Search

Megabass :: OROCHI X4

 

Megabass OROCHI X4

Overall Customer Rating: 5 of 5 stars Megabass OROCHI X4 Rods 5 out of 5 (4 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Megabass
Series: Megabass
Model: OROCHI X4

Megabass OROCHI X4 models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

FX-81X4

8'1"

1/4-2

10-30

Fast

Black Python

FX-711X4

7'11"

1/4-2

10-30

Fast

SEVEN ELEVEN

F6-72X4

7'2"

3/8-3. 1/4

12-30

Medium Fast

Destruction. Swimbaits, Deep Crankbaits, Slow Rolling, Jigs

F6-71X4

7'1"

3/8-3

12-30

Medium Fast

MAT BUCKER

F6-68X4

6'8"

3/8-1. 1/2

10-25

Medium Fast

Cover Hacking

F5-68X4

6'8"

3/8-1

10-25

Regular

Super Orochi

F4.1/2-70X4

7'0"

1/4-3/4

8-20

Medium Fast

Black ELSEIL

F4-65X4

6'5"

1/4-3/4

8-20

Regular

ONETEN STICK

F3-68X4

6'8"

1/4-3/4

8-18

Regular

RattleViper-Technical Game

F2.1/2-64X4

6'4"

1/8-1/2

6-12

Ultra ExtraFast

The Hedgehog


* All OROCHI X4 Rods specifications from the official Megabass catalog. Megabass reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Megabass OROCHI X4

 
Megabass OROCHI X4

2012-11-10T17:18:24

11/10/2012 5:18:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

the F6-72X4 Destruction being the best choice in the X4 lineup to handle all those techniques, mostly because it's a very capable deep crank rod. It may be a touch on the heavy side for Vision 110's and 3/8 oz. tubes, but it'll still handle them just fine. I've thrown a Pointer 100's and pitched 3/8 oz jigs on the Destruction and have been very happy with it's performance. The F5-68X4 Super Orochi is an outstanding "all purpose" Medium Heavy type rod great for Vision 110's, senkos, spinnerbaits, but I'd rather have the Destruction for the larger tubes especially in deep water.
Reviewed by: Bronzefly (East TN)

 
Megabass OROCHI X4

F3-68X4 The Big Snake

2012-10-17T12:00:38

10/17/2012 12:00:38 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The handle is a very finely smoothed cork that features a high-balancing end cap to give the rod great balance and feel in your hands. The reel seat itself features high-polished custom Fuji components that blend beautifully with the rod and and quick tapering handle. The handle was critically designed by pros who have to fish all day to allow for good grip and comfort on long days of jerking and twitching a rod.

The guides are Fuji stainless steel SiC inserts that complete the solid feel and performance of the rod.

But the meat of this rod is how the materials are wrapped around the blank to give it a small profile yet incredibly strong and light backbones. Normally you think the lighter it is the weaker it is. But this rod is multilayered with tightly woven graphite in a braided matrix. There is a 4-braid layer of carbon graphite that is laid over a 2-braid layer of carbon fiber. They are laid across each other in opposite directions. The best explanation I heard was to take a “+” and then lay an “x” on top of it so you had two layers that went in all the directions to make it uniformly stronger while not adding weight.

The blanks are extremely narrow yet feel extremely solid and the F3 denotes a medium power in the X4 line of rods. So the rod has great backbone but has a bit softer power and moderate action. What this enables you to do is work a jerkbait or a small jig with miniscule twitches and pops of the rod and keep the bait in the fish’s zone longer. You feel the action of the bait and are able to control the slightest of movements with the rod.

We tested this rod on the water for a couple of weeks. We paired the Orochi F3-68X4 rod with the new Abu Garcia Revo MGX reel. We spooled it up with 12-pound Trilene XL Armor Coated and tested it with Megabass Ito Vision 110 + 1 jerkbaits and Cumberland Pro Lures 3/8 ounce Pro Caster jigs.

The rod will launch a jerkbait and small jig alike. The rod loads nicely to about 40 percent and fires the baits with precision over long distances. The rod is well balanced. We would shorten the rod handle just a bit for jerkbait fishing in colder weather. The rod handle is long for distance casting but it did snag in the sleeve a time or two while fishing a jerkbait with a downward jerk. But when you hit a fish, it's nice to be able to lay that long handle along your forearm with the butt in your ribs and get a good hookset on a fish.

The rod is very sensitive and was very comfortable to fish all day. That can be a huge advantage when jerking all day trying to coax weary winter bass into falling for a jerkbait mimic dying forage. The rod spared no expense in design, formulation, concept and performance. When you take the materials and add the painstaking trial and testing of these rods by the designers, engineers and pro staff, you get a top-of-the-line rod.

The price point will be a sticker for many anglers. At $369, the expense can be very hard to justify. We have plenty of $79 rods that have performed well enough. But when you get to this level in materials, proprietary craftsmanship, and performance, it's going to raise the price significantly. This is not a rod you buy 10 of. You buy one of these for your favorite techniques as budget allows. Then you take extra caution to care for the rod.

The rod comes with a beautiful rod sock that is not only thick and protective but also looks good with a zipper enclosure on the handle end and tie straps and padding for shortening and protecting the tip section of the rod. Add to that a 3-year defect-free warranty and you’ve got an investment in your fishing and fun.

I liken rods like this to Ferraris. Most of us will never be able to afford a Ferrari, but if we could, it sure would be a lot of fun to own. And we all like to window shop and check out what's under the hood with top of the line gear whether it's motorcycles or fishing rods.

That's where these enthusiast line of rods fall. If you can afford to get one, you'll be glad you did and have a ton of fun fishing with it. Not to mention you'll be the envy of all your fishing buddies and tournament competitors. It's definitely a conversation piece, and we've had a lot of fun fishing with it and talking to guys on the water about it.
Reviewed by: wired2fish

 
Megabass OROCHI X4

2012-08-15T15:06:00

8/15/2012 3:06:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Megabass Orochi Mat Bucker F6-71x4 is prolly the best frog rod i ever used and i like it more than the Steez Frog rod by far.
Reviewed by: Pen

 
Megabass OROCHI X4

2012-05-20T15:03:30

5/20/2012 3:03:30 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Im really loving my Megabass Orochi FX-711X4 Seven Eleven for my A-Rig dutys. and its only a 2oz rated stick HOWEVER you will be lob casting it anyhow or flat wearing your self out so any stick rated in the 2 oz range will cover most A-rig dutys for you so long as you aren't snap casting over hand and if you are doing that then you better have enough rod to handle it as that puts mega stress on a rod blank. So as long as you are lob casting then you can get away with a 2 oz rated stick throwing a 3oz bait. Out of all the rods Ive played with an A-Rig on the Seven Eleven has been my fav!
Reviewed by: Wicked Reelz

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Megabass OROCHI X4 Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: