Search

St. Croix :: Freshwater Rods :: Premier Casting

 

St. Croix Premier Casting

Overall Customer Rating: 4.77 of 5 stars St. Croix Premier Casting Rods 4.77 out of 5 (39 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Premier Casting

St. Croix Premier Casting models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

PC56MF

5'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Fast

Medium

3.5

Casting

PC60MLF2

6'

2

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.7

Casting

PC60MF

6'

1

1/4 - 3/4

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

3.8

Casting

PC60MHF

6'

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

3.9

Casting

PC66MLF

6'6"

1

3/16 - 5/8

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Light

4.2

Casting

PC66MF

6'6"

1

1/4 - 3/4

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

4.0

Casting

PC66MF2

6'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

4.0

Casting

PC66MHF

6'6"

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.5

Casting

PC66MHF2

6'6"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.6

Casting

PC66HF

6'6"

1

1/2 - 1 1/2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.2

Casting

PC610HMF

6'10"

1

1/4 - 1

12 - 25

Moderate Fast

Heavy

4.8

Casting

PC70MLF

7'

1

3/16 - 5/8

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Light

4.4

Casting

PC70MF

7'

1

1/4 - 3/4

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

4.2

Casting

PC70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.7

Casting

PC70HF

7'

1

1/2 - 1 1/2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.4

Casting

PC70HF2

7'

2

1/2 - 1 1/2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.4

Casting

PC76LM

7'6"

1

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 10

Moderate

Light

5.0

Casting

PC76HF

7'6"

1

1/2 - 1 1/2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.9

Crankbait

PC66MM

6'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Moderate

Medium

3.6

Crankbait

PC66MHM

6'6"

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium Heavy

4.2

Crankbait

PC70MM

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Moderate

Medium

3.8

Crankbait

PC70MHM

7'

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium Heavy

4.5

Crankbait

PC70HM

7'

1

1/2 - 1 3/8

12 - 25

Moderate

Heavy

5.1

Glass Musky

PGM80HM

8'

1

1 - 8

20 - 60

Moderate

Heavy

11.5

Musky

PM63XHF

6'3"

1

3 - 8

36 - 80

Fast

Extra Heavy

7.0

Musky

PM66MHF

6'6"

1

3/4 - 3

20 - 50

Fast

Medium Heavy

6.9

Musky

PM69XHF

6'9"

1

3 - 8

36 - 80

Fast

Extra Heavy

8.5

Musky

PM610MF

6'10"

1

1/2 - 2

17 - 30

Fast

Medium

7.1

Musky

PM70MHF

7'

1

3/4 - 3

20 - 50

Fast

Medium Heavy

7.1

Musky

PM70MHF2

7'

2

3/4 - 3

20 - 50

Fast

Medium Heavy

7.7

Musky

PM70HF2

7'

2

2 - 6

30 - 65

Fast

Heavy

8.3

Musky

PM76MHF

7'6"

1

3/4 - 3

20 - 50

Fast

Medium Heavy

9.4

Musky

PM76HF

7'6"

1

2 - 6

30 - 65

Fast

Heavy

9.5

Musky

PM79XXXHF

7'9"

1

8 - 30

65 - 100

Fast

XXXH

11.5

Musky

PM80MHF

8'

1

3/4 - 3

20 - 50

Fast

Medium Heavy

9.6

Musky

PM80HF

8'

1

2 - 6

30 - 65

Fast

Heavy

10.2

Musky

PM86HF

8'6"

1

2 - 6

30 - 65

Fast

Heavy

11.0

Musky

PM86XHF

8'6"

1

4 - 10

36 - 80

Fast

Extra Heavy

10.7


* All Premier Casting Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Premier Casting

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Does the job well

2012-10-25T12:40:22

10/25/2012 12:40:22 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Being my first pole I don't have much for comparison. This year was my first year targeting musky, after losing fish on bass rod I knew I needed this rod. So far no complaints. Really helped me maneuver a 40 in fish , allowing me to net it with no one there to help. Not super stiff either, very sturdy rod.
Reviewed by: Stance (Wv)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

another great rod

2012-10-25T12:38:00

10/25/2012 12:38:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i own approx. 18 st croix rods, this affordable rod is another example of the quality product that they produce. that is why i continue to purchase only this brand. also, if you prefer better quality rod st. croix will buy that rod back for a fare price towards the purchase of another.
Reviewed by: fishingman (atlantic county, nj)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

can''t miss rods

2012-10-24T23:16:32

10/24/2012 11:16:32 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own the 6'6 medium and med. heavy rods. the medium is a little light for larger cranks but does have great action. My MH is paired with shimano citica, will throw a mile and has become my favorite.
Great rod for crankbaits.
Reviewed by: smallmouthnut

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

the best

2012-10-24T23:15:53

10/24/2012 11:15:53 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod for jigging lakers and walleye
Reviewed by: Colorado Fisher (Colorado)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

PC70MM Review

2012-10-24T23:15:06

10/24/2012 11:15:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is simply awesome. This is my go to rod for throwing my crank of choice a 1/2 oz rat-l-trap. It has so much feel to it I know exactly was is going on under the surface. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a cranking rod.
Reviewed by: Xpressman (Iowa)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

St Croix cranking rod 7Ft. MH

2012-10-24T23:14:14

10/24/2012 11:14:14 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is my second technique specific rod and I absolutely love this rod. My casting has gotten longer and more accurate, the rod has enough backbone to pull them out of the weeds and sensitive enough to feel the wobble/action of the baits being tossed, and light enough not to get fatigued after a day of cranking. I would love to have more of these, they are great.
Highly recommended!
Reviewed by: Ironthumb (Torrance, CA)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Great Crankbait Rod

2012-10-24T23:13:32

10/24/2012 11:13:32 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rods with just the right action for casting crankbaits. Have many other St. Croix rods and have been satisfied with them all!
Reviewed by: JayThaViking (Lorain, Ohio)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Great Crankbait rods!

2012-10-24T23:12:56

10/24/2012 11:12:56 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

These are the only cranking rods I buy now. I own 3 of the St. Croix Premier Series Crankbait rods and use them for all of my Crankbait fishing.
Great feel and strong rods.
Reviewed by: Mjack

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Great Rod

2012-10-24T23:12:20

10/24/2012 11:12:20 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I use the 7' medium for smallmouths, and it is perfect for throwing Rat-LTraps!
Reviewed by: ghostnote (United States, Michigan)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

great rod

2012-10-24T23:05:16

10/24/2012 11:05:16 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own rods from several companies in price ranges from $39 to $250 and I've found that the premier rods are my favorite and are always in my boat. They're light, comfortable, sensitive, rugged and dependable. even among rods twice the price, they easily hold their own.
Reviewed by: basshunter (new england)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

this rod is garbage

2012-10-24T23:04:20

10/24/2012 11:04:20 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

Premier is the worst st croix i every used. of course the price is lower then most high quality rods. they hardly replace broken rods and also its not a longer lasting rod. who knows when it would snap on you. Just to tell you my opinion that this rod is not worth its value and probably would give you problems along your fishing career.
Reviewed by: Gtsoi (brooklyn, NY)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

St. Croix rod

2012-10-24T23:03:35

10/24/2012 11:03:35 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is my second St. Croix Premier series casting rod. I fish in a number of Bass tournaments and could not be happier with it's performance. This rod is outstanding for casting plastics, and the six foot length offers great control.
Reviewed by: Pintail (San Diego, CA)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Good

2012-10-24T23:02:42

10/24/2012 11:02:42 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Good action, can feel everything just about. Nice pole, really lives up to its name. Good job, and thanks
Reviewed by: rickyricardo (Helena, MT)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

PC66MF2 trigger rod dont buy.Poor Customer service

2012-10-24T23:02:03

10/24/2012 11:02:03 PM 2 of 5 stars 2 out of 5 stars

My PC66MF2 trigger rod casts great. However the front half migrates from the 12 O'clock position to the 2 O'clock position after a couple of hours of casting. Twice, I sent it back to SC. The first time they said nothing wrong just use ferrule cement(which they sent me). The second time, they said "in their experience the customer is usually at fault and offered to keep the rod and sell me a new one for $75). I told them to send the rod back. I paid shipping to and from both times. I have tried everything short of Super Glue. the top half still migrates. Now the upper half sits at the two o'clock postion. the rod has never separated on a cast. I use it alot. It casts great, looks ugley and it appears that SC is not concerned about why this rod does not function properly.
Don''t buy this rod. If you have a problem like mine, you cannot count on receiving decent customer service.
Reviewed by: DrPete (Derwood Md)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

premier rod

2012-10-24T23:00:40

10/24/2012 11:00:40 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

This rod enabled me to put pressure on a big fish(36 inch Striped Bass) with no fear of losing it. Great rod.
Reviewed by: stevegunnar (Little Egg harbor New Jersey)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

St. Croix Premier Casting Rods Great $ Value

2012-10-24T22:59:34

10/24/2012 10:59:34 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

You can buy more expensive rods, but you can't buy a more dependable American made rod. I have two that do exactly what they are designed to do.
Rinse them off and dry them after use and they will last forever.
Great $ value.
Reviewed by: RGOBKCA (Sugar Land, Texas)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

ST. CROIX PREMIER ROD

2012-10-24T22:58:35

10/24/2012 10:58:35 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I HAVE OTHER ST. CROIX SPIN CASTING RODS. THIS IS MY FIRST ST.CROIX BAITCAST ROD AND ALL I CAN SAY IS I DO NOT KNOW WHY I WAITED SO LONG. THEY ARE THE MOST SENSITIVE RODS I HAVE EVER FISHED WITH. I WILL BUY NO OTHER RODS.
Reviewed by: CSHAT (Pennsylavania)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

good ole st croix

2012-10-24T22:57:56

10/24/2012 10:57:56 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

have a collection of premier series st croix rods...and i absolutely love them all. they are all super sensitive and I've never snapped one once (you should never snap any rod. thats what your drag is for). i have 1 pc and 2 pc rods and they are all great. (if you leave the 2 piece rods together for the first 2 months or so of use, they will have a tighter fit. they are a little tough gettin on and off, but thats what you want...the snugger the better)
Reviewed by: Moe (Middletown, DE)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Wonderful Rods

2012-10-24T22:56:40

10/24/2012 10:56:40 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've used the 2-piece 6'6" MH casting rod for almost 10 years now, and never had a problem with it. It feels more like a heavy action rod, which suits me great because I do a lot of pike fishing. I've been using this with a 5500C3, and the combo is great. After using this rod, I eventually picked up another 6'' M casting rod and a couple of spinning rods, all of which have exceeded my expectations.
Reviewed by: PharmDstudent (Omaha, NE)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Buy One, You will be glad you did

2012-10-24T22:55:51

10/24/2012 10:55:51 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I replaced a Falcon rod with the 6'6" medium action St. Croix Premier model PC66MHF2 and I am very impressed. This Rod is one of the most sensitive rods I own. I fish with a number of brands and some are twice the price as the St. Croix. I own a total of sixteen rods I use in tournament bass fishing. The St. Croix premier is my new favorite. I also own two St. Croix Mojo Bass rods that are also great rods. Good job St. Croix.
Reviewed by: sgtrlclark (Weatherford, Texas)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Great Pike Rod

2012-10-24T22:54:54

10/24/2012 10:54:54 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Purchased this rod for my Northern Ontario trip to use for catching very large Northerns. It performed flawlessly - very durable and complemented whatever lure I used with it! This was the first St. Croix rod I have ever purchased - loved it so much, look to get another one for my trip this year!
Reviewed by: Walleye (Baldwinsville, NY)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Great rods!

2012-10-24T22:54:12

10/24/2012 10:54:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

These are the only casting, cranking rods I buy now. I own 6 of the St. Croiz Premier Series rods and use them for all of my Crankbait, Spinner bait, Buzzbait and Swim bait fishing. Great feel and strong rods.
Reviewed by: Mjack

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Great Rods

2012-10-24T22:52:49

10/24/2012 10:52:49 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have over 10 St. Croix Rods, very seldom do I purchase any other brand. Well satisfied with St. Croix Rods and recommend to anyone who wants to improve his fishing abilities.
Reviewed by: Jeck (United States, Arkansas)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

St. Croix Premier Rods

2012-10-24T22:51:35

10/24/2012 10:51:35 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Best value, best performance, best product!
Reviewed by: Bunus (United States, Minnesota)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

I now have 3 Premier casting rods

2012-10-24T22:50:54

10/24/2012 10:50:54 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Just picked up a 6'6" MH for spinnerbaits and paddletails out of my Kayak. I now have 3 Premiers (diff models) and would consider more. They are light, strong and sensitive. At this price range (and there is no shortage of choices) you don't get bling, but you get get a quality rod and it is made in the USA !
Reviewed by: GAJ (New Jersey)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Premier Greatness

2012-10-24T22:49:54

10/24/2012 10:49:54 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 6'10" Heavy model and love the rod. These rods are well built and can take the beating of a being fished day in and day out. Everything I have bought with the name St. Croix on it has always impressed me by never letting me down.
Great rod!
Reviewed by: pike (Chesterton, IN)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Best Live Bait Rod Ever

2012-10-24T22:07:15

10/24/2012 10:07:15 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have the 8 foot med heavy power and it is alsome it is a little bit pricy but well worth it
Reviewed by: md (portage indiana)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Great Stick

2012-10-24T22:06:24

10/24/2012 10:06:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great rod for Striped Bass fishing, particularly 3 waying in an area with good currents. Has a sensitive tip and great action, but does not get bogged down by 16 or 24 oz of weight and does not lose its touch with the heavy weight.
Great rod!
Reviewed by: FVSEACAT (CT)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Beautiful rod

2012-10-24T22:05:35

10/24/2012 10:05:35 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I borrowed the 7-6 MH rod from a friend of mine, and my first impression was that it was a bit thick and stiff for a medium heavy rod. Then I attached my reel to it, and I was then impressed with how light the combo was. I eventually became a huge fan after casting big bucktails with it all day. I ended up buying my own a few days later. That was last year, and now I have 2 of these Premier rods.
The Premier rods may seem pricy at first, but then compare them to other similar rods in this price category, and it becomes apparent that these rods are really priced very well. I highly recommend these rods for the serious musky fisherman that still wants to find a good deal at a great price.
Very nice rods!
Reviewed by: chainski (Fox Lake, IL)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

great rod

2012-10-24T22:04:40

10/24/2012 10:04:40 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The St. Croix Premier musky rod is a great rod! Nice balance and good feel in the hand. Casts well and doesn't feel like a broom stick.
Reviewed by: Lakes (Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Great all around rod

2012-10-24T22:04:01

10/24/2012 10:04:01 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Well built. Good feel and action of rod. 7' is perfect for throwing all sized baits. Its worth the money if your serious about big fish hunting.
Reviewed by: bearskinmuskies (St. Charles Il.)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Saltwater Fishing

2012-10-24T22:03:23

10/24/2012 10:03:23 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Performed extremely well while fishing in Los Barrillas (Cabo San Lucas) for Tuna and Dorado.
Didn't have the confidence to use in on the Marlin that we caught.
Reviewed by: MitchT (Cottage Grove, MN)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

St. Croix Premier Muskie Rod

2012-10-24T22:02:27

10/24/2012 10:02:27 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

First, if you're shopping don't be confused or think you're getting a better price by confusing the St. Croix "Premier" with the St. Croix "Premier Musky". There is a difference. The Premier Musky being a better rod. With that said, there is no better rod, the Premier Musky is a top choice for musky fishermen for good reason. Plus I''m a St. Croix fan anyway and all my rods are now St. Croix Avid other than the musky rods and any other rods are now relegated to spares or for guests. I had been out of fishing for many years till moving back to a good fishing area and needed to outfit all over again. I started with the Premier Musky 7'', only because I was afraid of the longer rod, not having been used to one.
But now two years latter I went back to the well and recently got the 8'' MH F as the trend is for longer rods anyway. Got it out in the boat and after a couple of casts you''re quite comfortable with it and the bonus is it is a lure slinging machine. Plus you gain sensitivity and give up nothing on power. It''ll do what ever you want it to do. Do yourself a favor and don''t go cheap.
You''ll be pleased and have the rod forever unless you drive over it.
Reviewed by: ChautauquaBob (Western NY)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Musky rod

2012-10-24T22:01:17

10/24/2012 10:01:17 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

NOT ONLY A NICE MUSKY ROD BUT I USE IT FOR BASS FLIPPING
Reviewed by: ACESCUBA (INDIANA, PA.)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Nice Rod

2012-10-24T22:00:22

10/24/2012 10:00:22 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I tried the rod on a double cowgirl in my backyard pond on a warm day in December. I just wanted to see how the rod handled a large lure. The rod was great both on the cast and the retrieve. It is also long enough to do a good figure 8.
Reviewed by: HUFF (New Haven, IN)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Good Solid Rod

2012-10-24T21:57:27

10/24/2012 9:57:27 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod was an good investment. It can handle the heavy baits and the guides, grip and reel seat are well made.
Reviewed by: rwkeng (Hazelhurst, Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

St. Croix Premier Muskie Casting Rod

2012-10-24T21:56:26

10/24/2012 9:56:26 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I love this rod, plenty of backbone. I now have 2, wish I had more.
Reviewed by: Hawghead (Danville, Arkansas)

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

Great Rod

2012-10-24T21:55:40

10/24/2012 9:55:40 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I got this rod in April and i now have four St Croix rods. This is the best rod I every used for strippers.It has all the backbone you need to handle any size fish.Love this rod.
Reviewed by: Bilcher

 
St. Croix Premier Casting

St. Croix Muskie

2012-10-24T21:53:53

10/24/2012 9:53:53 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent quality and action. I am using this rod for saltwater live bait fishing and it is perfect. Great value compared to most other brand available in this class
Reviewed by: Ansley (United States, Florida)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Premier Casting Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: