Search
 

St. Croix Rage

Overall Customer Rating: 4.06 of 5 stars St. Croix Rage Rods 4.06 out of 5 (16 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Rage

St. Croix Rage models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

RC68MF

6'8"

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

4.3

Casting

RC68MXF

6'8"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Extra Fast

Medium

4.2

Casting

RC68MHF

6'8"

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.5

Casting

RC610MXF

6'10"

1

1/8 - 5/16

10 - 14

Extra Fast

Medium

4.5

Casting

RC71MF

7'1"

1

1/4 - 5/8

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

4.4

Casting

RC71MHF

7'1"

1

3/8 - 1

12 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.6

Casting

RC71MHXF

7'1"

1

5/16 - 3/4

12 - 17

Extra Fast

Medium Heavy

4.8

Casting

RC72MM

7'2"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 14

Moderate

Medium

3.9

Casting

RC74HF

7'4"

1

3/8 - 1 1/2

14 - 25

Fast

Heavy

5.6

Casting

RC76MHMF

7'6"

1

3/8 - 1 1/4

12 - 25

Moderate Fast

Medium Heavy

6.0

Casting

RC78MHM

7'8"

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Moderate

Medium Heavy

4.7

Casting

RC711HMF

7'11"

1

1/2 - 2

14 - 30

Moderate Fast

Heavy

5.9

Spinning

RS68MXF

6'8"

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Medium

4.0

Spinning

RS610MLXF

6'10"

1

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Medium Light

4.0

Spinning

RS610MXF

6'10"

1

1/8 - 5/16

6 - 12

Extra Fast

Medium

4.4

Spinning

RS71MF

7'1"

1

3/16 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.2

Spinning

RS71MHF

7'1"

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 14

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.6


* All Rage Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Rage

 
St. Croix Rage

Amazing yet brittle

2015-10-11T21:18:20

10/11/2015 9:18:20 PM

Bought a 6'8" MF and absolutely loved it. Casting distance was dramatically improved and the strength to get fish on top of water was great. Fished five times with it and it snapped 6" from the tip of the rod. Was replaced and second time on water snapped in the same place. Both times was picking up a small fish into the boat, a 10 inch bass and 13 inch pike. Was in dis-belief. Took rod to Park Falls and traded for Premier 7'. Hopefully this one holds up.
Reviewed by: Muskykiller83 (Central Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Rage

6''10"

2014-05-07T19:43:40

5/7/2014 7:43:40 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

I love how it casts but the one thing I don't like is how the tip bends so easy and for some reason the tip dosent want to stay straight any more its like permently bent alittle but it bothers me I would go with the eyecon cheaper and better.
Reviewed by: Hunter Madden (Peshtigo Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Rage

St croix rage

2013-03-19T05:01:17

3/19/2013 5:01:17 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Just bought 1 and found the tip is damn sensitive and the 8-14lb rod proven to be 1 of the best price rod. Have try the g loomis NRX but prices wise too high for me. So I just go ahead with this, first st croix rod and never regret.
Reviewed by: Marco tng (Singapore )

 
St. Croix Rage

2012-10-25T14:30:07

10/25/2012 2:30:07 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

I have lots of St.Croix rods and had never had a problem, until I bought a rage rod. My Rage spinning rod foregrip came loose and moves all over. I used rod tape and don't have that problem anymore. Another guy I talked to said he had the same thing happen with a casting rod. I'd upgrade to an Avid series rod and be done with it. I have a Rage casting rod and I love it and have never had a problem with it.
Reviewed by: Bluebasser

 
St. Croix Rage

Best rod ever bought

2012-10-25T13:28:31

10/25/2012 1:28:31 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Have used the mojo bass for many years and have never had any issues and have amazing sensitivity, I could not believe for an additional fifty dollars I would have one of the most sensitive and powerful rods ever created. I bought the 7 foot 1 inch medium action fast taper rod for crank baits and I can feel every tick of grass, every rock, and even mussel shells. What an incredible rod. The handle with neoprene has an awesome feel to it and feels even better when it's wet. A must buy and def my top pick for i cast 2012!
Reviewed by: Scottiekay (Stewartstown, PA)

 
St. Croix Rage

Ball so hard

2012-10-25T13:27:51

10/25/2012 1:27:51 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I received the 7 4 heavy power rod for Christmas and intend to use it for pike fishing with lighter lures. The micro guides on these rods are awesome they add a lot of distance to your cast and the handle is unique and super grippy when it's wet. St croix also use sc3 graphite so it is much more sensitive then the mojo bass line.
Reviewed by: Pabmusky (Ontario)

 
St. Croix Rage

sensitive rod

2012-10-25T13:27:12

10/25/2012 1:27:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

just bought one and have used it a few times, but i love it. i bought a 7' 1" med heavy for worm fishing. using a good floro i feel every bump and have the power to handle a big fish. i will buy another one
Reviewed by: chuck (Mt. Pleasant, TX)

 
St. Croix Rage

Very good rod

2012-10-25T13:26:22

10/25/2012 1:26:22 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

II bought the 7'2" med/moderate for crankbaits. Like the distance when I cast. Very sensitive, Gave it 4 stars, but I'm sure it will go 5 with more use.
Reviewed by: WildBill (Oklahoma)

 
St. Croix Rage

Great Rod

2012-10-25T13:25:05

10/25/2012 1:25:05 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

got this rod bout 2 weeks ago after my veritas broke so tryed something different. great rod very sensitive lot of back bone and very light. can cast it a country mile
Reviewed by: Griffinfishin (Griffin, Ga)

 
St. Croix Rage

Best spinning rod I have ever bought

2012-10-25T13:24:14

10/25/2012 1:24:14 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I recently bought a new st. Croix (rage) rod. It's a 7 ft. 1 inch one piece rod. The feel is like no other & with the new neoprene handle is very comfortable to fish with for hours. I Love It!
Reviewed by: emeyer

 
St. Croix Rage

Rage

2012-10-25T13:23:30

10/25/2012 1:23:30 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I love this rod. I have the 7'1" med. heavy. Its sensitive like a med. but has the back bone of a med. heavy. Plus it casts a mile!
Reviewed by: hatemore (Bonita Springs, FL)

 
St. Croix Rage

Rage ML

2012-10-25T13:22:44

10/25/2012 1:22:44 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod for finesse fishing. It is very light and incredibly strong. There appear to be a few bugs yet to work out. The first one I had snapped while pulling in a small pickerel, but this was replaced and has stood up. Best blank for finesse I have found.
The bigger problem is the plastic reel seat. It is not able to tighten down sufficiently and therefore the reel wobbles a bit which is unnerving when playing a big fish but so far hasn't let go under these conditions-this definitely needs to be fixed before this rod reach the excellent category. I have two of theses and this is an issue for both models.
Reviewed by: BassinMass

 
St. Croix Rage

WEAK!

2012-10-25T09:13:21

10/25/2012 9:13:21 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

i like st croix rods. mojo is good for the money. but this rage rod tip broke the first time on the water. simply pulling a loose drag 3/8 oz shakey head to the keeper.
Reviewed by: norcalbassassassin

 
St. Croix Rage

6''10" ML Rage spinning rod

2012-10-25T09:11:58

10/25/2012 9:11:58 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

There are a few things that I don't really like about this rod and several things that I do. Firstly, the negatives- I am not very fond of the guides. This is my first rod with a micro-guide setup and I don't care for it. I started off using P-Line 8lb fluoro with this rod and ripped it off my reel after the first time fishing with it. I spent more time untangling my line than I did fishing. I have this same line on two other setups and have never had this problem, the micro guides don't seem to be very forgiving when casting and caused me much grief. I switched to FireLine and did not have any other problems. My only other complaint is regarding the guides as well, they are loud. If you have ever used a rod with Recoil guides, then you are familiar with this because these Pac Bay guides are just as loud. Not a huge deal, but a little annoying. On to the good stuff- I love everything else. The handle is extremely comfortable and the rod feels practically weightless in my hands. The SCIII graphite is very sensitive and transmits every little vibration to the user. This rod is fun to fish with, I just wish St. Croix would have put some different guides on it. Despite the guides, I fully intend on purchasing another one of these rods (probably a casting model, I think the micro guides would probably be less of a hassle with a casting reel).
Reviewed by: jhardy (Fort Wayne, IN)

 
St. Croix Rage

Very good

2012-10-25T09:11:05

10/25/2012 9:11:05 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I'm using the 6'8" XF as my topwater rod for largemouth bass, mostly poppers and buzzbaits. With 15# Power Pro braid, it casts far and accurately, has plenty of sensitivity to know if you're lure is running right, and has the backbone to get the fish to the boat. The metal guides feel the same as the Recoil guides, which I also have and like, but I know others aren''t fans. The microguides haven''t given me any issues, but with a large diameter line (mono or fluoro) it may not fly through the guides as well. With small diameter braid it''s very good. I like the handle, too.
Reviewed by: ironrangeoutdoors (United States, Minnesota)

 
St. Croix Rage

Undecided

2012-10-24T22:48:29

10/24/2012 10:48:29 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

I purchased the RAGE 7'2" MM CASTING rod when it arrived I was not impressed. Half of the micro eyes were sealed completely shut with rod varnish and the handle had rod varnish smears on it. The rod didn't have a serial number on it so I couldn't register it with St. Croix, which was unusual because I have 4 other St. Croix rods that are good quality. I contacted St. Croix and they sent me a new rod fast and paid for the shipping of the defective one back to the factory. They said the rod should have never left the factory in that condition. I give them an excellent rating on customer service but will have to wait on the rating of the Rage Rod.
Reviewed by: Codyfish (Cody, WY)

 
St. Croix Rage

St Croix Rage

2012-10-24T22:47:28

10/24/2012 10:47:28 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I could not resist this purchase...I received a gift certificate so off to the store I went. After reviewing all the rod inventory I kept going back to the rage. Holding the rod was sweet. The new grip reminded me of my L&T rods with the ergonomic cork grips but only in a new neoprene material. The micro eyes also got my attention. I bought the 6'8" MF. Though I have not actually caught a fish yet I have been doing some good casting with one of my better reels. Casting is super, and your casting control is the best I have experienced. The micro eyes really worked for me. The action is great. With the St. Croix reputation I just might start buying American rods again. Nothing against other American rod companies, they're simply made for the doctor, lawyer & Indian cheif deep pockets. I certainly do not meet the criteria so I will go with the St Croix.
Reviewed by: fisher (United States, Nevada)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Rage Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: