Search

St. Croix :: Freshwater Rods :: Panfish

 

St. Croix Panfish

Overall Customer Rating: 5 of 5 stars St. Croix Panfish Rods 5 out of 5 (5 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Panfish

St. Croix Panfish models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Spinning

PFS50ULM

5'

1

1/16 - 1/4

2 - 6

Moderate

Ultra Light

2.0

Spinning

PFS54ULF

5'4"

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.2

Spinning

PFS60ULF

6'

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.5

Spinning

PFS69ULF

6'9"

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.8

Spinning

PFS70LXF

7'

1

1/16 - 3/16

2 - 6

Extra Fast

Light

3.1

Spinning

PFS80LMF2

8'

2

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Moderate Fast

Light

3.7

Spinning

PFS90LMF2

9'

2

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Moderate Fast

Light

4.0

Spinning

PFS100LMF2

10'

2

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Moderate Fast

Light

4.6

Spinning

PFS110LMF2

11'

2

1/16 - 1/4

4 - 8

Moderate Fast

Light

5.0


* All Panfish Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Panfish

 
St. Croix Panfish

Awesome rod

2016-04-12T08:56:03

4/12/2016 8:56:03 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 8 footer and its a blast to fish with! I've recently been catching a lot of 1-2 lb jack perch on it and yesterday reeled in an 8lb Northern. The Rod was bent in half at one point but performed flawlessly. I just ordered a 7' XF for finesse jigging. Great product!
Reviewed by: mark (Fingerlakes, NY)

 
St. Croix Panfish

St. Croix Panfish Series

2012-10-25T14:18:49

10/25/2012 2:18:49 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

If you're into crappie, bluegill or perch fishing you're going to love St. Croix's latest and greatest, the perfectly named Panfish Series. This new series features two awesome platforms from which to choose. First we have the spinning rods that go up to 7′ in ultra-light and light powers with crisp actions designed to protect your ultra light lines from bull gills and mega crappies!. If you like dropping jigs into brush piles and dabbling around dock pillions and who doesn't? the 8′ to 11′ models with moderate-fast actions have raised the performance bar when it comes to long, light power spinning rods. The Panfish Series is changing the way fishermen view fishing these pint size bruisers of the fish world.

The blanks are made from Premium quality SCII graphite combined with high-modulus/high-strain SCVI graphite for optimal weight, sensitivity and balance.They are designed to provide you superior performance while targeting our tasty friends the crappie, perch and bluegill.

The rod is clad with Pac Bay Minima guides which is a weight saving of 20-30% when compared to ceramic guides, and they also give you greater sensitivity.Topping off the component list on these rods is a Pac Bay Minima reel seat with a custom insert which they say gives you even more sensitivity and comfort. Then these sweet stixs are finished with premium-grade cork handle for all day comfort!

This series of rods are going to be a game changer in the panfish world for sure. It is a series that only a diehard panhead would think of!

Quality
Doesn't St.Croix mean high quality in French? Well it might not really mean that but these rods are sure to make a great case for that definition to be add to the Webster.
Reliability

These skillful crafted rods give you the power to muscle fish from their haunts while protecting the ultra-light stealth lines that we panheads use in the clear waters of the north.The rods are durable, sensitive and are fantastically well designed rods, that will last well past the 5 year warranty St. Croix is offering.
Price/Value

The series starts at $100 for its 5 foot ultra-light and goes up to $180 for it brush pile master stick ,the 11 foot light rod.These rods are at the top of the price curve for many panheads, but few rods series have tried to answer the demands of the pan-fisherman. St. Croix is daring to do that with this series. Which sets it apart from the rest of the field at the top.

Referability
If your a serious panhead like me this is a rod series you need to look into. This will change how you look at rods for the tasty fish we all like to target.
Reviewed by: Justin Clark

 
St. Croix Panfish

2012-10-25T14:12:46

10/25/2012 2:12:46 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Just ordered the 7' with extra fast tip, showed
up in a couple days but it was jammed into the shipping tube.
Managed to get it out but one of the guides was bent/broken.
They're sending me another no problem, I'm just more than
disappointed in the reelseat/handle. I have big hands and
this handle just ain''t gonna do. Love the rod and the lite
weight guides guess I''m gonna have to get creative and try
to put on a Tennessee style cork handle, just don''t get
why these companies don''t offer them anymore. They have no
problem putting them on ice rods,,, I''ve caught 10 # eyes
even a 20# cat on a Tennessee handle with no problem.
Reviewed by: Fishkins

 
St. Croix Panfish

St Croix panfish series

2012-10-25T14:02:11

10/25/2012 2:02:11 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have this one. It is by far the best rod for casting jigs that I have ever used.
Reviewed by: shorebound (Cynthiana, KY)

 
St. Croix Panfish

2012-10-25T14:00:22

10/25/2012 2:00:22 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Very interesting rods. I am very familiar with St Croix. I have many of their rods and I rate them as one of the overall best rod builders. This is a new blank for them. It combines scII premier blank material with their top of the line scVI material. I'll bet it's going to be one of the best panfish rods maybe even light walleye rod I have had my hands on. I'll have to go out today and see if I can find any locally and have a look see. It isn''t cheap, but $100 to $180 and $120 for my favorite 7 ft length isn''t excessive if the rod is a hit. I like the minimus reel seats and the color.
Reviewed by: GRIZZ (Lakewood, NY/Dunedin, FL)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Panfish Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: