Search

St. Croix :: Saltwater Rods :: Mojo Surf

 

St. Croix Mojo Surf

Overall Customer Rating: 4.91 of 5 stars St. Croix Mojo Surf Rods 4.91 out of 5 (11 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Saltwater Rods
Model: Mojo Surf

St. Croix Mojo Surf models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

MSC100MMF2

10'

2

1 - 4

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium

12.7

Casting

MSC106MHMF2

10'6"

2

2 - 6

12 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

12.6

Casting

MSC110MHMF2

11'

2

3 - 8

15 - 40

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

13.6

Casting

MSC120HMF2

12'

2

6 - 16

20 - 60

Moderate Fast

Heavy

20.0

Spinning

MSS70MLMF

7'

1

3/8 - 1

6 - 12

Moderate Fast

Medium Light

6.2

Spinning

MSS70MMF

7'

1

5/8 - 2

8 - 17

Moderate Fast

Medium

7.1

Spinning

MSS80MMF

8'

1

3/4 - 3

8 - 17

Moderate Fast

Medium

8.8

Spinning

MSS90MMF2

9'

2

1 - 4

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium

10.1

Spinning

MSS90MM2

9'

2

3/4 - 4

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium

10.2

Spinning

MSS100MMF2

10'

2

1 - 4

10 - 20

Moderate Fast

Medium

12.6

Spinning

MSS106MM2

10'6"

2

3/4 - 4

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium

12.8

Spinning

MSS106MHMF2

10'6"

2

2 - 6

12 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

12.9

Spinning

MSS110MHMF2

11'

2

3 - 8

15 - 40

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

13.9

Spinning

MSS120HMF2

12'

2

6 - 16

20 - 60

Moderate Fast

Heavy

21.0


* All Mojo Surf Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Mojo Surf

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

mojo

2014-02-25T17:26:12

2/25/2014 5:26:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Hooked up to 100lb+ oversized sturgeon from bank and got him in within 10 minutes with this 10'6" mojo surf rod. Great rod with lots of backbone
Reviewed by: sturgeon guy (cen cal)

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

This 10.5 ft rod has the "MoJo" you need

2012-10-25T12:33:40

10/25/2012 12:33:40 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I used this rod in Ocean City Md. and in the Outer Banks of N.C. , and believe me it is a light - weight rod which is comfortable enough to fish for hours, but has the tough "backbone" to " drag the big ones in". Also this rod throws a 2-4 oz. egg sinker ( along with the hook , line and bait ! ), further than a NFL quarterback can throw a football ! Last of all I see NO negs. in this rod. Although this is not an inexpensive rod, it is as good (if not better), as the most expensive rods i have used!
Reviewed by: Tony (Buffalo, NY)

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

Awesome Gift to Self

2012-10-25T12:32:06

10/25/2012 12:32:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I always wanted a St.Croix and now I know why. I have 8 surfrods that are from 6ft.-15ft and nothing compares to this. My new Mojo' 10ft-6inchSpin Surf Rod Rules. The casting distance is far superior to anything I bought in the past. Even with such an oddly small eye first from the spool. Throwing from 1 oz. weighted rigs to 6 oz. with ease. LiveLining, Pluggin', Jiggin', or just plain old cut bait fishing you will love it! So Sensitive, you can feel a fish sneeze on the end of it. I paired it with an Okuma Coronado CD65a BaitRunner Reel spooled with 20lb. braided line. I love the feel of this rod so much... I want to get me another one, for my son to enjoy the Mojo'' from St.Croix.
Reviewed by: Stonecutter (South Jersey, New Jersey)

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

Great all around rod

2012-10-25T12:31:24

10/25/2012 12:31:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 9 foot 3/4 to 4 ounce. When the rod was delivered I thought it was a little stiff for a 7/8 ounce bomber. I took it out for the first time and it handled this lure quite well. It's ideal for a 2 ounce plug but is very sensitive and can handle the light weight bombers. I will be throwing some heavier metals later in the fall and I'm sure it will handle these great.
Reviewed by: RCFC (PA)

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

BEAST

2012-10-25T12:30:48

10/25/2012 12:30:48 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 10 ' 6" Mojo 5 months ago for casting plugs here in Hawaii for Ulua. I constituently throw 2-3 oz plugs all day, without fatigue. This rod, coupled with my Penn reel loaded with 50 lb powerpro, has handled everything that has hooked up with the plug, all but one. The largest I have hooked up with it has been a 40lb Ulua, handled it no problems
Reviewed by: Lopchong (Kauai)

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

SURF SIDE

2012-10-25T12:29:16

10/25/2012 12:29:16 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This pole is one of the best surf poles i have ever owned i have custom built rods that don't compare. The tec that went into this and the quality of the craftsmanship is un surpassed
Reviewed by: scottvelit (New Jersey)

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

2012-10-25T12:28:00

10/25/2012 12:28:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

ive had this rod for a month and this is the best surf rod i have out performs my weaker gloomis rods by a long shot. i can easily throw 90+ yards with a 6 ounce sinker and a bluegille on the hook and when it comes to pulling in a fish i havent hooked a fish yet that could put any stress on the rod at all. it holds a 6-16 ounce sinker and i guess ill have to go saltwater fishing to really test this rod out and i know it will take a heck of a fish to bend this rod, oh and its light weight for such a big rod
Reviewed by: BIGCATSLAYER (BLAINE,KY)

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

Best bang for your buck

2012-10-25T12:27:26

10/25/2012 12:27:26 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Used the 10' 6" mojo surf for sturgeon fishing from a dock. The honey hole is about 100 yds out. Matched with an abu 6501TCS (C3) I had no problems reaching the hole using a 4 oz sinker and 20 lb P-Line. I landed at least 30 fish durring the season and more than 5 of the fish where over 8'. The main advantage this rod gives me over any of my other "long-rods" in the same line class is head control on some of the biggest fish. I plan on buying the new 11' Mojo casting rod here shortly for greater casting distances and for the few fish over 9'' that I lost last year that I was not able to turn quick enough and busted me off on the rocks near a rock wall that is upstream from the dock. Love light tackle sturgeon fishing and can''t wait for the season to start again!
Reviewed by: RangerPoe

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

Pretty good surf rod

2012-10-25T09:43:09

10/25/2012 9:43:09 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I bought the 10'6 mojo spin rod and am pretty happy with it.
A couple things I would like to see different is the size of the eyelets be a little bigger. They are fairly small for surf spin rods which hamper casting distance a little. It also hurts if you like to use a shock leader. I use 20 lb mono (hi-vis) and a 50 lb fluorocarbon shock leader and the Albright knot gets banged up going through the eyelets. I don't know if I would trust it with a big striper (the knot, not the rod). I will most likely switch to a braid. I wish the reel holder would have larger openings for bigger reels. I use a Penn 760L Slammer which the reel does not seem to fit as nice. Although, the weight of the 760L is about what you need to keep the rod balanced. One thing I really like is the number of eyelets. It offers a lot of support fighting fish in the surf. And lastly, be warned if you are not buying this at the store, the rod is 2 pieces BUT it is not 50/50 in length for both halves. The butt end is about 3 feet and then the rest. If you travel around in a car you might have problems.
Reviewed by: bnc (Frederick, MD)

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

Best bang for the buck

2012-10-25T09:41:56

10/25/2012 9:41:56 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

St. Croix has done it again. The Mojo surf rods do it all and with conviction.
By far the very best rod for the money.
Reviewed by: GimpyLures (NJ)

 
St. Croix Mojo Surf

GREAT SURF ROD

2012-10-25T09:41:15

10/25/2012 9:41:15 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

REALLY NICE LOOKING ROD AND IT CASTS LIKE A DREAM. GOT THE 10-6 MH MODEL AND IT THROWS A 4 OZ WEIGHT WITH EASE. I COUPLED IT WITH A PENN 5000 BATTLE AND 16 LB TOURNAMENT ANDE LINE. NO PROBLEMS WITH WIND KNOTS IN A WEEK OF FISHING. LANDED A 3 FT DUSKY SHARK AFTER THREE RUNS...NO PROBLEM. I READ ALL THE BAD REVIEWS AND JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND THE PROBLEMS.
A GREAT ROD!
Reviewed by: ZEBU

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Mojo Surf Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: