Search

St. Croix :: Freshwater Rods :: Mojo Bass

 

St. Croix Mojo Bass

Overall Customer Rating: 4.79 of 5 stars St. Croix Mojo Bass Rods 4.79 out of 5 (33 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Mojo Bass

St. Croix Mojo Bass models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

MBC66MF

6'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

Jerkbait

3.7

Casting

MBC66MHF

6'6"

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

Jig-N-Worm

4.1

Casting

MBC68MXF

6'8"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Extra Fast

Medium

Topwater

3.9

Casting

MBC70MF

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

Plastics

4.2

Casting

MBC70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinnerbait

4.6

Casting

MBC70MHM

7'

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium Heavy

Crankbait

4.0

Casting

MBC70HF

7'

1

3/8 - 11/2

14 - 25

Fast

Heavy

Slop-N-Frog

5.3

Casting

MBC76MHMF

7'6"

1

3/8 - 11/4

12 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

Pitchin'

5.4

Casting

MBC79HF

7'9"

1

1 - 4

14 - 30

Fast

Heavy

Swim Bait

6.4

Casting

MBC711HMF

7'11"

1

1/2 - 2

14 - 30

Moderate Fast

Heavy

Flippin'

5.3

Glass Casting

MBGC610MM

6'10"

1

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 14

Moderate

Medium

Target Cranker

4.4

Glass Casting

MBGC74MM

7'4"

1

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 14

Moderate

Medium

Crankster

4.9

Glass Casting

MBGC78MHM

7'8"

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium Heavy

Big Crankster

6.3

Spinning

MBS68MXF

6'8"

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Medium

Wacky Style

3.9

Spinning

MBS69MLXF

6'9"

1

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

Drop Shot

3.8

Spinning

MBS70MF

7'

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

Tubes / Grubs

3.9

Spinning

MBS70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

Power Spin

4.8


* All Mojo Bass Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Mojo Bass

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Get your mojo back

2017-07-12T06:45:17

7/12/2017 6:45:17 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

If your looking for a good rod you found one
Reviewed by: Lake Francis (Isanti mn)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

awesome stick

2017-02-25T06:13:05

2/25/2017 6:13:05 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have 3 of the Mojo bass 6'8" Medium Fast wacky worm rods and It is a pleasure to reel them in with or without a fish. The feel is as good or better than the E6 G.Loomis rods I have at half the price. Great balance ,feel and backbone. C'mon March
Reviewed by: Brooker (Md)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

2014-12-03T01:52:06

12/3/2014 1:52:06 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I currently own five of the Mojo series rods in different models and my only regret is not buying them sooner. These are the finest rods all around I have used for the money, and believe me I've tried them all. Highly recommend them!
Reviewed by: Douglas King (Locust Grove,Ga.)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Good rod

2013-04-16T18:50:14

4/16/2013 6:50:14 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Got the 6'8" spinning rod M/XF (wacky rod)and have a Pflueger president 6935 on it. Lightweight, sensitive with 10lb suffix performance braid. Good all around rod. Just got the drop shot spinning rod 6'9" ML/XF to pair with my president 6930 reel. Very lightweight. Will be spooling that with 10lb suffix as well.
Reviewed by: Mike (Louisiana)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

2012-10-25T12:06:16

10/25/2012 12:06:16 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have purchased two St. Croix Mojo Bass rods. Both are 7' Heavy action. I use one with rubber worms and the other with light crank baits. I can't say enough about these rods. They are by far the highest quality sticks I've ever used and would recommend them to anyone. I am getting into musky fishing and I will be purchasing a St. Croix rod for that application as well.
Reviewed by: cobra (Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Money couldn''t buy better

2012-10-25T12:05:07

10/25/2012 12:05:07 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Took the finesse rod out today for the first time and caught seven largemouth. Did not miss one fish all day. The bass practically hooked themselves. The rod had almost a "snapback" feature when pressure was pulled downward. Anyway, best finesse rod I've owned yet!
Reviewed by: Dano (Alabama)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

A spectacular rod

2012-10-25T12:04:03

10/25/2012 12:04:03 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is an unbelievable rod for throwing crankbaits! Due to the flexibility of the fiberglass blank, you can throw a light weight lure much farther with this rod than you can with a moderate action graphite rod.
This rod is designed specifically for throwing crankbaits, but I was forced to use it in a pinch for throwing #5 Mepps spinners for pike one time when I left my spinnerbait rod sitting at home (in to much of a hurry to get to the lake)! I caught a 34" pike and this rod handled it perfectly!
I currently own the 7-4 medium power, 1/4 -3/4 oz rod for small to medium crankbaits. With the astounding success I've had with this rod, I'll be adding the 7-8 medium heavy rod to my collection very soon.
Another great addition to the Mojo line!
Reviewed by: fishfan (Fox Lake, IL)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Outstanding tool for deep cranking

2012-10-25T12:03:11

10/25/2012 12:03:11 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I paired this rod with a BPS RCX 5.4 reel with 12 lb vicious fluorocarbon line...a beast getting strike king XD 6 crankbaits (shad) down to 19 ft plus. If you are fishing ledges in the summer months for largemouth bass this combo is a must have.
Reviewed by: crocs (Tennessee)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Great rod

2012-10-25T12:02:13

10/25/2012 12:02:13 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I use it mainly for frog and it's soft tip is perfect for it one of st Croix best rods
Reviewed by: Jacob

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Best rods ever

2012-10-25T12:01:28

10/25/2012 12:01:28 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

As with all St.Croix rods this rod does not fail to live up to their reputation. Great craftsmanship, good looks, well balanced, great action. It casts big crankbaits like a rocket, its super sensitive and feels great in the hand. The only draw back is that its not a good rod for fishing heavy cover. That's mostly because of its length, it is 7'10, so its not as maneuverable as a shorter rod. But that's why I have shorter StCroix rods for that. Its well worth the money and I would recommend it to anyone.
Reviewed by: Destroyer

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Get Your Mojo Workin''

2012-10-25T09:17:22

10/25/2012 9:17:22 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

OK, I have way too much tackle, and I really didn't need the MBS69MLXF I picked up at the Hamburg store, but man, this is one sweet stick, to quote another reviewer. I just retired three rods in order to use this little mother, and I can't wait for ice out to break it in. I matched it with a Sahara 2500 and 8 lb Floroclear, and she is ready to do some serious damage on the water. The ML is light, with a sensitive tip, but plenty of backbone. 6'9" of light, lean muscle. Don''t be put off by the drop shot label...it''d be a great DS rod, but it I believe it will work equally well for shakey fishing or tossing those 4" Senkos the bass seem to love so much. Very, very well made, great feel and handling, and a fair price for what I consider to be an excellent quality high end spinning rod. Ten years ago I''d have paid three times the current price for a rod of this quality. Honestly don''t think you could go wrong with this rod...absolutely great product, St Croix! And yeah, I''m gonna get another one!
Reviewed by: Huskyjerkjohn (Highlands of NJ)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Awesome

2012-10-25T09:15:56

10/25/2012 9:15:56 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 7' version paired with a Quantum Energy 40, and absolutely love this setup. I fish a lot of heavily pressured water and throw light baits on light fluoro line, and this rod is perfect! This rod has amazing sensitivity coupled with plenty of backbone. Perfect for senkos and tubes.
Reviewed by: RUponcho (Morgantown, PA)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Grip and Rip

2012-10-25T09:15:08

10/25/2012 9:15:08 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod has been everything I need it to be. The stout backbone of the St. Croix gives me great hook sets and keeps the fish on top of the water. Great price, great quality and well balanced.
I wouldn't buy anything else at this price point.
Reviewed by: Froginforbass (Rochester, MN)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Nothing better for the price!

2012-10-24T22:37:39

10/24/2012 10:37:39 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I got this rod as an early Christmas gift along with a new Shimano Curado. So far I've taken it fishing 5 times and absolutely love it. It's very light, very sensitive, and has great feel. Even with my other reels that aren't as good as my curado, it casts great. I''ve only caught three bass on it to date, but each were caught while working a Gulp! worm at an insanely slow pace. The sensitivity of the rod helped me to detect the bites in the cold weather.
Highly recommended and another awesome St. Croix product!
Reviewed by: NJangler (Paramus, NJ)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

SENSETIVE AND LIGHT

2012-10-24T22:36:51

10/24/2012 10:36:51 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

THIS IS THE FIRST ST. CROIX ROD I HAVE OWNED. SO FOR IT IS NICE. VERY SENSITIVE AND REALLY LIGHT. FITS WELL IN HAND AND COMFORTABLE.
Reviewed by: BPFISHER (Louisiana)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Expected from St. Croix

2012-10-24T22:36:17

10/24/2012 10:36:17 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome rods! I have 3 Mojo bass rods - 2 spinning and one casting. I paired them all up with my Quantum PTi Energy reels, and they are absolutely unbelievable. I've only caught fish on the spinning rods but can't wait to set the hook with my Pitchin' Stick. Awesome feel, great sensitivity, beautiful look, and for the price you just can''t beat it! Another great St. Croix product from an awesome company!
Reviewed by: THEnextKVD (Central Pa)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Love these rods

2012-10-24T22:35:33

10/24/2012 10:35:33 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The best casting rods I've ever used. Hands Down!, the 7 ft med plastics model whips the smallest lures with minimal effort. I have mine paired up with a pflueger asaro (in the bargain cave for almost half price...wink wink) and it kills on the water. My 7 ft MH and 7'11 flippin sticks are both paired up with quantum accurists, and they handle every situation with ease. All three have unparalleled sensitivity, and only weigh slightly more than the st. croix triumph series rods, which are pretty light. Buy one and see... you'll just end up replacing all of your old rods like I did.
Reviewed by: USFisher (appalachia)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

2012-10-24T22:34:22

10/24/2012 10:34:22 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

great rod for the price.I paired it with a curado and what a great combo.It so nice,it makes me want to fish every day.St. Croix and shimano, hard to beat.
Reviewed by: ricrbp (mpls. minnesota)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Bad rod, Bad warranty

2012-10-24T22:33:46

10/24/2012 10:33:46 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod (med-fast) and it broke on me the second day out. I had about a 4.5 pound largemouth on and the rod snapped about 2/3 of the way up. I know for a fact that it wasn't due to bad technique but poor craftsmanship and the 10 lb line should break WAY before the rod. I went to their website to check out the warranty and after $50 in shipping and repair charges they said it could be fixed. They should fix it for free if it was their Friday afternoon rod.
Save yourself the trouble and get a Shimano or Kisler.
Hope this helps
Reviewed by: Drew (Kansas City, MO)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

First Bait Casting Rod

2012-10-24T22:32:18

10/24/2012 10:32:18 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is my first Baitcasting rod and I couldn't be happier. Durable, accurate, and most importantly dependable! This might be my favorite rod, and as an avid fly fishermen that's really saying something. The fact that this rod is under an 100 bucks makes the decision a "No brainer". I will definitely be purchasing a few more of these rods for crankbaits, and jigging. The one I purchased is for plastics and have fished with various types of plastic baits with no problems. The sensitivity in the rod is excellent as well!
Reviewed by: Dad2Labs (Inland Lakes, MI)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Nice!

2012-10-24T22:31:11

10/24/2012 10:31:11 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Got it as an early Xmas gift for my self...Looks awesome, feels sweet to! Spring we'll see how it compares to my carrot stix!
Can't wait!
Reviewed by: tfultz (Selma, In)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Very Impressed

2012-10-24T22:30:09

10/24/2012 10:30:09 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Let me just say that this is the first purpose specific rod that I've owned, so I'm not sure if it's just the right tool for the job or what, but this rod impressed the heck out of me. I love to throw cranks, so I got the crank bait model noticed a big difference in using this vs. my other rods. The action on it seems perfect, you can throw even light cranks a mile with little effort, yet it''s very sensitive. I put my Revo SX on it, and it''s a very slick set up. I like the split grip, but if I had one compliant it would be that I wish they made the cork a little longer near the reel (I have big hands though). Other than that, I have to say that you''re going to have a though finding a rod in this price range this nice. Now I''m just looking for an excuse to get another one.
Reviewed by: LinusH (Texas)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Mojo bass rods

2012-10-24T22:28:59

10/24/2012 10:28:59 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased this rod a few weeks ago before the spawn bass fishing started here in Florida. I use the 7' medium power "plastics" rod and I have caught 5 bass over 10 lbs. I have also caught countless bass in the 4 to 6 lbs range and don't even ask how many 2 and 3 pounders this rod has taken.
It is far and away the best worm rod that I have ever used.
Get yourself one and you wont be sorry.
Reviewed by: Stickmarshbasshunter (Florida)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

mojo

2012-10-24T22:27:53

10/24/2012 10:27:53 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

this rod is the most sensitive rod i have ever owned. it is durable and dependable.
i would recommend this product to any fisherman that is on the water often.
it is well balanced and has a strong backbone.
Reviewed by: mojohunter (janesville, Wi)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Nice Rod

2012-10-24T22:26:48

10/24/2012 10:26:48 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is very nice for all around fishing, I have the 6'6 M,F and love it.
I also have the spinning rod too.
Reviewed by: 0utdoorsman (Illinois)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

mojo

2012-10-24T22:24:01

10/24/2012 10:24:01 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Very impressed with this rod. I got the spinnerbait model and absolutely love it! I put a shimano citica on it and it is just perfect. I also took it up to Canada and used it for northern and it worked very well with some big fish. I just got another shimano reel so I will be getting the crankbait model next. Highly recommended!
Reviewed by: mif (Madison, WI)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Great Rod

2012-10-24T22:23:25

10/24/2012 10:23:25 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I used this for the first time today and loved it, money well spent.
Reviewed by: Buckwheat (Medford, OR)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

BEST ROD EVER PURCHASED , LOVE IT

2012-10-24T22:22:51

10/24/2012 10:22:51 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

just bought this rod and used it a few times now, just loving it, put a shimano curado reel on it and man it is the smoothest setup ... it's now my favorite rod and reel combo, first one i grab for
Reviewed by: FISHINGMAN (ONT, CANADA)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

one of the best rod

2012-10-24T22:22:01

10/24/2012 10:22:01 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

this is by far one to the best rod on the market, I have 7'9 model and I use it in both freshwater and saltwater and it handle a 30 lb striper with no problem. but I can't believe someone broke their rod using 10 lb test line. come on let be real about this
Reviewed by: tamashi (rhode island)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

i got my mojo do you

2012-10-24T22:21:10

10/24/2012 10:21:10 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i use this rod for monster calico bass with the soft tip and back bone, i can really pull them out in heavy cover,put a shimano curado 300ej on it you got a rod for any thing i pulled a 10lb largemouth bass out of my pound, great all around rod for the money, oh and i landed a 30 lb halibut on it that was fun tight lines and god bless
Reviewed by: calicobassman (United States, California)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Great Rod

2012-10-24T22:20:26

10/24/2012 10:20:26 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 7ft MH Spinnerbait model. The rod is perfect for casting spinnerbaits but also works really well for casting frogs and other heavier surface baits. The rod is stiff enough to cast far but has a supple enough tip to jiggle the surface baits on top.
With a spinnerbait on and my Abu Garcia Revo SX spooled with 20 lb braid I can cast WELL over 100 ft. It also had the backbone to pull a lunker through some crazy weeds from the kayak the other day. The ONLY aspect of this rod I would change is the weight. It's a bit heavy compared to other rods like carrot stix but not very noticeable. I plan on buying more from this line of rods from St. Croix.
Reviewed by: kayakfisher

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Heavy and dull

2012-10-24T22:19:13

10/24/2012 10:19:13 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

Well I got the 7' MH-F Spinner version and it is thick n heavy and not very sensitive. Should have just got the medium version. Not sure if I'm going to take it back or not. Gonna give it another day using some other baits with it.
Reviewed by: Tservo (United States, Missouri)

 
St. Croix Mojo Bass

Smooth caster

2012-10-24T22:18:27

10/24/2012 10:18:27 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Paired with a Lews MG. This is the most picked up combo on my boat. Cast is smooth, accurate, easy. I have several rods at the ready when I go out. I will, at times, cut a lure off other prerigged rods and retie to this one. When I put it down it calls to be picked up once again. So easy and fun.
Reviewed by: Wkendfish (United States, Minnesota)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Mojo Bass Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: