Search

G. Loomis :: SALMON & STEELHEAD :: Salmon Series

 

G. Loomis Salmon Series

Overall Customer Rating: 4.67 of 5 stars G. Loomis Salmon Series Rods 4.67 out of 5 (6 Reviews)
Manufacturer: G. Loomis
Series: SALMON & STEELHEAD
Model: Salmon Series

G. Loomis Salmon Series models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

SAMR 1024 C

8' 6"

2

1 - 6

10 - 30

Moderate

Heavy

SAMR 1084 C

9'

2

1 - 6

10 - 30

Moderate

Heavy

SAMR 1174 C

9' 9"

2

1 - 6

10 - 30

Moderate

Heavy

SAMR 1265 C

10' 6"

2

1 - 6

10 - 40

Moderate

Heavy

SAMR 1474 C

12' 3"

2

1/2 - 5

10 - 25

Moderate

Heavy

SAPR 982 C

8'2"

1

1/2 - 5

12 - 25

Extra Fast

Magnum Medium

SAPR 983 C

8'2"

1

5/8 - 6

14 - 30

Extra Fast

Magnum Medium

SASR 1002 C GLX

8' 4"

1

1/2 - 5

12 - 25

Extra Fast

Magnum Heavy

SABBR 963 C

8'

1

1 - 3

10 - 20

Fast

Magnum Medium

SABBR 965 C

8'

1

2 - 8

17 - 40

Fast

Magnum Heavy

SAR 1024 S

8' 6"

2

1/2 - 1 1/2

10 - 25

Moderate

Heavy

SAR 1084 S

9'

2

1/2 - 1 1/2

10 - 25

Moderate

Heavy


* All Salmon Series Rods specifications from the official G. Loomis catalog. G. Loomis reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis Salmon Series

 
G. Loomis Salmon Series

G-Loomis/Salmon Series

2012-11-06T08:03:41

11/6/2012 8:03:41 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best fishing pole i have ever owned,it's unbelievable how light this pole is yet it is strong and does not make that cracking noise when the pole is being stressed.My son tried this rod and bought one the same day he was hooked.It is nice having a rod that does all the work by that i mean when i hook salmon on my G-Loomis Sar-1024S you don't feel the fish do to lack of backbone.
Reviewed by: Michael Angelo (Sacramento)

 
G. Loomis Salmon Series

salmon spin G.Loomis

2012-10-17T22:05:42

10/17/2012 10:05:42 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

the rod is a good heavy duty salmon rod, with plenty of poke about it. it is a whopper stopper there is no doubt. however i think the average quality reel seat and single leg guides are a weakness, and are prone to being knocked off. i was also disappointed that the rod didn't even come in a cloth rod bag let alone a cordura safety tube. all the other Loomis products i have purchased have com in a Loomis bag and tube. i think a rod with single leg guides needs to be in a safety tube!
Reviewed by: smithy (England)

 
G. Loomis Salmon Series

Hard Working Rod

2012-10-17T22:04:58

10/17/2012 10:04:58 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

The rod performs well. I mated it with a Shimano Stradic FI5000 and 50# Suffix Braid. I had an opportunity to put it through 3 grueling weeks at various rivers in the Anchorage area. 90+ Silvers/Cohos, and countless numbers of Humpys/Pinks, I had no issues, it has good sensitivity, and good hook setting. I picked up the rod too late to test it out on the Kenai or Russian Rivers for Reds/Sockeye, I will have to wait until next year, but expect no problems. It shouldn't have any problems bringing in a nice Ship Creek King/Chinook either. My only issues are that for the price of the rod, I would have expected a case, and place to put the hook, like on the other Loomis and Lamiglas rods I have. That one issue was a pain, I don't care to lock a hook on the guides, but I had no other choice. I will likely add that part myself over the winter so the rod will be ready for next season. My overall impression is that you will find this is a solid dependable multi species rod. If you could only get one rod for AK, this one would do the job nicely.
Reviewed by: AKFISHN

 
G. Loomis Salmon Series

Salmon GLX Hover rod

2012-10-17T20:21:36

10/17/2012 8:21:36 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is probably the best most sensitive salmon rod I have ever used. It's taper and 7'4" length is perfect for bouncing roe in tight holes and the sensitivity makes even the lightest bite detectable. It is also great for plugs such as kwikfish or flatfish and even spinners. The lightness of this rod make it a pleasure to fish all day without looking for a rod holder to put it in especially when running the boat. I have many different salmon rods that I use in specific situations but if I had to pick one to do it all with, it would be the G-Loomis GLX Hover Rod.
Reviewed by: BsGuideService (Salida, CA)

 
G. Loomis Salmon Series

A very fine rod

2012-10-17T20:20:52

10/17/2012 8:20:52 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is our second G Loomis Salmon/Steelhead rod. Used primarily for jigging Halibut in BC and Alaska. Fine rod, with enough power to fish the bottom at 200' with 50lb braid and a 12-16 oz jig.
Reviewed by: PNWCruiser (Holladay, UT)

 
G. Loomis Salmon Series

bobber shrimp

2012-10-17T20:20:11

10/17/2012 8:20:11 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

without a doubt on of the best rods I have ever used for catching Salmon on the Clearwater River off Shore. Limber enough to make a long cast, jet strong enough to pull in a 25 lb + without having to chase him to the next hole.
Reviewed by: TheRealGoose (Post Falls, ID)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the G. Loomis Salmon Series Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: