Search

St. Croix :: Freshwater Rods :: Legend Elite

 

St. Croix Legend Elite

Overall Customer Rating: 5 of 5 stars St. Croix Legend Elite Rods 5 out of 5 (16 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Legend Elite

St. Croix Legend Elite models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

LEC60MF

6'

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

3.4

Casting

LEC66MF

6'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

3.7

Casting

LEC66MHF

6'6"

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.4

Casting

LEC68MXF

6'8"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Extra Fast

Medium

3.7

Casting

LEC70MF

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

4.0

Casting

LEC70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.4

Casting

LEC70HF

7'

1

3/8 - 11/2

14 - 25

Fast

Heavy

4.6

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC86MHF2

8'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.2

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC86HF2

8'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.7

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC90MLF2

9'

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

5.5

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC90MF2

9'

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.8

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC90MHF2

9'

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.5

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC90HF2

9'

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.2

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC96MLF2

9'6"

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

6.0

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC96MF2

9'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

6.1

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC96MHF2

9'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.7

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

LEC96HF2

9'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.3

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES86MF2

8'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.9

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES86MHF2

8'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.2

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES86HF2

8'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.3

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES90LM2

9'

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

4.8

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES90MLF2

9'

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.9

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES90MF2

9'

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.1

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES90MHF2

9'

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.4

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES90HF2

9'

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.5

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES96LM2

9'6"

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

5.0

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES96MLF2

9'6"

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

5.2

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES96MF2

9'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.3

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES96MHF2

9'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.8

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

LES96HF2

9'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.0

Spinning

LES60ULF2

6'

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.6

Spinning

LES60MLF

6'

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

2.8

Spinning

LES60MF

6'

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

2.9

Spinning

LES63MXF

6'3"

1

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium

3.2

Spinning

LES66LF

6'6"

1

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Fast

Light

2.8

Spinning

LES66LF2

6'6"

2

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Fast

Light

3.0

Spinning

LES66MLF

6'6"

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.0

Spinning

LES66MLF2

6'6"

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.1

Spinning

LES66MF

6'6"

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.4

Spinning

LES66MF2

6'6"

2

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.5

Spinning

LES66MHF

6'6"

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

3.8

Spinning

LES68MXF

6'8"

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Medium

3.7

Spinning

LES70ULM2

7'

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Moderate

Ultra Light

2.9

Spinning

LES70LF

7'

1

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Fast

Light

3.0

Spinning

LES70LF2

7'

2

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Fast

Light

3.2

Spinning

LES70MLF

7'

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.3

Spinning

LES70MLF2

7'

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.4

Spinning

LES70MF

7'

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.6

Spinning

LES70MF2

7'

2

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.7

Spinning

LES70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.1

Spinning

LES70MHF2

7'

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.3

Spinning

LES76MLXF

7'6"

1

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

3.8

Spinning

LES76MLXF2

7'6"

2

1/8 - 3/8

4 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

3.8

Spinning

LES76MF

7'6"

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 -12

Fast

Medium

3.9

Spinning

LES76MF2

7'6"

2

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.2


* All Legend Elite Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Legend Elite

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

St. Croix Legend Elite Rods are Unbelievably Amazing

2016-12-13T10:01:55

12/13/2016 10:01:55 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Read This Story......
I'm 54 and fished all types of waters my whole life from salt to fresh and in between. Mostly east coast from Maine to Florida and inland ice fishing since i was a kid with my father. I'm not a pro but enjoyed a variety of fishing for Blue and Yellow Fin, Mako, Striped Bass, Fluke, Grouper, Tarpon, Dolphin with a 72" White Marlin on my wall. First mate on my cousin's Bertram helped. I've caught Yellow Perch almost as fat as footballs before I was 15, no joke, Fluke like door mats off Cape Cod, and a few monster Northern Pike and always have wild game in my freezer. I've long since sold my 26' Wellcraft. Sad day it was.
In March 2015 I went fishing for Steelhead and Walleye as a new kick with my best friend and an acquaintance of his who does this frequently. After catching some fish for a few hrs in horribly cold AND rainy weather, the guide we hired let me trade up from his boat rod to one of his Legend Elite rods. IMMEDIATELY WOW x 1000... I was NEVER IN MY LIFE so overwhelmingly amazed by how much better that rod performed compared to anything I've fished with. I was so supersized at the action and feel it had it convinced me no other fishing rod mfgr could beat it. It still leaves me in awe. I totally enjoyed catching a lot more fish that day too. Here's the REEL CATCH.... I WAS MORE HOOKED ON THESE RODS THAN THE FISH. LMAO And it takes a lot to impress me! And after you buy one, bring one of your old rods to compare and you'll toss that old rod in the woods before you get back to your truck!
Reviewed by: Steve D (New York)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

2012-10-25T14:30:54

10/25/2012 2:30:54 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have a Legend Elite and love the rod.
Reviewed by: WIBassMan

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

Most sensitive

2012-10-25T11:57:07

10/25/2012 11:57:07 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

These new Legend Elite rods are the absolute best rod you will ever spend your money on! No doubt they are a little pricey but with fishing gear you get what you pay for. These rods are the lightest, most sensitive, and most powerful rods i have fished with. I have had the luxury of fishing with St. Croix rods for a while now and these are worth every penny! One more addition, St. Croix has the best warranties in the business bar none! If you spend your money on St. Croix they will treat you like royalty. I know these rods are not cheap but they are the best you can get your hands on right now, if you spend your cash on Loomis rods, you will want to switch to Legend Elites!
Reviewed by: RBKING (Ontario, Canada)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

Best Rod I own

2012-10-25T11:56:11

10/25/2012 11:56:11 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This was a replacement/upgrade for a rod that I had sent for repair. When the salesman called me and suggested this rod I was not sure. How much better could a $300+ rod be? I went ahead with the purchase however and am sure glad I did. I throw mostly smaller crankbaits with it and you can feel even the smallest movement. Teamed with a quality reel makes for an amazing fishing tool.
Reviewed by: CanoeFish (Central Illinois)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

tippy top

2012-10-25T11:55:38

10/25/2012 11:55:38 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

this is one of very best rods on the market fantastic quality and sensitivity is unmatched!
Reviewed by: phish (green bay,WI)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

st.croix Rods

2012-10-25T11:54:59

10/25/2012 11:54:59 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is one of the best rods I have ever used. It is ultra sensitive, and has a lot of backbone haling big fish from heavy cover.
Reviewed by: socold (PA)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

LIGHT!

2012-10-25T11:54:11

10/25/2012 11:54:11 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 6' ML and with a magnesium or carbon fibre reel, it is as light as a feather. I have the old model (brown) in 7' ML as well and is my rigging rod for walleye. Extremely light! I am planning on getting the 7' M two piece next for traveling.
If you can afford these rods, you won''t be disappointed! Hard to find a more sensitive and lighter line of rods. The line has many two pieces for those of you without a boat.
Highly, highly recommended!
Reviewed by: ABWalleye (Alberta Canada)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

No better rod

2012-10-25T11:53:11

10/25/2012 11:53:11 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This was my third St. Croix rod and it is the best so far. It has backbone and is still sensitive to feel a walleye nibbling on a piece of worm in 25-feet of water. This rod will change your fishing experience without a doubt. Forget the price, it's worth every penny and better than overpriced G-Loomis sticks.
Reviewed by: scott (Sudbury, Ontario)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

Really Great Rod

2012-10-25T11:52:03

10/25/2012 11:52:03 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have had this style rod for a few years. Never had any problems with it and it is the most sensitive, lightest and well built rod I have ever owned. I have been letting my friend use it before he actually gets a rod and reel. Boy is he in for a shock when he spends $60 and wonders why the rod is not performing as well. He nearly fell over when I told him how much one of these babies cost. If your going to only by one rod let it be this.
Reviewed by: AirDaMan (Virginia)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

The best rod you can buy

2012-10-25T11:51:22

10/25/2012 11:51:22 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've bought rods and reels from all over the place, and this brand BY FAR exceeds the quality of any other in my collection. I've purchased both casting and spinning models. You simply cannot beat the quality and durability, which makes it worth the price. They are tactic and species specific in the way that they are made, but when that is your focus, you pick the right one for the job.
Reviewed by: fallsdale (Urbandale, IA)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

St Croix Rods are Great

2012-10-25T11:49:47

10/25/2012 11:49:47 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own over 20 St. Croix rods. I started using them over 20 years ago begining with the entry level Premier Series. I have since upgraded to the St Croix Legend Extreme Elite(not yet carried in the BPS catalog) and Legend Elite rods. My favorite all around rod is the XC70 MF the same model as the EC70MF but with a split grip and Recoil brand guides. I use this rod for light to medium soft plastics, jigs, and shakey head presentations. They are extremely sensitive and light. You will feel the lightest pressure bites. St. Croix also has the best life time warranty available on a made in the U.S.A rod. In my opinion, a fisherperson should spend their hard earned money on a sensitive rod. If you don't get bit(or know you are getting bit) your reel is just a counter weight. Save a few hundred dollars on a good reel (Shimano Curados are a great value) and spend your money on a great rod.
Reviewed by: kunibass (So California)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

Great Rod

2012-10-25T11:48:32

10/25/2012 11:48:32 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod light weight great feel very sensitive love how it feels in my hand matched it with a shimano chronarch 201e6 nice combo can fish all day and not feel tired. used all kind of baits ,crank, spinner,and soft all worked well this is now the first rod i reach for when I'm bass fishing. well made and I love the Fuji SiC guides.
if you try one you won't put it down.
Reviewed by: milkbone (Trenton NJ)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

First st.croix

2012-10-25T09:08:20

10/25/2012 9:08:20 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the les66mf and the sensitivity and lightness of this rod is just incredible!
I can see a few more st.croix rods in my future.
Reviewed by: gunther (warren, pa)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

Best there is legend elite

2012-10-25T09:07:33

10/25/2012 9:07:33 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I had purchased this LES6'8MXF spinning rods and is one of my bestest rod i ever used.
I had a couple of st. croix rods but this rods, you will not be disappointed in what so ever. Its is well worth the money.
Thanks st. croix for making a excellent fishing rods.
Reviewed by: TeamStCroix (Denver, Co)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

WOW

2012-10-25T09:06:24

10/25/2012 9:06:24 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I am not a very experienced fisherman so, quality gear makes a big difference to me.
I have used this rod and reel combination for speckled trout, redfish, and bass fishing with great success. The rod has helped me with casting distance and accuracy. It is amazingly light weight and sensitive yet has no trouble turning a big red fish. The guide I fished with for specks and reds tried to talk me into leaving my rod and reel with him as a tip. He was impressed!
It took me awhile to save up for this rod but, I think it was well worth it.
None the less, I would recommend this rod whole heartedly. When you fish as seldom as I do, one rod that pretty much does it all is a wonderful thing!
Reviewed by: booger (San Antonio,TEXAS)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite

st.croix medium power fast action

2012-10-25T09:05:18

10/25/2012 9:05:18 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

this is a really great rod for the money. it has fantastic sensitivity for those really lite takes.
Reviewed by: socold (Pennsylvania,PA)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Legend Elite Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: