Search

Fenwick :: HMG

 

Fenwick HMG

Overall Customer Rating: 4.55 of 5 stars Fenwick HMG Rods 4.55 out of 5 (22 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Fenwick
Series: Fenwick
Model: HMG

Fenwick HMG models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Flippin' Stik

GT 76XH-T-F

7' 6"

3/8 - 2

12 - 30

Fast

Xtra Heavy

Spinning

GS 56UL-M-2

5' 6"

2

1/16-1/4

1 - 6

Moderate

Ultra Lite

Spinning

GS 66ML-MF-2

6' 6"

2

1/8-5/8

6 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

GS 60UL-M-2

6'

2

1/16-1/4

1 - 6

Moderate

Ultra Lite

Spinning

GS 70ML-MF-2

7'

2

1/8-5/8

6 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

GS 70H-F-2

7'

2

1/4-1 1/4

6 - 20

Fast

Heavy

Spinning

GS 66M-MF-2

6' 6"

2

1/4-3/4

6 - 15

Moderate Fast

Medium

Spinning

GS 70M-M-2

7'

2

1/4-3/4

6 - 15

Moderate Fast

Medium

Spinning

GS 66ML-MF

6' 6"

1

1/8-5/8

6 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

GS 53L-M

5' 3"

1

1/16-3/8

2 - 8

Moderate

Light

Spinning

GS 70MH-MF

7'

1

1/4 - 1

8 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

GS 70ML-F

7'

1

1/8-5/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

GS 60MH-F

6'

1

1/4 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

GS 60ML-MF

6'

1

1/8-5/8

6 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

GS 70M-MF

7'

1

1/4-3/4

6 - 15

Moderate Fast

Medium

Spinning

GS 60M-F

6'

1

1/4-3/4

6 - 15

Fast

Medium

Spinning

GS 49UL-M

4' 9"

1

1/32-1/4

1 - 6

Moderate

Ultra Lite

Spinning

GS 59M-MF

5' 9"

1

1/4-3/4

6 - 15

Moderate Fast

Medium

Spinning

GS 66MH-F

6' 6"

1

1/4 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

GS 66M-MF

6' 6"

1

1/4-3/4

6 - 15

Moderate Fast

Medium

Triggerstik

GT 66MH-MF

6' 6"

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

Triggerstik

GT 60M-MF

6'

1

1/4-3/4

8 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium

Triggerstik

GT 66M-F

6' 6"

1

1/4-7/8

8 - 20

Fast

Medium

Triggerstik

GT 70MH-F

7'

1

3/8-1 1/4

10 - 25

Fast

Medium Heavy

Triggerstik

GT 70M-MF

7'

1

1/4 - 1

8 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium


* All HMG Rods specifications from the official Fenwick catalog. Fenwick reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Fenwick HMG

 
Fenwick HMG

2014-09-23T20:23:37

9/23/2014 8:23:37 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

Good News!
My local retailer found a few HMG MH F 7' rods from his distributor. And it's a good thing because I'm currently on my 4th trade in and another titanium guide BROKE. I've used this stick maybe a half dozen times. It broke on day one of a three day trip to the James River in VA.

So on to Number Five. Hopefully the Chinese have figured out how to manufacture a titanium guide that's not as brittle.

Reviewed by: Birdman (Carolina Coast)

 
Fenwick HMG

Great Warranty

2014-09-01T01:44:35

9/1/2014 1:44:35 AM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

I've been a huge fan of Fenwick rods since I got my first Fenwick as a bday present for my 16th bday in 1973. That 2 piece rod is still in service today with 6 of it's younger brothers. Strong, sensitive, lightweight and reliability are hallmarks of Fenwick.

Until now.

The guides on the 2013 HMG's are defective. I've had 3 break on the stems while casting. Thank goodness Fenwick has a great warranty on the HMG's. If it breaks, take it to ANY Fenwick retailer hand it over, get a new one. The problem is....getting a new one because Fenwick was completely OUT OF STOCK IN JUNE!

Spoke with friends that work in local tackle shops, both report breaking guides is a common problem. Spoke with a professional Fenwick sponsored guide, he echos their analysis. Yet when I call Fenwick and finally get a manager on the phone they act like I'm an isolated case.

That's what bothers me the most. That and the fact that I was told that they wouldn't have any rods in stock until AUGUST, meaning I was out if luck this SUMMER! Fenwick makes rods and they didn't have any during fishing season! That's just crazy! That's what we get now that they're made in China!
They tried to make nice only after I pressed the issue. After 41 years of being a customer I expected more.
Reviewed by: Birdman (Carolina Coast)

 
Fenwick HMG

Perfect Rod

2012-11-20T11:36:38

11/20/2012 11:36:38 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is my favorite rod for light tackle saltwater fishing i use the MH for the bigger snook and smaller tarpon and the M for lighter fishing. Best rod for the money, as good if not better than the G-Loomis rods.
Reviewed by: clayco

 
Fenwick HMG

Best rod I own

2012-11-10T11:15:21

11/10/2012 11:15:21 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a true Fenwick and is my favorite MM 6'6" bass rod! Great quality for price as expected from Fenwick. It is nice and light, well balanced for a med size reel, great feel and thinner then some med size rods. If you don't own one of these then you should go to a store that carries one and just hold it in your hand. If you don't feel the urge to buy one right after it must be because you lost your wallet.
Reviewed by: jimmi (Northern, NJ)

 
Fenwick HMG

2012-11-07T12:39:40

11/7/2012 12:39:40 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased this rod specifically for Walleye fishing, it has a great feel and is well balanced with my reel. The sensitivity is superb and it has enough backbone to fight the big ones. I couldn't be happier with this rod. I am actually awaiting delivery of two more 6'6" HMG spinning rods. I would recommend this product to anyone that wants a great rod at a great price!
Reviewed by: Billybass

 
Fenwick HMG

2012-11-06T12:39:01

11/6/2012 12:39:01 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Terrific action rod - love the feel of a fish hitting the bait. Quick tip is superb!
Will buy another Fenwick!
Reviewed by: fenw

 
Fenwick HMG

2012-10-26T15:48:08

10/26/2012 3:48:08 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The older HMG rod series has been a very good product. We have used them and are quite satisfied with the performance.
We landed a large 6 pound bass on the GT60MH combined with a Quantum tour pt bait casting reel with 10 lb Triliene Fluro.
The older remaining stock of HMG rods have cork handles and it appears the newer replacement rods have a cork mix with composition materials to make the handle less slick.
Reviewed by: fishboy (Ohio)

 
Fenwick HMG

Great pole

2012-08-24T11:14:38

8/24/2012 11:14:38 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I brought the HMG 66 M pole after owning two Fenwick lightweight Iron Hawk poles. It turned out to be the best choice I could have made. I paired the rod with a Fenwick supreme and omg what an incredible set up. I fish 3/4 times a week and have no problem fishing for 8 hours at a clip and this pole is so light and so much fun to cast my aim is just as good at the end of the day as in the beginning. Now landing a fish wow you could feel the tail wiggle so so fun. I landed more fish this past week end and chuckled on every cast my aim was dead on. The pole has a great back one and sensitive even the lightest of bites can be felt. Going back to get another pole for the husband I let him try it for an hour and he understood why I was smiling all day. Unbelievable pole. Just hole the pole in you hand and you will be sold. Highly recommend
Reviewed by: Kkitten (Hudson valley ny)

 
Fenwick HMG

a very good rod

2012-07-18T11:13:41

7/18/2012 11:13:41 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The rod works good on trout, bass, pike, musky, walleyes with power pro line
Reviewed by: buckman

 
Fenwick HMG

great rod

2012-06-15T11:12:39

6/15/2012 11:12:39 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 6'6" ML/MF and I love it. I've had it about a year now and have nothing but good thing to say about it. I paired it with a 2500 series shimano stradic and use it for the bulk of my fishing, trout, LMB and river smallies it is very sensitive and handles them all. I see another one in my near future.
Reviewed by: smalfishing (colorado)

 
Fenwick HMG

Quality

2012-05-07T11:11:45

5/7/2012 11:11:45 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have had Fenwick rods all my life...and this one will not disappoint.
Sensitive tip and good backbone, perfect for trolling for walleyes.
Reviewed by: baydenoc (Wisconsin)

 
Fenwick HMG

Great rods

2012-05-04T15:46:56

5/4/2012 3:46:56 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I go and do lots of salmon fishing in Alaska. This rod will for surely surprise you. I went fishing Chinook salmon and this rod made pulling the salmon easy. I managed to land a 45 pounder and the rod showed no flaws. I also love how they have a life time warranty. Even though they are expensive they are well worth the money!
Reviewed by: MountainMan (Canada, Yukon)

 
Fenwick HMG

HMG Spinning Rods

2012-04-10T11:09:04

4/10/2012 11:09:04 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Purchased a 7 foot rod as a new light walleye rod. After using many rods right in this price point by just about every company out there, I was especially happy with this rod.
It feels lighter than other rods at this price point, whether it actually is or not. It also lacks the clumsy feel that is characteristic of other similar rods.
The grip on these rods has held up well so far, and also shows dirt less than other grips. Guides have held up so far.
My only complaint, and it really isn't one, is that the tip isn't as fast as other rods that I own. Still, all things considered I consider this to be a great rod at this price point, and I will buy another in the future.
Reviewed by: ShooterPerson (United States, Minnesota)

 
Fenwick HMG

Cork, cork and cork

2012-04-06T11:10:52

4/6/2012 11:10:52 AM 2 of 5 stars 2 out of 5 stars

I was considering buying a HMG. I thought because of the slighter higher price it might be a better quality rod.
I have two Fenwicks sitting in the back of the garage, a Eagle GT and a HMX. The rods are really nice. Light weight, very sensitive and durable EXCEPT for the cork handles. I like the feel when using a cork handle but the two rods I have had the cork break apart. I'm not in the business of rebuilding rods so these 2 rods are dead weight.
Now that I am thinking while writing this I am going to skip with Fenwick and go for another brand.
Reviewed by: EagleBob (United States, New Jersey)

 
Fenwick HMG

AWESOME!

2012-02-17T15:46:07

2/17/2012 3:46:07 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have rediscovered Fenwick and it feels great! I got the 7' Medium power/ Moderate fast action for crankbaits and it is the best deal on the market! You aren't going to find a better rod at this price point and the model I have is a steal for a quality cranbait rod and a lifetime warranty on top is just icing on the cake! Get one!
Reviewed by: smalljaw (Minersville,PA)

 
Fenwick HMG

great rod

2011-11-30T11:36:03

11/30/2011 11:36:03 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i actually like the seats i like how sturdy the rod feels in my hands an overall great rod
Reviewed by: liv2phish (Green bay,WI)

 
Fenwick HMG

serves it''s purpose

2011-11-22T10:45:30

11/22/2011 10:45:30 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I am a budget bass fisherman and try to find the best value for my hard earned money. I needed a new flippin' rod and preferably a 7'6". I bought the 7' 6" GT 76 XH-F-T and love it. It may be a little tip heavy, or heavy in general, but an extra heavy 7" 6" is going to be a little heavier, no matter what rod you buy. When extended it locks down great, and the tip is soft enough for a great pitching rod, with just a ploop instead of a big splash at the end of a pitch. I also, wanted a rod to serve multiple purposes, and the XH and softer tip makes a good frog throwin' rod over grass mats, and backbone to put the hook to em' too. I think I did my homework by searching other rod manufactures, and 7'6" rods don't appear to be that common, or I didn't like the components with them, or they were just plain to pricey. I have used Fenwick rods for years, though not exclusively, and they have served me well. I also, wasn't sure about a telescopic rod, but I convinced myself since I only have a 15 ft. boat, and it would be convenient when fishing in someone elses boat to store easily
Reviewed by: USFisher (Rowlett, Texas)

 
Fenwick HMG

Great rod

2011-09-18T15:44:15

9/18/2011 3:44:15 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I love Fenwick Rods. I own 7 of the new HMG's and love the feel of the new handle and also how they never went to the split handle. They are a well balanced, sensitive, and strong rod. I use them for mostly bass fishing but have handled a 44 lbs Musky with ease.
It my first choice of rods atleast all price ranges.
Reviewed by: PJNOLL

 
Fenwick HMG

LOVE IT

2010-11-25T11:35:19

11/25/2010 11:35:19 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I matched up the 5'9"L with a new Pflueger President XT 6730XT and this is my new favorite combo. The weight and balance are perfect. The overall finish of this rod is as good as any rod at any price.
I bought this rig for trout and bass and it's the perfect bank fishing outfit, it's so light you can carry it around all day.
The deep red finish on both rod and reel didn't hurt either...it brought out lots of "oohs and ahs" from my fishing buddies.
I have large hands too and find no real issue with the grip. It feels like you would expect on a light weight rod. I wear an XXL golf glove, if that helps.
Reviewed by: Rhatt (WVA)

 
Fenwick HMG

Ok Rod For The Money

2010-08-22T15:43:30

8/22/2010 3:43:30 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Good bang for the buck. Four stars because the placement of the hook keeper is where i rest my thumb at times.
Very anoying and uncomfortable. Will have to modify.
Reviewed by: Gdrifter (United States, New York)

 
Fenwick HMG

Tuff Rod

2009-07-24T11:33:59

7/24/2009 11:33:59 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the med-Heavy spinning rod. I fished this rod 4 days in Canada tossing weedless mice and frogs. Casts a mile and enough backbone to keep big bassup on top of the pads once hooked. I believe I can move almost any fish from any cover with this rod.
Reviewed by: Sampson (New Jersey)

 
Fenwick HMG

fenwick hmg

2009-06-15T11:32:55

6/15/2009 11:32:55 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i have had this rod for 3 years, it is incredibly sensitive and light but has great strength. it was the best rod i had ever had until i was casting a spinnerbait, and it snapped in half.
Reviewed by: NJbassmaster

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Fenwick HMG Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: