Search

G. Loomis :: BASS :: Jig & Worm

 

G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Overall Customer Rating: 4.82 of 5 stars G. Loomis Jig & Worm Rods 4.82 out of 5 (28 Reviews)
Manufacturer: G. Loomis
Series: BASS
Model: Jig & Worm

G. Loomis Jig & Worm models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

BCR 663 MossyBack

5' 6"

1

5/16 - 5/8

12 - 16

Extra Fast

Extra Heavy

BCR 802 MossyBack

6' 8"

1

1/8 - 3/8

10 - 14

Extra Fast

Medium Heavy

BCR 803 MossyBack

6' 8"

1

3/16 - 5/8

12 - 16

Extra Fast

Medium

BCR 804 MossyBack

6' 8"

1

5/16 - 3/4

14 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

BSR 801 MossyBack

6' 8"

1

1/16 - 3/16

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

BSR 802 MossyBack

6' 8"

1

1/8 - 1/4

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium

BSR 803 MossyBack

6' 8"

1

1/8 - 5/16

8 - 14

Extra Fast

Medium Heavy

BCR 852 MossyBack

7' 1"

1

1/8 - 3/8

10 - 14

Extra Fast

Medium

BCR 853 MossyBack

7' 1"

1

3/16 - 5/8

12 - 16

Extra Fast

Medium Heavy

BCR 854 MossyBack

7' 1"

1

5/16 - 3/4

14 - 20

Fast

Heavy

BCR 855 MossyBack

7' 1"

1

1/4 - 1

17 - 25

Fast

Extra Heavy


* All Jig & Worm Rods specifications from the official G. Loomis catalog. G. Loomis reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis Jig & Worm

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Great Rod

2012-10-18T10:43:38

10/18/2012 10:43:38 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have purchased a few G-loomis rods in the past, each one getting more expensive in price. My last purchase was item number 38-153-276-00 for finesse jigging with 1/16 oz. jigs. The rods strong point is the sensitivity, even in a wind, you can still detect small strikes. When I first took it out I was amazed to feel the fish picking up the jig while it was sliding off a dropoff to deeper water. The rods downside is that you pay so much for it, your worried about it getting scratched or beat up. That is why I would also suggest buying a rod sock at the same time.
Reviewed by: SmallPondDave (Long Island)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

mossyback

2012-10-18T10:42:57

10/18/2012 10:42:57 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have had this rod for a year now and it's by far my favorite rod. i also have 2 other Loomis rods a st croix legend tournament and a daiwa steez and this is the only rod i have NEVER lost a fish with it's a bsr 803 mossyback paired up w/a pfluger supreme 8030 spinning reel . a very light and sensitive setup.
Reviewed by: bronzeback (waltham ma)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

great tube rods

2012-10-18T10:41:59

10/18/2012 10:41:59 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I use the 7'1" M for throwing tubes in Lake Erie. This is my "go to" tube rod for Small mouth because the added length allows me to cast farther in the clear waters of Lake Erie. Plus this rod is rediculously sensitive! I can feel the fish breath on my lure in 30 feet of water, it is incredible. It is super light, super strong, and will handle any smallie pulling its heart out! Great rod!
Reviewed by: RBKING (Ontario, Canada)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

mossyback

2012-10-18T10:41:07

10/18/2012 10:41:07 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome rod. This is number 6 in my Loomis arsenal. My first mossyback. Light, Strong,and,Sensitive. Amazing
Reviewed by: tloru (Dunmore,Pa)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Excellent rod

2012-10-18T10:40:10

10/18/2012 10:40:10 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Bought this rod specifically to fish weightless stick baits and am very pleased. The rod is extremely light and sensitive with plenty of power to fish in heavy weeds.
Reviewed by: fisherman (SE. VA)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Another great g loomis rod!

2012-10-18T10:39:04

10/18/2012 10:39:04 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I already had a Bronzeback paired with a Stradic CI4 reel that I absolutely love and this rod is as loveable if not more so. Seems to have a little more backbone. But they are both light, awesome and with incredibly great feel.
Reviewed by: kennyop (Utah)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Mossyback Spinning Rod BSR802

2012-10-17T22:17:04

10/17/2012 10:17:04 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod for fishing ponds. Very sensitive and plenty of power.Perfect for tubes in the spring!
Reviewed by: IAPONDHOPPER

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Great Rod

2012-10-17T22:16:31

10/17/2012 10:16:31 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Very light, very powerful, and sensitive. Almost as good as the much more expensive GLX. The blank is a beautiful green color rather than the matte black as listed in the description
Reviewed by: DavidLee

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Another great G.Loomis rod!

2012-10-17T22:15:52

10/17/2012 10:15:52 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I find this to be a great rod. I've had a few rods of quality but, this by far is the best yet. Smooth fast action with a great back bone. I can't say enough about it. Its also so light you can cast all day without a problem. I use rubber 75% and I now can pickup the slightest bite with this rod. If your a fan of rubber lures then this is the rod to get! Spend the money, its worth it.
Reviewed by: PAfishingaddict (Levittown, PA)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Mossyback 802

2012-10-17T22:15:07

10/17/2012 10:15:07 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I picked up the Mossyback 802 spinning rod for fishing lighter baits such as Shad Raps, floating minnows, tubes and other light baits.
The rating on this rod says "Fast Action" which would seem not so good for treble hook baits, but the tip is soft enough for shad raps and other small crankbaits that can't be cast on a baitcasting outfit due to their weight. The rod loads up nicely with the SR5 and SR7 shad raps and casts small floating jerkbaits perfectly. I married this rod up with a Shimano Stradic MG 2500 reel and its balanced very well.
Overall, I really like this rod for the above mentioned applications. For the money, I don't think you could find another rod that is comparable, not to mention the lifetime warranty and quality customer service you get from G Loomis.
Reviewed by: Tocoba

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

G.Loomis Mossyback Rod

2012-10-17T22:14:24

10/17/2012 10:14:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is my second G. Loomis Mossyback. I absolutely love this rod! Great action. I've caught trout, bass and stripers with it (what fun!).
I can't believe I waited this long to try a G. Loomis. When I need another rod I will definitely buy another.
Reviewed by: Tym (MA)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

BSR 801 6-10 light action

2012-10-17T22:13:28

10/17/2012 10:13:28 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The main reason I bought this rod was because it has the real seat more forward than the spinning series and my Stella 2500 is a perfect match. It balances so much better than on my 6'6 medium spinning rod I am probably going to sell it.
The rod is perfect for smaller to medium sized worms, grubs, creature baits and spinners. Will cast nicely with 1/16 oz lead bullet and finess worm or grub. Top half of the rod is light action to work the small stuff and bottom half is all backbone which is awesome to say the least. This model could probably handle 12 lb line...15 might be pushin it as long as you don't lock down your drag.
One of the best aspects is that this rod is light and does not weigh you down and catching the smaller guys will not feel like your winching them in and you can have some fun.
Reviewed by: Guamfish (Central Texas)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

G.Loomis Mossyback Rod

2012-10-17T20:56:36

10/17/2012 8:56:36 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have only had the chance to use this rod one time but was very impressed with its performance. Only one fish so far but I can tell there are a lot more to come. Thank you G.Loomis for making the pest fishing rods on the market.
Reviewed by: SloanDog (Santa Rosa, CA)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Excellent

2012-10-17T20:55:47

10/17/2012 8:55:47 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is excellent for light jigs and texas rigs.
Reviewed by: GregF (California)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

The Best Rods that I''ve Fished!

2012-10-17T20:54:33

10/17/2012 8:54:33 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I put off buying Loomis rods way too long. I practiced fished with a pro before the Bassmaster Open at Santee Cooper last May. He had a deck full of Loomis rods paired with the Shimano Chronarch Mg's. This combination weighs about what a normal reel alone weighs - or less. I bought two of the setups (Worm and Jig Mossyback Loomis rod with the Mg). These rods load easy but with a substantial backbone. I cast a lot more accurately. You really can tell every little rock, limb, and bite. I also have the MH Carolina rig Mossyback rod and will never go back! With a 3/4 oz. weight, you feel everything and can set the hook well with the 7'3" length. The GLX is a great rod, but the Mossyback is just as sensitive and almost as light, and is a bit easier on the budget. Buy one!
Reviewed by: Afishman (Fishing Falls in Raleigh, NC)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Mossback Rods by G-Loomis

2012-10-17T20:52:14

10/17/2012 8:52:14 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased a 7'1" Heavy action mossyback rod. I compared it to my Light and Tough Dawai rod in my back yard by flipping targets that were on the grass. You can really feel the difference through the handle of the sensitivity. For $60.00 more, this rod is now a no brainer. I currently own GLX Loomis rods (their top of the line) and the mossback is a great bargain for the price. I plan on buying more!
Reviewed by: kevin (Bellevue, WA.)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

BCR 803

2012-10-17T20:51:21

10/17/2012 8:51:21 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Superb fishing pole. One of the best Ive ever used, I have the exact same rod (size, weight and action) in the GLX blank, and they are almost identical. The GLX is slightly lighter which means more sensitivity, but this rod is probably the best rod you can buy for the money. I went from a Shimano Crucial to this rod and was amazed. When fishing a jig, i will often land on a rock and mistake it for a strike because it is so sensitive. The rod also looks great, with a nice compressed cork butt cap and a beautiful moss green finish. This rod will absolutely amaze you.
Reviewed by: PatrickAT (San Diego, CA)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

G. Loomis Mossyback

2012-10-17T20:50:28

10/17/2012 8:50:28 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod! Wish I'd bought it a long time ago. Just as good as the Loomis GLX's I already own.
Reviewed by: Happybasser (South Central Louisiana)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

What a rod

2012-10-17T20:49:22

10/17/2012 8:49:22 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is the perfect balance of price versus components and wormanship. I tried the GLX and frankly I have not had much luck with the quality of those rods.
I have tried and returned 4 glx rods (guides not straight, thread not wound well, epoxy looks terrible, etc) before getting the mossyback.
The mossybacks I have are virtually perfect in every way.
Strange the cheaper models are built better... at least from my experience.
Reviewed by: dan (TN)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

G. loomis mossyback

2012-10-17T20:48:39

10/17/2012 8:48:39 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Nice stick, Used 50lb Power Pro and a 1/2 oz tungston weight.
Pitches a tube or creature nice. Didn't hurt that I caught 50+ largemouth the first time out. No problem pulling them out of the thick milfoil.
Reviewed by: Raiserdog (Western NY)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

G.Loomis Mossyback Casting Rod

2012-10-17T20:47:49

10/17/2012 8:47:49 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great rod that I would highly recommend to any one. Loomis makes the best you can buy IMO.
Reviewed by: Hunt22 (NE)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

G-Loomis Mossyback, who needs 500 rods!

2012-10-17T20:44:59

10/17/2012 8:44:59 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I currently have 3 Mossybacks and I love them. For the cost, they are an excellent choice. Especially since they are still made in the USA which seems to be rare nowadays. The strength and sensitvity of these rods is impressive, espcially the MBR 855 which I use for heavy jigs. You can feel a fish tap your bait in the thick cover, and in the swamps that I fish, its necessary. So give these rods a try, I think you will find they are an important tool in your quest for big fish.
Reviewed by: SmallPondDave (NY)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

BCR853

2012-10-17T20:27:38

10/17/2012 8:27:38 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I have the 7'1" rod in 3 power that I use for 1/4 ounce bass jigs, and texas rigged worms with 1/8 - 1/4 ounce weights mostly. I have used larger jigs and worms also on occasion.
I like this rod because of it's light weight and sensitivity. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I don''t think it is enough better than an IMX model to warrant the price difference.
Reviewed by: Camden (Clinton, MO)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Fitst use of G Loomis Jig''N Worm Casting Rod

2012-10-17T20:26:56

10/17/2012 8:26:56 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

This rod broke 8" down from top on first use on a 7# bass at Lake Comedero.
Reviewed by: BradN (Portland, Oregon)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Fantastic-The Best of the Best

2012-10-17T20:25:55

10/17/2012 8:25:55 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Incredible sensitivity. Perfect balance. Feather weight. Correct harmony between hair trigger tip and strong butt. I have fished this rod since it came out a few years ago and landed thousands of largemouth bass on them. I own Kistler Helium 2, St. Croix Legend Elite, and other high-end rods and love them. I fish them side-by-side and believe they are awesome products. But the 6'8" 12-16 lb. BCR 803 is the day-to-day most comfortable, best performing, go-to rod in my box. Some of my other rods may slightly edge past the 803 in one area (My Kistlers are a tiny bit more sensitive and the St. Croix's are one or two tenths of an ounce lighter). But the G Loomis BCR 803 GLX is the whole package and the top producer.
I am surprised another reviewer had breakage issues. While I have had the lower line crankbait series blow up on me twice while fighting a fish, I have never had a rod failure in the GLX line. I have horsed fish into my boat hundreds of time with no problems. GLoomis also took care of me on the crankbait series breaks.
Would I recommend this to a friend? In a heartbeat and without reservations.
Reviewed by: CSCBowHunter (OR)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

GLX 803 jig''n worm rod

2012-10-17T20:25:06

10/17/2012 8:25:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is a great rod if you can get over the price. I love G. Loomis rods and wouldn't use anything else. I fish bass tournaments and these rods are the most sensitive I have used.
Reviewed by: DVL (Southern California)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

G Loomis Jig N Worm

2012-10-17T20:24:26

10/17/2012 8:24:26 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own 4 of these rods 852, 853, 854, 802. These are the best rods on the market. Super lightweight, super sensitive you will not be unsatisfied, plus they have a lifetime warranty what more could you ask for.
Reviewed by: stratos200 (Cookeville, Tn)

 
G. Loomis Jig & Worm

Glx BR802 Jig N Casting Rod

2012-10-17T20:23:46

10/17/2012 8:23:46 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is an awesome rod. I have 5 G'Loomis rods and this is my favorite. It is so sensitive that you really can feel everything that the bait touches.
I have several rods in the GLX class. They are worth the money!!!
Reviewed by: clyde (Byron,IL)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the G. Loomis Jig & Worm Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: