars St. Croix Eyecon Rods 5 out of 5 (11 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Eyecon

St. Croix Eyecon models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

ECC70MHM

7'

1

1/2 - 3

6 - 12

Moderate

Medium Heavy

Bounce-N-Troll

4.3

Spinning

ECS63MLXF

6'3"

1

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Extra Fast

Medium Light

Vertical Jig

3.5

Spinning

ECS63MXF

6'3"

1

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium

Vertical Jig

3.6

Spinning

ECS66MLF

6'6"

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Jig-N-Rig

3.7

Spinning

ECS66MLF2

6'6"

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Jig-N-Rig

3.7

Spinning

ECS68MXF

6'8"

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Medium

Snap Jig

3.8

Spinning

ECS70LF

7'

1

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Fast

Light

Finesse

3.4

Spinning

ECS70MLF

7'

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Riggin

3.9

Spinning

ECS70MLF2

7'

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Riggin

3.7

Spinning

ECS76MLXF

7'6"

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

Slip-N-Rig

4.4

Spinning

ECS76MLXF2

7'6"

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

Slip-N-Rig

4.2

Spinning

ECS80MLF2

8'

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Drift-N-Float

4.4

Trolling

ECT50MM

5'

1

5.1

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium

Trolling

4

Trolling

ECT70MM

7'

1

6.3

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium

Trolling

4

Trolling

ECT80MM2

8'

2

7.5

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium

Trolling

5

Trolling

ECT90MM2

9'

2

8.3

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium

Trolling

5

Trolling

ECT106MHM2

10'6"

2

8.0

15 - 30

Moderate

Medium Heavy

Trolling

5

Trolling

ECT120MHM2

12'

2

9.1

15 - 30

Moderate

Medium Heavy

Trolling

5


* All Eyecon Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Eyecon

 
St. Croix Eyecon

its sweet

2014-10-20T17:00:03

10/20/2014 5:00:03 PM

have this rod coupled with a pflueger Patriarch, usually run 6lb mono bouncing 1/16, 1/8, and 1/4 ounce jigs it has amazing feel it was my first single piece rod, which may have something to do with it. 6,3 medium fast, awesome grip, and it has picked up so many fish I would of missed with my previous rods. I would seriously pay double or maybe even triple for this rod its worth every penny especially if you spend a decent amount of time fishing.
Reviewed by: Walleye Hunter (Iowa)

 
St. Croix Eyecon

Best rod

2012-10-25T11:47:02

10/25/2012 11:47:02 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Got this rod on sale last year. Used it once and I haven't stopped using it. I know its for walleye, but I used this rod for everything from pike to bass. I had a lot of luck especially with smallmouth using a 6-8 medium coupled to a Shimano reel.
I love the weight, feel and casting ability of this rod.
Reviewed by: scott (Northern, Ontario)

 
St. Croix Eyecon

Best Rod to Cast MiniLures

2012-10-25T11:46:11

10/25/2012 11:46:11 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the 7' light model to use for throwing minicranks, crappie sized stick baits like the yo zuri pins minnows, etc. Paired it with a Pfleuger Supreme XT25 - what a combo! Nice whip to the tip to really fire those small baits out a distance with little effort. For a light rod (both in weight and action) it has a faster tip with plenty of backbone for such a small blank diameter. While throwing pins minnow with erratic retrieve for crappie, landed largemouth up to 3 lbs on this rod. Can't seem to put this rod down - my buddies keep joking when I pull out the "panfish" rod when we go bass fishing, but not after they see it handle finnese lures. Plus most comfortable cork grip I have ever felt.
Can't wait to actually use it for walleye - this rod is a winner.
Reviewed by: ZeroGravity (Frankfort, IL)

 
St. Croix Eyecon

Sweet trolling rod

2012-10-25T11:44:32

10/25/2012 11:44:32 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Took it out one night trolling and it was the best on the boat
Reviewed by: Ktm (Cleveland Ohio)

 
St. Croix Eyecon

Awesome Rod

2012-10-25T11:43:46

10/25/2012 11:43:46 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod seems to have a very good backbone, but still manages to possess more than decent tip action. I have yet to test it on the water, but I'm dieing to find out what it's like. I actually don't usually fish for walleye, but this rod was recommended to me over the mojo bass so I tried it out. The medium heavy model is thinner than the medium heavy mojo bass model, but I guess due to the material it is stronger per % of thickness than the mojo bass. Very strong rod, great paired up with the bps pro qualifier.
Reviewed by: jonnyboy

 
St. Croix Eyecon

Eyecon

2012-10-25T09:03:33

10/25/2012 9:03:33 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Bought the 6'6 med light. All i can say is don't waste your money on the higher end St.Croix if your looking for a light bass, walleye rod. Ive owned them, and they're not any better than this. Incredible value for the money! I also own a Mojo Bass, great rod as well, but the grip set up on this rod is a little more comfortable.
Caught a bunch of walleye''s on it already, can''t wait to try it out on some smallmouths!
Reviewed by: Tonyype (Cleveland, Ohio)

 
St. Croix Eyecon

Awesome Rod

2012-10-25T09:01:41

10/25/2012 9:01:41 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I use this "walleye" rod for bass fishing, specifically with senkos. This rod by far is the best feeling and performing 'senko' rod I have used. I bought the 1 piece 6'6" ML and could not be happier with it all around.
Reviewed by: Kanakakee (Indiana)

 
St. Croix Eyecon

Fantastic jig rod

2012-10-25T09:01:00

10/25/2012 9:01:00 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own 6.6" rod. this is my first St.Croix rod, and it's more then I expected.
Amazing sensitivity, good strength, distant cast - recommended!
Reviewed by: anavrotskiy

 
St. Croix Eyecon

St. Croix Eyecon

2012-10-25T09:00:23

10/25/2012 9:00:23 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod seems to have a very good backbone, I have yet to test it on the water. Walleye Seasons just
open here in Michigan i got the 7' med-lite. you can feel the bite and the bottom.
Reviewed by: tyrone

 
St. Croix Eyecon

6''8" Snap Jig

2012-10-25T08:59:39

10/25/2012 8:59:39 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Worked great for jigging for early spring Rainy River Walleyes. Used mostly jigs 3/8 oz to 1 oz. Great value for the cost. Have also used the 6'3" rod for lighter jigs and would recommend both. But I only had 1 it would be the 6'8" for heavier jigs in river current.
Reviewed by: MN (United States, Minnesota)

 
St. Croix Eyecon

they call them the best rods on earth for a reason

2012-10-25T08:57:58

10/25/2012 8:57:58 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The St. Croix eyecon rod is amazing you can feel the slightest tap from a finicky walleye!
I've used this rod trout fishing and it is by far the best rod I've owned.
Well worth the money.
Reviewed by: house (Canada, Ontario)

 
St. Croix Eyecon

Dont hesitate, just get it

2012-10-25T08:57:05

10/25/2012 8:57:05 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best rod I've ever owned. I have the 6'3" medium. They say it's a "walleye" rod but I use it strictly for bass. The whole walleye thing is just a sales tactic. I have this rod paired with a pflueger president reel and it''s absolutely deadly when throwing soft plastics. The accuracy is amazing. The sensitivity and action are great for soft plastics. It also has a foam type grip which is extremely comfortable for long days on the lake. Very light weight as well. The only thing I would change is the walleye decal on the pole to bass.
Reviewed by: bassfisher (United States, Pennsylvania)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Eyecon Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: