Search

Fenwick :: HMX Steelhead

 

Fenwick HMX Steelhead

Overall Customer Rating: 4.86 of 5 stars Fenwick HMX Steelhead Rods 4.86 out of 5 (7 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Fenwick
Series: Fenwick
Model: HMX Steelhead

Fenwick HMX Steelhead models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

HMX-C1062M-F

10'6"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Fast

Medium

Casting

HMX-C1062MH-M

10'6"

2

3/8 - 2

12 - 25

Moderate

Medium Heavy

Casting

HMX-C86XH-M

8'6"

1

14 - 20

80 - 150

Moderate

Extra Heavy

Casting

HMX-M1062H-XF

10'6"

2

1 - 4

20 - 30

Extra Fast

Heavy

Casting

HMX-M1062M-MF

10'6"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium

Casting

HMX-C102XH-MF

10'0"

2

2 - 6

17 - 80

Moderate Fast

Extra Heavy

Casting

HMX-C992ML-MF

9'9"

2

1/4 - 3/4

6 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium Light

Casting

HMX-C892M-F

8'9"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 20

Fast

Medium

Casting

HMX-C1102MH-M

11'0"

2

3/8 - 2 1/2

12 - 25

Moderate

Medium Heavy

Casting

HMX-C862MH-F

8'6"

2

1/2 - 1 1/2

10 - 20

MH

Medium Heavy

Casting

HMX-M1062MH-M

10'6"

2

3/8 - 2 1/2

12 - 25

Moderate

Medium Heavy

Casting

HMX-C902MH-M

9'0"

2

3/8 - 3

12 - 30

Moderate

Medium Heavy

Casting

HMX-C902MH-F

9'0"

2

1 - 2 1/2

15 - 30

Fast

Medium Heavy

Casting

HMX-C862M-MF

8'6"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium

Casting

HMX-C1162H-XF

11'6"

2

1 - 4

15 - 30

Extra Fast

Heavy

Casting

HMX-C902M-M

9'0"

2

1/4 - 1 1/4

8 - 15

Moderate

Medium

Spinning

HMX-S1262RXL-M

12'6"

2

1/16 - 5/8

4 - 10

Moderate

Extra Light

Spinning

HMX-S902M-M

9'0"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium

Spinning

HMX-S902ML-F

9'0"

2

1/4 - 5/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

HMX-S962L-MF

9'6"

2

1/4 - 5/8

4 - 10

Moderate Fast

Light

Spinning

HMX-S902GL-M

9'0"

2

1/16 - 3/8

2 - 8

Moderate

Light

Spinning

HMX-S832GML-F

8'3"

2

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 17

Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

HMX-S962M-MF

9'6"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium

Spinning

HMX-S1062GXL-M

9'6"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium

Spinning

HMX-S862L-MF

8'6"

2

3/16 - 1/2

4 - 15

Moderate Fast

Light

Spinning

HMX-S902GM-M

9'0"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 25

Moderate

Medium

Spinning

HMX-S1062XL-M

10'6"

2

1/16 - 5/8

2 - 10

Moderate

Extra Light

Spinning

HMX-S862XL-M

8'6"

2

1/16 - 5/8

4 - 10

Moderate

Extra Light

Spinning

HMX-S962XL-M

9'6"

2

1/16 - 5/8

2 - 6

Moderate

Extra Light


* All HMX Steelhead Rods specifications from the official Fenwick catalog. Fenwick reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Fenwick HMX Steelhead

 
Fenwick HMX Steelhead

8''6" 4-15 light action spinning rod

2013-02-17T10:17:53

2/17/2013 10:17:53 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've had this rod for a few seasons now and absolutely love it. It's sensitive enough for tossing small spoons & spinners for trout in lakes and strong enough that i've put it up against king salmon in the river. Probly the most versital rod i've come across. Absolutely love it!
Reviewed by: Chuck (NW, WA)

 
Fenwick HMX Steelhead

fenwick salmon rods

2012-11-19T14:11:30

11/19/2012 2:11:30 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have used fenwick products all my life. I think this product is simply the best. The craftsmanship and quality of the rod is second to none.
Reviewed by: kunedog (oakley, CA)

 
Fenwick HMX Steelhead

Excellent for Steelhead

2012-11-15T14:09:08

11/15/2012 2:09:08 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I used the 9' spinning rod on my steelhead fishing trip last weekend and slammed the fish! The rod performed well above my expectations. I could feel even the slightest hits on my line. I even landed a 11 lb steelhead with ease using this rod. The only possible downside I noticed with my rod was the reel holder came a little loose during heavy fighting but that may be normal. I love this rod and will be purchasing several more!
Reviewed by: ltbiblis (Columbus,OH)

 
Fenwick HMX Steelhead

Very Nice rod

2012-11-10T14:08:11

11/10/2012 2:08:11 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I have the 9' MH, 10-20#, and have been using it for over two months of 2X weekly seashore casting, throwing typically 1 1/2 oz buzzbombs. I chose this because it is a faster blank, and the Cennan 9' was sold out.
The blank is faster than medium speed in action... very nice. Total control & confidence. Great sensitivity, superb castability. Light and a very comfortable grip. The reel is an Ambassadeur 6600 C5, and because of the steel guide rings, I'm using 25# Excalibre mono rather than braids.
Finish quality is well above average.
Regrettably I have caught dozens of very small fish rather than the 20#-40# I'm hunting, but the good news is I felt every nibble and only missed a very few hooksets, which were my fault.
Oddly, the blank is not straight, but slightly cock-eyed. That's the star demerit. The steel guide rings as a rule are not what I prefer for braids due to noise, but I had planned mono lines for this rod so that's not an issue for me.
And, I do prefer a longer foregrip, but that's a personal preference thing, which I already knew when I bought it.
It is a great value for a great rod. I suggest checking the blank for straightness, but it still performs very well, and I can confidently say you would be very happy with this rod for salmon, steelhead, stripers or large Northerns/Musky. It's light, feels great, casts very long and well and has the sensitivity you want for light biters.
Reviewed by: cliffjumper (Vancouver Island)

 
Fenwick HMX Steelhead

GREAT STRIPER ROD

2012-11-08T14:06:52

11/8/2012 2:06:52 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

THE ONE ON THE BOTTOM WITH THE 15-30 POUND RATING IS AN AWESOME STRIPER ROD IT IS STRONG ENOUGH TO TROLL FOR STRIPER AND OTHER SIMILAR SPECIES YET IT IS SENSITIVE ENOUGR TO FISH FOR FLOUNDER AND SMALL WEAKFISH. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR THE ROD THAT CAN DO IT ALL YOU JUST FOUND IT, IT IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Reviewed by: CHUNKER (New Jersey)

 
Fenwick HMX Steelhead

Inshore / surf casting

2012-11-01T14:06:09

11/1/2012 2:06:09 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I use the 8'6" MH rod for the beach,believe it or not.I teamed it with a new Shimano Citica DI 200 DSV.The casting distance is incredible! I outcasted people with regular surf casting gear by 20-30 yards.I was using an X-Rap 12(7/8 oz.)against their 4 0z. + live and cut bait rigs!It resisted the saltwater admirably, having the SS 304 stainless/hard chromium guides.I've never fished for salmon or steelhead, but it brought in 6-8 lb. blues and one 24" red without breaking a sweat!I have also used it for fishing Carolina rigs deep and works well in that capacity also.
Reviewed by: fishk (Atlanta GA)

 
Fenwick HMX Steelhead

Salmon Rod

2011-11-23T14:05:12

11/23/2011 2:05:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This fenwick salmon/steelhead casting rod is superb in quality and I will enjoy it for many more years to come.
Reviewed by: NicholasM (Northern CA)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Fenwick HMX Steelhead Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: