Search

St. Croix :: Freshwater Rods :: Premier Spinning

 

St. Croix Premier Spinning

Overall Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5 stars St. Croix Premier Spinning Rods 4.5 out of 5 (20 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Premier Spinning

St. Croix Premier Spinning models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Spinning

PS46ULM

4'6"

1

1/16 - 1/4

2 - 6

Moderate

Ultra Light

1.9

Spinning

PS50ULM

5'

1

1/16 - 1/4

2 - 6

Moderate

Ultra Light

2.0

Spinning

PS56ULF2

5'6"

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.3

Spinning

PS56LF

5'6"

1

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

2.4

Spinning

PS56MF

5'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

2.7

Spinning

PS60ULF

6'

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.6

Spinning

PS60ULF2

6'

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.6

Spinning

PS60LF

6'

1

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

2.7

Spinning

PS60MLF

6'

1

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.3

Spinning

PS60MLF2

6'

2

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.4

Spinning

PS60MF

6'

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.4

Spinning

PS60MF2

6'

2

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.5

Spinning

PS60MHF

6'

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

3.9

Spinning

PS66ULF

6'6"

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.7

Spinning

PS66ULF2

6'6"

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.9

Spinning

PS66LF

6'6"

1

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

2.9

Spinning

PS66LF2

6'6"

2

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

3.0

Spinning

PS66MLF

6'6"

1

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.9

Spinning

PS66MLF2

6'6"

2

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.0

Spinning

PS66MF

6'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.8

Spinning

PS66MF2

6'6"

2

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.2

Spinning

PS66MHF

6'6"

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.3

Spinning

PS66MHF2

6'6"

2

1/2 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.3

Spinning

PS70ULF2

7'

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.8

Spinning

PS70MLF

7'

1

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.0

Spinning

PS70MLF2

7'

2

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.0

Spinning

PS70MF

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.1

Spinning

PS70MF2

7'

2

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.3

Spinning

PS70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.6

Spinning

PS70HF

7'

1

1/2 - 1 1/2

10 - 20

Fast

Heavy

5.6

Spinning

PS70HF2

7'

2

1/2 - 1 1/2

10 - 20

Fast

Heavy

5.7

Spinning

PS70XHF

7'

1

3/4 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Extra Heavy

5.9

Spinning

PS76MLF

7'6"

1

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.2

Spinning

PS86LM2

8'6"

2

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

4.3

Travel Spinning

PS60LF4

6'

4

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

2.8

Travel Spinning

PS66MLF3

6'6"

3

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.3

Travel Spinning

PS70MF3

7'

3

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.6


* All Premier Spinning Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Premier Spinning

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Best Middle-of-the-road Rod I''ve Ever Owned

2017-10-02T21:27:00

10/2/2017 9:27:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Wanted to throw light lures a decent distance and still have some backbone for feisty smallmouth bass or decent sized trout. Still I wanted to have some panfish fun when throwing bait under a float. Matched with a Shimano Stradic CI4 Plus the balance is near perfection. Rod is PS56LF1 - wanted the shorter length for small stream fishing in brush shaded areas. Rod fits the bill on all levels, at a great price, and fishing is fun anew. Spooled with 4 lb Nanofil seems like I can cast a long way with little effort and can continue to do so all day without fatigue (I'm 60 so the joints arn't what they used to be)- THink I found my go-to setup.
Reviewed by: MED (Central Ohio)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Very Good in their Price Category

2017-01-21T11:35:46

1/21/2017 11:35:46 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I have used St. Croix "Premier" class rods for many years in both spinning and fly configurations. I think they are among the best rods in this price category. I am NOT a fan of the latest split handle craze in spinning rods (I HATE split handles) so I appreciate the traditional design fo the premier series. I have never broken any of the half dozen or so that I have owned but I know people that have. However, in my opinion all the breakage was due to abuse and not the fault of the rod. For anyone that has never used a St. Croix before they should be aware that St. Croix rods tend to be on the fast and stiff side of their rating compared to most other brands. Normally I choose rods that I will load with line that is in the middle of the recommended range. With St. Croix rods I load at the high end or even a step heavier than the stated range. These are very good rods. I don't consider them perfect but I have never held a rod at any price that I thought was completely perfect.
Reviewed by: FishingGeezer (Central Kentucky)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Great rod!!,

2013-02-08T08:20:17

2/8/2013 8:20:17 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is an excellent rod! I got the 5 foot ultra light for small trout fishing and it handles it perfectly! It is super sensitive, light, casts a mile, and has the backbone to handle 20 inch+ trout!
Reviewed by: Fishingstar (Missouri)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Great rod

2012-10-26T23:29:37

10/26/2012 11:29:37 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

(Med 6'6)
Very light, strong, & sensitive. I''ve landed many bass, crappie/perch, & a 30+lb channel cat, the best test yet...
The rod also does great for light sw off docks/piers/yaks for fluke, stripers, or bluefish.
Reviewed by: Slata (RI)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Very Good Rod

2012-10-25T00:05:52

10/25/2012 12:05:52 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased a 7' ML action rod. it has been an excellent rod. Very sensitive. With my shimano reel , its a great combination. This winds up being my "go to" pole. I don't think you can go wrong with st. croix.
Reviewed by: rdmill (clarke county,Iowa)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Good rod, great price

2012-10-25T00:05:03

10/25/2012 12:05:03 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

light weight and reliable. I have had one over 20 years and just purchased another.
Reviewed by: Meggers (CT)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

6ft UL

2012-10-25T00:04:05

10/25/2012 12:04:05 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

Bought this rod to replace an 5ft 6in UL XML that I broke that was used for Crappie and Trout fishing. I loved the XML and for me this ranks just below that for feel. Other than that, it is a good rod for the money and I have not had any issues with it since I bought it.
Reviewed by: Ez (Annandale, MN)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

latest rods faulty

2012-10-25T00:03:13

10/25/2012 12:03:13 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

I have had St Croix surf rods for years and when I took up trout fishing again I went back to St Croix. I now have all my 15 year old St Croix rods and the newest trout rods 3 of them from st croix have broken. Two from pulling line of the reel to re-rig and one the same way to re-worm.
I have switched to Loomis GL3 blanks without any breakage........
So I have 3 broken in St Croix premier available!!!!!
Reviewed by: kto

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Great rod

2012-10-25T00:02:25

10/25/2012 12:02:25 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have many St. Croix rods, the premiers are worth every penny, great rods. You`ll be happy with the purchase.
Reviewed by: ramp

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Made in the USA

2012-10-25T00:01:50

10/25/2012 12:01:50 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Spent a little more money but got a excellent quality item made in the USA.
Reviewed by: CrappieSlayer (Waupaca, Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Great Product So Far

2012-10-25T00:01:16

10/25/2012 12:01:16 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Purchased one of these St. Croix rods as a gift and have gotten a great review from the recipient i.e., "great feel and sensitivity". I am so pleased that I plan to keep the other one for myself!!
Reviewed by: wyecreek (United States, Maryland)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Great Rod

2012-10-25T00:00:31

10/25/2012 12:00:31 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great quality rod at a good price.
Reviewed by: tfahn (United States, Pennsylvania)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Great rod at a reasonable cost

2012-10-24T23:59:47

10/24/2012 11:59:47 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

For the money St. Croix ranks right up there with the 'high-dollar rods.
Reviewed by: HuntedFish

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Quality Rods

2012-10-24T23:58:56

10/24/2012 11:58:56 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have a whole collection of St.Croix Premier rods , in both casting and spinning styles , which never cease to add to my fishing pleasure . I regularly a PS66LF2 for lures to 1/4 oz. and a PS66MLF2 for stuff to 3/8 oz .Both rods are a delight to use and take 10-12 lb.Pike in their stride .
The St.Croix Premier range is always my first choice these days . I have a couple of G.Loomis rods and a pair of Scottish - made Daiwa jerkbait rods not sold in the USA that are all very good but I still day in day out always prefer my St.Croix rods .
Reviewed by: TurboTel (England)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Best fishing rod I have owned

2012-10-24T23:57:33

10/24/2012 11:57:33 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Bought the medium fast action and it's awesome.
Reviewed by: Moosen

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Awesome rod

2012-10-24T23:57:04

10/24/2012 11:57:04 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Only been out a few times with the rod but it works wonders. Action is perfect would buy another one.
Reviewed by: Ajcarr

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Best Value

2012-10-24T23:56:06

10/24/2012 11:56:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've been a fan of St. Croix rods for twenty years and their Premier line doesn't disappoint. Great rod for the money, good balance and feel realing in walleye and sheepshead in Lake Erie.
Reviewed by: MichiganEncoreHunter (United States, Michigan)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

St croix rod

2012-10-24T23:55:08

10/24/2012 11:55:08 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

great rod, made in st croix Wisconsin!
Reviewed by: 4seasonsoutdoors (United States, Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Sweet rod!

2012-10-24T23:54:32

10/24/2012 11:54:32 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Used this rod with 6 lb test to land a 37" muskie while walleye fishing. Took a half-hour, but the rod had the strength to keep control of the fish.
Great rod!
Reviewed by: Eyefishermanlund (United States, Iowa)

 
St. Croix Premier Spinning

Best Rod I''ve Ever Owned

2012-10-24T23:53:42

10/24/2012 11:53:42 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased a 5'6 ultra light St. Croix primarily for Wiper fishing. I have landed multiple +8 lb fish, and the rod continue to hold up. This rod has great sensitivity and feel. I would strongly recommend this to anyone!
Reviewed by: Wiperfisherman (Kearney, NE)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Premier Spinning Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: