Search

Fenwick :: HMX

 

Fenwick HMX

Overall Customer Rating: 4.2 of 5 stars Fenwick HMX Rods 4.2 out of 5 (10 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Fenwick
Series: Fenwick
Model: HMX

Fenwick HMX models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

HMX-C66MH-MF

6'6"

1

1/4 - 1 1/4

10 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

Casting

HMX-C76XH-F

7'0"

1

1/4 - 1 1/4

10 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

Casting

HMX-C60M-F

6'0"

1

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 20

Fast

Medium

Casting

HMX-C70M-F

7'0"

1

1/8 - 5/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Casting

HMX-C66M-F

6'6"

1

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 20

Fast

Medium

Casting

HMX-C70ML-F

7'0"

1

1/8 - 5/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Casting

HMX-C70MH-MF

7'0"

1

1/4 - 1 1/4

10 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

HMX-S53L-M

5'3"

1

1/16 - 3/8

2 - 8

Moderate

Light

Spinning

HMX-S662L-M

6'6"

2

1/16 - 3/8

2 - 8

Moderate

Light

Spinning

HMX-S66M-F

6'6"

1

1/8 - 3/4

4 - 12

Fast

Medium

Spinning

HMX-S70M-F

7'0"

1

1/8 - 3/4

4 - 12

Fast

Medium

Spinning

HMX-S610MH-F

6'10"

1

1/4 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

HMX-S662MH-F

6'6"

2

1/4 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

HMX-S762L-F

7'6"

2

1/16 - 3/8

2 - 8

Fast

Light

Spinning

HMX-S662ML-MF

6'6"

2

1/8 - 5/8

4 - 10

Moderate Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

HMX-S60ML-M

6'0"

1

1/8 - 5/8

4 - 10

Moderate

Medium Light

Spinning

HMX-S662M-F

6'6"

2

1/8 - 3/4

4 - 12

Fast

Medium

Spinning

HMX-S66ML-F

6'6"

1

1/8 - 5/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

HMX-S70ML-F

7'6"

1

1/8 - 5/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

HMX-S562UL-MF

5'3"

1

1/16 - 3/8

2 - 8

Moderate

Light

Spinning

HMX-S602L-MF

6'0"

2

1/16 - 3/8

2 - 8

Moderate

Light

Spinning

HMX-S60M-F

6'0"

1

1/8 - 3/4

4 - 12

Fast

Medium

Spinning

HMX-S702M-XF

7'0"

2

1/8 - 3/4

4 - 12

Extra Fast

Medium


* All HMX Rods specifications from the official Fenwick catalog. Fenwick reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Fenwick HMX

 
Fenwick HMX

Love my Fenwicks

2014-12-02T13:27:40

12/2/2014 1:27:40 PM

I own 3 Fenwicks, a 6'8 Aetos MH spinning, 7ft Eagle GT med. Spinning, and a HMX 6'0 Med Casting rods. I LOVE Fenwick. My casting rod guide seating started to unravel after 10 years of tournament fishing. I called Fenwick Pure Fishing, and emailed them a picture. The warranty on this rod expired years ago, Fenwick offered me a replacement brand new rod at a 45% discount and even allowed me to choose a different action, power, and length. I'm Impressed.
Reviewed by: Layne Bellamy (St.Paul,MN.)

 
Fenwick HMX

Fenwick HMX

2012-11-20T11:27:55

11/20/2012 11:27:55 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own a 6 ft. medium in this rod it has great control and hooking power you have to feel to understand! I fish bass in small ponds and lakes with poppers and this rod can hang onto a fish thats 1 pound or 6 pounds. This rod fits my kind of fishing to the key! great strong rod for a small price. You just cant go wrong with this rod!
Reviewed by: tmalski (Florissant, Mo)

 
Fenwick HMX

HMX 5''3'' trout rod

2012-11-02T12:34:02

11/2/2012 12:34:02 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I like this rod. They are both very nice, this is lighter and great for 4# or 6# line. It tosses spinners great. i use it on an Okuma Alumina reel with 4#. I will upgrade to the Aveon 15 and be in trout heaven. Outstanding value! You feel it when a small trout turns it's head, and that's what it's all about. Outstanding affordable sensitivity.
Reviewed by: Jeff

 
Fenwick HMX

Very satisfied

2012-09-30T11:27:18

9/30/2012 11:27:18 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the 4'9" ultralight version of the HMX about a month ago and so far I absolutely love it! It's lightweight and sensitive. I also really like that it has coaster rings so the reel can be placed where the user deems it most comfortable
Reviewed by: jse (Myerstown, PA)

 
Fenwick HMX

2012-08-28T11:26:42

8/28/2012 11:26:42 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

best rod ever period
Reviewed by: iam a boss (sebring, OH)

 
Fenwick HMX

great rod

2011-11-07T11:25:55

11/7/2011 11:25:55 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have 1 venture, 1 eagle, and 4 hmx rods and never has one broke or given me any issues. I fish from perch to salmon.
great rods!
Reviewed by: emma (Holland ,MI)

 
Fenwick HMX

My go to rods

2011-11-04T11:20:34

11/4/2011 11:20:34 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I usually carry 6 rods in the boat. 4 of the rods are 6' 6". Since I purchased the 2 Fenwick 6' 6" HMX spinning rods (1 medium light and 1 medium), these have become my go to rods. They are much lighter then the 2 lite ugly stiks I have in the boat and still use on occasion (both ugly stiks are medium). Therefore, I can fish longer without getting worn out. The Fenwick rods cost a little more, but are well worth it. I retired 2 real old junkie type cheap 6' 6" rods when the Fenwick rods arrived.
Reviewed by: ECSFLORIDA (United States, Florida)

 
Fenwick HMX

hmx series

2011-10-17T11:25:03

10/17/2011 11:25:03 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I do a lot of bass fishing on the juniata river in the summer months and this rod is perfect. The HMX66M-F has the stiffness of a heavier rod but tappers down to a sensitive tip that is perfect for catching smallmouth.
I am very pleased with this rod and would recommend this to anyone!
Reviewed by: steiny

 
Fenwick HMX

Worst quality ever

2011-09-11T11:24:12

9/11/2011 11:24:12 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

This one of the more expensive rods I have purchased for myself. This rod is of the poorest quality I have ever owned. Used it three times and it broke right in half today while landing a small 2 lb bass. Literally snapped right in half. Unbelievable
Reviewed by: MichiganJunior (Michigan)

 
Fenwick HMX

Great Rods! Great Value!

2011-07-08T11:23:28

7/8/2011 11:23:28 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The two 7' medium-weight spinning rods I bought on clearance go with my HMX baitcasting rod. I am sorry to hear they've been discontinued, because I would buy more to replace three other brand rods. Wonderful action with 6 pound line on the smallmouth and spotted bass.
Reviewed by: FlyFisherin

 
Fenwick HMX

Very Disappointed

2011-05-06T11:22:13

5/6/2011 11:22:13 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

I read in another review of this rod that it was being discontinued. Good. I purchased the 7" 2 piece spinning rod some time ago, but didn't use it until this past summer. My complaint is that the stripper guide is either a 20 or 22 millimeter. I noticed very poor casting the very first time I used it. Couldn't cast a 1/6 oz. Rooster Tail at all. That's when I noticed the VERY undersized stipper guide. I have 7 ft. spinning rods by St. Croix, Shakespear, Penn, Daiwa and others. NOBODY uses a 20 as a stripper guide. All are 30 or better. I don't know what a high class (and price) company like Fenwick was thinking when they designed this rod, but all I can say is BAD DESIGN fenwick.
Reviewed by: Bucktail (United States, Pennsylvania)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Fenwick HMX Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: