Search

St. Croix :: Fly Fishing Rods :: Legend Elite Fly

 

St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

Overall Customer Rating: 4.91 of 5 stars St. Croix Legend Elite Fly Rods 4.91 out of 5 (11 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Fly Fishing Rods
Model: Legend Elite Fly

St. Croix Legend Elite Fly models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

EFW864.4

8'6"

4

4

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

2.6

EFW904.4

9'

4

4

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

2.8

EFW865.4

8'6"

4

5

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

2.8

EFW905.4

9'

4

5

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

2.8

EFW906.4

9'

4

6

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

3.0

EFW907.4

9'

4

7

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

4.2

EFW967.4

9'6"

4

7

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

4.3

EFW908.4

9'

4

8

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

4.4

EFW968.4

9'6"

4

8

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

4.4

EFW909.4

9'

4

9

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

4.5

EFW9010.4

9'

4

10

Fast

Freshwater Fly Rod

4.7

ESW906.4

9'

4

6

Fast

Saltwater Fly Rod

4.3

ESW907.4

9'

4

7

Fast

Saltwater Fly Rod

4.5

ESW908.4

9'

4

8

Fast

Saltwater Fly Rod

4.7

ESW909.4

9'

4

9

Fast

Saltwater Fly Rod

5.2

ESW9010.4

9'

4

10

Fast

Saltwater Fly Rod

5.3

ESW9012.4

9'

4

12

Fast

Saltwater Fly Rod

5.5

ESW9012.4.FG

9'

4

12

Fast

Saltwater Fly Rod

5.9


* All Legend Elite Fly Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

Sensitive tip strong butt

2017-06-23T17:34:38

6/23/2017 5:34:38 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 9' 5wt Legend Elite and 8'6" 4wt Imperial and both are fabulous rods. They have a sensitive feel, are well balanced for swing, and the strong butt section handles the large fish well from bass to trout. I am considering a Legend elite 8 or 9 wt as an upgrade for for salt water stripers from the old rod.
Reviewed by: Stephen Rubicam (East Boothbay, Maine)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

2015-05-31T10:20:42

5/31/2015 10:20:42 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

St. Croix Legend Ultra
2-weight / 3-weight for Bluegill and Redear

St. Croix Legend Ultra and Elite
4-weight for Crappie

St. Croix Legend Elite
4-weight, 5-weight and 6-weight for Rocky Mountain Trout

St. Croix Legend Elite and Ultras
7-weight Redfish on saltwater flats (9' LE and 9'6" LU )

St. Croix Legend Elite
8-weight / 9-weight / 10-weight for saltwater surf and bays


Simply put.........great rods that function really well and also look good in hand..........


Reviewed by: C.P. Coyne (Mississippi )

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

Legend Elite 9foot 6 inch 7wt

2014-01-23T10:57:52

1/23/2014 10:57:52 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely one of the best flyrods on the market for the money.This rod will cast a full 100 foot sinking flyline with no problem.This rod will stand toe to toe with the 800 dollar helios 2.I also have the legend ultra in a 6wt which is also a nice rod. The elite is another step up,one of the smoothest rods on the market.THE legend elite will do anything those super high end rods will do,so do your self a favor ,save 3or 4 hundred dollars and get the st Croix.
Reviewed by: Daniel Malec (Michigan)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

Croix Elite v. Ultra

2012-10-25T11:14:12

10/25/2012 11:14:12 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Because the local store didn't have a St. Croix Elite or Ultra in stock, I had to order both models to determine which one had the better action. I needed a 4 wt for fishing the Black Hills, WY, MT, and CO trout... something that was able to pitch nymphs and handle small tippets but could also handle large streamers in the fall when the browns get aggressive. So I ordered both models, with the SLA reel combo and GPX line. The Legend Elite rod (which was more expensive) was super stiff... like a broom stick! The Ultra had a good finesse feel. So I purchased the Ultra and also traded out the GPX line for credit towards the new sharkskin line by SA... which by the way is an incredible line and def worth the money. I like St. Croix rods and am not sure if there was a mix up in labeling the Elite rod as a 4 weight. At any rate, they still make a good rod.
Reviewed by: CTG (Rapid City, SD)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

High End Rod - Great Price

2012-10-25T11:13:06

10/25/2012 11:13:06 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod as a back up to my Scott S3 and found it to be very comparable. This rod has a great feel and really loads nice. I have been able to toss line just as well as my higher priced rods and probably get a little rougher when fighting the big fish because I am not worried about breaking a $700 rod. Plus if you do happen to break one of these babies by fighting off the tip rather than the butt, the St Croix boys will fix you up fast. Great rod for the money and you won't be disappointed. 4.5 stars for me.
Reviewed by: Kollman (Lawrence, KS)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

A very versatile rod

2012-10-25T11:12:19

10/25/2012 11:12:19 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I recently purchased a Legend Elite EFW906.4 rod. I bought it as a replacement for an older Legend Ultra of the same size and weight. I had good service with the Legend Ultra using it primarily for trophy trout as well as Great Lakes steelhead. The Legend Ultra fished well in a variety of conditions and served me well.
The Legend Elite is another step better. It's smoother, lighter, and more powerful. It has the ability to easily cast farther than anybody probably should yet fishes very well with short casts at close range. It loads quite smoothly and is a pleasure to cast. I own several high end rods by other manufacturers and this rod compares quite favorably to them.
It's a great rod.
I highly recommend it.
Reviewed by: Z06Vette (Pennsylvania)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

Elite 9''-6", 8 wt

2012-10-25T11:11:30

10/25/2012 11:11:30 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

It is a Great rod. Very light and powerful.
I tested it casting size 2 streamers against the wind and no problem reaching 70 to 80 feet with easy (I am not a good caster). It is very accurate at short range also; precisely placing streamers at 30 to 50 feet when roll casting . I spent the hole day casting this rod with a size 4 Ross Arius reel loaded with 300 grain sinking line and I didn't get tired. It is not a feather type rod (like those new in the market) but I think there is no need to spend 300 dollars more to get 3/4 ounces less weight. At the end what matters is how well the rod balances with the reel and line; the Elite does it perfectly. You feel this is a very powerful and solid rod. I have two other St Croix rods in the Ultra series, which I really like but the elite is much faster and powerful, definitely it is a top of the line rod. I am planning to use it on my next trip to Salmon river. Great product St Croix people!
Reviewed by: tyk (Hewitt, New Jersey)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

St Croix Legen Elite Fly Rod

2012-10-25T11:10:24

10/25/2012 11:10:24 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I presently own 10 fly rods and my history shows I am trending more and more to the St. Croix brand. My most recent purchase was a 9' 6wt elite and it is just an incredible rod.
It was the "winner" of a fairly extensive multi-rod test that included rods costing much more. I can cast an entire 90' line with it as well as lay down a soft cast at short range. It carries a lot of line as well, making the long casts even easier. On the water, roll casting a bead head wooley bugger was surprising and resulted in some very nice fish.
Finally, I have found that it lays out the leader much easier than many other brands.
Reviewed by: rlowe (Soldiers Grove, WI)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

Great rod

2012-10-25T11:09:20

10/25/2012 11:09:20 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 9' 5 weight version of this rod and it is a great rod. It has the backbone to throw junk--indicator plus flies. But, the tip is supple enough to allow tip casting at close range of delicate dries. It comes the closest to an all around fly rod of any rod that I have used--and I've used a lot of rods. If I had the money I would by one in a 4 weight, but that must wait. I might also mention that it is very light. I know this rod is a little pricy, but it is worth the money. Great job St. Croix.
Reviewed by: flyfishrandy (Jonesboro, AR)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

Excellent 7-weight

2012-10-25T11:05:58

10/25/2012 11:05:58 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased this rod several months ago to use for both steelhead and smallmouth and have had chances to use it now for both species in some different situations.
It is excellent!
This is a very smooth, fast-action rod. I'm not normally a big fan of fast action, particularly in my lighter weight rods, but for my 7-weight I wanted a fast and powerful rod for throwing big flies and sink-tip line. I purchased it after reading the reviews of the 8-weight rod by Yellowstone Angler in their 8-weight shootout.
This rod is a very good rod and a very good value!
Reviewed by: Adams (Michigan)

 
St. Croix Legend Elite Fly

6 & 7 wt Legend Elite

2012-10-25T11:05:20

10/25/2012 11:05:20 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have fished the 7wt for everything from trout in AK to river smallmouth here in Wisconsin. Can handle the big fish fighting in current. Not as stiff as some of the super fast action rods from the other companies out there, yet these rods make up for it in feel. My girlfriend also has the 6 wt which she streamer fishes for trout, smallies and has landed some impressive fish in AK with. We line these with the SA GPX taper lines. These are awesome rods at a great value, and made right here in Park Falls, WI U.S.A
Reviewed by: SconnieFlyRodder (United States, Wisconsin)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Legend Elite Fly Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: