Search

Lamiglas :: Salmon & Steelhead Rods :: G1000 Series

 

Lamiglas G1000 Series

Overall Customer Rating: 4.73 of 5 stars Lamiglas G1000 Series Rods 4.73 out of 5 (26 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Lamiglas
Series: Salmon & Steelhead Rods
Model: G1000 Series

Lamiglas G1000 Series models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

G1330-T

8'

1

3/8-2

10-20

Extra Fast

Med/Mag

Hot Shot Mag

Casting

G1380-T

8'

1

1-6

15-30

Moderate Fast

Heavy

Back Bouncer

Casting

G1306-T

8' 6"

2

3/8-3/4

8-12

Fast

Med

Medium

Casting

G1308-T

8' 6"

2

11/2-4

12-30

Moderate

Heavy

Salmon Moocher

Casting

G1310-T

8' 6"

2

1/2-11/2

10-20

Fast

Med/Hvy

Medium Heavy

Casting

G1313-T

8' 6"

2

3/8-11/2

8-17

Extra Fast

Med/Mag

Mag Taper

Casting

G1314-T

8' 6"

2

1/2-13/4

12-25

Moderate

Heavy

Kenai Special

Casting

G1342-T

8' 6"

2

1/2-2

15-25

Moderate Fast

Heavy

Kenai Pro

Casting

G1318-T

8' 6"

2

3/4-21/2

12-30

Fast

Extra Heavy

Kenai King

Casting

G1324-T

9'

2

3/8-3/4

8-12

Fast

Medium

Medium

Casting

G1326-T

9'

2

1/2-13/4

12-25

Moderate

Heavy

Salmon Mooch

Casting

G1344-T

9'

2

1-3

15-40

Fast

Extra Heavy

Kenai Force

Casting

G1316-T

9'

2

2-6

20-50

Fast

Extra Heavy

Kenai Force

Casting

G1348-T

9'

2

1-6

15-30

Moderate Fast

Heavy

Herring

Casting

G1384-T

9'

2

1-6

15-40

Moderate

Heavy

Trolling

Spinning

G1218

7' 6"

2

1/8-5/8

6-12

Moderate Fast

Medium

Medium Light Spin

Spinning

G1307

8' 6"

2

3/8-3/4

8-12

Fast

Medium

Medium Spin

Spinning

G1311

8' 6"

2

1/2-11/2

10-20

Fast

Medium Heavy

Med Heavy Spin

Spinning

G1313-S

8' 6"

2

3/8-11/2

8-17

Extra Fast

Medium Magnum

Magnum Taper

Spinning

G1315

8' 6"

2

1/2-13/4

12-25

Moderate

Heavy

Kenai Special Spin

Spinning

G1342-S

8' 6"

2

1/2-2

15-25

Fast

Heavy

Kenai Pro Spin

Spinning

G1319

8' 6"

2

3/4-21/2

12-30

Fast

Extra Heavy

Kenai King Spin

Spinning

G1325

9'

2

1/8-1/2

6-12

Moderate

Medium

Medium Light Spin

Spinning

G1367

9' 6"

2

1/8-1/2

4-10

Moderate

Medium Light

Light Spin


* All G1000 Series Rods specifications from the official Lamiglas catalog. Lamiglas reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Lamiglas G1000 Series

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

nice, lightweight,well balanced, tough

2012-07-10T15:42:36

7/10/2012 3:42:36 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

spinner fishing, drift fishing, float fishing
Reviewed by: bones (north central Pa)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Everything I expected from Lamiglass

2012-07-10T15:41:58

7/10/2012 3:41:58 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Used primarily for river fishing. Good solid rod, hauled in a 20 pound Steelhead without straining itself.
Reviewed by: Great Dane (Forks, WA)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

ok rod

2012-07-10T15:41:01

7/10/2012 3:41:01 PM 2 of 5 stars 2 out of 5 stars

the rod would cast good but the reel seat and the ring guides are all crooked sent in for another trade but the new one was as crooked as the last. I think lamiglas has an poor quality control over their rods.
Reviewed by: sturgeon (Sacramento, CA)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

The Best Hot Shot or Drop Back Rod

2012-07-10T15:40:04

7/10/2012 3:40:04 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

G1330T IMHO The best Hot Shot or Drop Back Rod
For Salmon and Steelhead on the Market
Reviewed by: Lars (Northern MI)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Wouldn''t Buy Again

2012-07-10T15:39:18

7/10/2012 3:39:18 PM 2 of 5 stars 2 out of 5 stars

G 1344T: I needed a two piece rod that I could use with a bait caster, throwing plugs 1-3oz, for stripers in the northeast. The blank is of great quality however the components and finishing are inferior to the 'made in china' rods. The cherry red finish is beautiful but came with a few decent scrapes and a few scuffs and one of the guides creaked while casting and while under pressure. The cork handle is of very poor quality with deep scars covered with a type of putty. the wraps holding the guides are poor with plenty of gaps visible and the epoxy is mediocre except for one guide where the epoxy is terrible. Sent it back with a lot of hassle from customer service got another scratched rod and this one had half of its cork handle sanded and re puttied. Although a great blank will never buy from Lamiglas again.
Reviewed by: RockFisher (MA)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Lamiglas (Kenai Special) G 1314-T

2012-06-29T15:02:19

6/29/2012 3:02:19 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

G 1314-T Used for 5 years straight. I have gone through 3 different Reels and never a glitch in the rod. I have caught countless King Salmon, including one over 60 lbs and a number over 50, from boat and from land. This rod is unbeatable, no flaws found and the feel is incredible weather you are trolling or drift fishing. I would recommend this rod to anyone planning to fish for the King of the River
Reviewed by: Salmon Slayer (Anchorage, Alaska)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Great Rod

2012-06-29T15:01:03

6/29/2012 3:01:03 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've used a few different rods for river salmon and steelhead fishing, but none of them have been as sensitive or durable as this rod. I use an 8' heavy and it makes landing big fish really easy and allows you torque a fish more than other rods do.
Reviewed by: wader09 (La Grande, OR)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Lamiglas G1310-T 8'' 6" Salmon/Steelhead Rod

2012-06-19T00:10:51

6/19/2012 12:10:51 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Don't have anything bad to comment on this rod. With its incredible action and sensitivity, I can fish all day with this rod. I normally use Abu Garcia reels with this rod but I would definitely recommend spending a little more money and getting the Shimano Calcutta 400B.
Reviewed by: spider87

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

great rod

2012-06-19T00:10:10

6/19/2012 12:10:10 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

a favorite rod lite Waite and sensitive
Reviewed by: man (seatlle wa)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Classic

2012-06-19T00:09:17

6/19/2012 12:09:17 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I currently have a G-1000 that is twenty years old and as good as new. It is the only rod out of dozens that I have owned that has tremendous sensitivity yet will not break despite rough use. It has always been my number one rod for Steelhead. This recent purchase was made just in case they decide to quit making them and I eventually need another.
Reviewed by: Anndog (Northern California)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

The G1000 Pro

2012-06-19T00:08:41

6/19/2012 12:08:41 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The G1000 Kenai pro rod is one of the best poles ever made and it's made in the USA. It will handle any fish up to 40 lbs, but if you are going to the Renai River to fish for 60 lb and over fish, you should get the Kenai King rod. I've been rough on my lamiglas rods in the past, and have carelessly loosened an eyelet, by wrapping the line around the tip, while casting, but I've never busted a rod. I know these rods are expensive, but bite the bullet and buy one. You will never be sorry.
Reviewed by: Palecat (I live to fish)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

I own several of these

2012-06-19T00:07:47

6/19/2012 12:07:47 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own several of these rods and year after year they continue to catch me fish after fish during the summer steelhead run. The tip is so sensitive that the action is great whether your using a spin glow or a spinner. When a Steel-Head strikes these rods adrenaline pumps through your body because it take the rod tip to the water!
Reviewed by: DocterDeer101 (Camas, WA)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Great salmon rod

2012-06-19T00:06:45

6/19/2012 12:06:45 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i used my new lamiglas trolling for salmon off the coast of Washington four days last month and caught several kings up to 40# nad the rod felt and performed excellent.
Great rod
Reviewed by: brentd (idaho falls idaho)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

worth a try

2012-06-19T00:05:18

6/19/2012 12:05:18 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

i bought two Kenai specials 1314t casting rods last September 2010 the black blank rods just fished these rods on the rogue at gold beach cought a 30 pound Chinook had no problem controlling such a strong spirited fish i am only rating this rod 4 stars i still have some more Chinooks to catch not to heavy and not to lite right in the middle for the G1000 series as far as salmon rods go can also handle up to 5 oz of weight trolling love it
Reviewed by: davidboiseid (boise idaho)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

ripping lips in the pacific NW

2012-06-19T00:03:52

6/19/2012 12:03:52 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

purchased the Lamiglas G-1000 series has not let me down pole is sensitive to any strike I went for the med hvy with fast action this pole will not let you down do get out there an rip them lips
Reviewed by: NWlipripper

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Excellent Fishing Rod

2012-06-18T23:30:51

6/18/2012 11:30:51 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Lamiglas makes a fine product, at prices well below Loomis. I purchased this rod ,in a long length and quick action because I want to use it for trout and salmon. I am going to Lake Crowley for the Trout Opener in just a few days. Last year I noticed that often the wind was strong, and casting pretty tough. I believe that this rod will be excellent for increased casting distance on the Lake, as well as trolling. The quick action will provide superb playing of the fairly large trout in Crowley and other lakes. I see it as a multi-purpose rod that will provide a lot of uses. Looks like a real winner
Reviewed by: expert (San Diego, CA)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

World Class fishing action

2012-06-18T23:30:12

6/18/2012 11:30:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own some Loomis blanked rods. The actions are no better for their intended purposes than in my Lamiglas 8'6" 1307 medium salmon rod. This Lamiglas rod is superior to my Cabela's Pro Guide 8'6" medium slamon steelhead rod. Of course, there is a big price difference there, but you''re getting an action that''s as perfect as I have ever experienced. Plus, you get a lifetime warranty and top end Fuji guides. Workmanship is first rate. The guides are about the straightest of any rod that I own. The blank is as straight as an arrow. What I like best is the way it casts and fights fish. It''s perfect in that regard. The only negative I could possibly find with the rod is that the cork isn''t the top grade, but still good cork. However, the shaping, sanding, and filling of the cork pits is first rate. I love to hold this rod and fish with it. I bought this rod to fish for stripers in the Arkansas River where my parents live in Arkansas. I fish below the Jeta-Taylor Lock and Dam. On my first trip out, I caught my limit of stripers, from a wing dam on the river. I guess you could say I was fishing with Lamiglas confidence. Ha! If you are a Loomis fanatic, I would say give Lamiglas a try and you might save some money. They are both based out of the same area in Washington state. Lamiglas G1000 rods have caught more salmon than any rod in the world, and they are perfectly suitable for a lot of other species besides. Since this a two-handed rod, the only kind I use on big rivers, the use of old technology IM6 graphite is not a negative. It''s a little heavier than the newest graphites, but IM6 is very affordable, dependable and tough. The bare sanded blank helps to keep the weight low, and it does not reflect light and sppok fish if fishing salt flats, etc. I have IM6 rods with glossy finishes, and they are not as light and well damped as this G1000 rod. With the lifetime warranty, there is no way you can go wrong.
Reviewed by: DuckView (Montana)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

top grade rod

2012-06-18T23:29:18

6/18/2012 11:29:18 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Lamiglass is a top grade rod. Have a 8' 6" G1000 and am very happy - the action of my rod is slow - so it took me and hour and fifteen to land a 33 pound Mahaseer; fishing with one balanced with a Penn Slammer is bliss. Looking to building one with a faster action.
Reviewed by: Viraj (India)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Kenai Special 8''6" spniing rod

2012-06-18T23:28:40

6/18/2012 11:28:40 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have had this rod for 2 years now - just a great rod. I fish the Salmon River up in Pulaski, NY for king salmon in the fall - last year 2006 landed an 18 1/2 lb. king using 20 lb. mono & my Lamiglas Kenai special spinning rod. I had to cut the but end of the rod - was a little too long for me - just needed to shorten it a bit - rod handles great - awesome sensitivity and a strong rod for fighting king salmon. I like the 8 1/2 foot length - provides a nice cushion for using mono for hard fighting fish. Bringing it up to Pulaski again this year for the kings in the fall.
Reviewed by: fisher (East Hanover, NJ)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

lamaglas Spinning Rod

2012-06-18T23:27:41

6/18/2012 11:27:41 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've had the opportunity to use my new 8 @1/2 ft med/ heavy lamiglas fishing rod for Kings and silvers as well as Pinks.
It has stood up to the heavy fighting of both the Chinook and Coho.
Casting light weight is a snap and I can cover twice the distance I used to get with my old fiberglass spinning rod.
I wouldn't part with this rod for love nor money and will probably purchase a bait casting rod when the opportunity affords me to do so.
Reviewed by: elff (Auburn WA)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

very nice rod

2012-06-18T23:27:03

6/18/2012 11:27:03 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the 9 1/2 foot rod a couple years ago, and am very satisfied with it. The first thing I noticed about it was how light it is, much lighter than my other salmon/steelhead rods. The sensitvity is the other very noticable feature, you can feel every little bump on the river bottom. It is a very "comfortable" rod to fish with.
Reviewed by: fishslayerjoe (Southgate, Mi.)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

verry versitle rod

2012-06-18T23:26:16

6/18/2012 11:26:16 PM

I love this rod. I have caught salmon(silvers, humpies, chum) bass(large mouth, spotted smallmouth) crappie, carp, drum ,sand bass, spotted bass, trout(rainbow, brown, brook cutthroat) bluegill, river sucker, grayling, warmouth bass, and dollies, mostly on 4 lb test line. This rod cast great distance, has the ability to through very light beads,flies lures, and jigs, plus the back bone to land large fish. The quality is great and the fishing options are many with this rod.
Reviewed by: OkieBirdHunter

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Great rod

2012-06-18T23:24:39

6/18/2012 11:24:39 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod, used it in cabo on dorado and pompano. no problems.
Reviewed by: dixon21 (Washington State)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

G1000 for Light Surfing

2012-06-18T23:23:55

6/18/2012 11:23:55 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Given that the usual larger surf targets (stripers, flatfish, etc.) on the CA coastline are not found near reefs and do not run as much as tropical surf varieties the search was for a fast action (up to 1.5 oz lures) stick in the 8'6" to 9" length for light surf fishing. Since all of the surf choices in this length were too heavy for throwing smallish to medium bucktails, spoons, topwater and soft plastics decided on this Lamiglass Steelhead/Salmon rod.
In the few months since, landed a few stripers up to 20 lbs with some surf perch mixed in but nothing else yet. I use it with 10 lbs mono. So far, this rod fits this niche nicely. Hooking up with larger prey is a lot of fun. After surviving the first run or two, the rod allows the angler to control the fish nicely. Rated for 10-20 lbs and should work well with 10-15 lbs test but not sure if I would use it with 20 lbs.
Reviewed by: ulua2stripers (Pacifica, CA)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

G1325

2012-06-18T23:21:42

6/18/2012 11:21:42 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Purchased model G1325 for use on salmon and steelhead. So far, used on pinks and silvers with no complaints. Great rod for the money.
Reviewed by: Seattle Fisher (Seattle, WA)

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

Lamiglas Rod

2012-06-18T23:20:51

6/18/2012 11:20:51 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great !!!!!!
I am excited to catch my trophy!
Reviewed by: Djsmitty74

 
Lamiglas G1000 Series

9''6" Light Spin

2012-06-18T23:18:52

6/18/2012 11:18:52 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

As good as the comparable Loomis with $100 still in your pocket. This is my NW IN Steelheading float rod with a moderate action and more backbone than a noodle rod.
Reviewed by: fisher (Chicago)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Lamiglas G1000 Series Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: