Search

Shimano :: Freshwater Rods :: Sellus Spinning

 

Shimano Sellus Spinning

Overall Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5 stars Shimano Sellus Spinning Rods 4.9 out of 5 (10 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Shimano
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Sellus Spinning

Shimano Sellus Spinning models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

SUSSHX71M

7'1"

1/8-3/8

6-12

Extra Fast

Medium

SUS68M

6'8"

1/8-3/8

6-12

Fast

Medium

SUSX68M

6'8"

1/8-3/8

6-12

Extra Fast

Medium

SUS72MH

7'2"

3/16-5/8

8-14

Fast

Medium Heavy

SUSX72MH

7'2"

3/16-5/8

8-14

Extra Fast

Medium Heavy

SUSDX68M

6'8"

1/8-3/8

5-10

Extra Fast

Medium


* All Sellus Spinning Rods specifications from the official Shimano catalog. Shimano reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Shimano Sellus Spinning

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

2012-07-10T13:40:51

7/10/2012 1:40:51 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Just bought the 7'2" Worm and Jig Sellus. I used it the day I bought it and caught a couple nice ones on it. I love the feel of the rod, I put my Abu Garcia Cardinal 404i on it, I like that reel too I think their a good match. I didn't see any other rods in the store I would have rather bought. This one had the best feel and I liked the reel seat and guides. A lot of rods have these guides on them that look like crap IMO. There were rods for 100$+ in the store and I chose the Sellus over them happily. Can't wait to use this rod again, very light and sensitive and casts really well.

I would buy more if I had the money or need for them. I am bugging all my friends to grab one though haha
Reviewed by: DanVerona (Westchester County, NY)

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

still a great rod

2012-07-10T13:39:59

7/10/2012 1:39:59 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Ive got 2 of these things, both Worm and Jig. One has my Curado 200E7 on it with 65# braid, the other has my Chronarch 200E7 with 20# Yozuri on it. When I get my Chronarch 50E, I will put that to a Sellus as well. Im satisfied with the sensitivity and handling of this rod, and I used to use the Lightning Shocks, which are now backups(but still a great rod).
Reviewed by: LgMouthGambler (Coral Springs, Fl)

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

2012-07-10T13:39:01

7/10/2012 1:39:01 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

i have a sellus spinning rod i like it only problem i have is the reel seat unscrews a lot but i like the way it fishes and feels i can put some teflon tape on the seat but too lazy lol
Reviewed by: tugsandpulls (westford ma)

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

2012-07-10T13:38:03

7/10/2012 1:38:03 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I was in Cabelas yesterday and handled the rod but that was about it. I do have a Tec Spec 7' MH rig n jig spinning and it is very very sensitive as I used it for weightless worms this season.
Reviewed by: ChiCityBasser (Calumet City, IL)

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

2012-07-10T13:37:16

7/10/2012 1:37:16 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

i have the SUS72MH worm and jig rod. i really like it alot, its super sensitive and lightweight
Reviewed by: Alex Martinez

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

2012-07-10T13:36:17

7/10/2012 1:36:17 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Finally got a chance to use the sellus dropshot rod. Really impressed with it, more than i expected. The bite was way more detectable and way more sensitive than what i had been using. I think i may pick up another one for shakey head.
Reviewed by: fisherman (GA)

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

2012-07-10T13:35:12

7/10/2012 1:35:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I picked one up this weekend for dropshotting. I'm also going to try it for shakey heads. Hope to get it out this week. For $49 it seemed like a good deal, we'll see.
Reviewed by: carrollton-fisher (Carrollton, GA)

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

Best rod!

2012-07-10T13:34:14

7/10/2012 1:34:14 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

OK I got the Sellus wet Yesterday and I like it. IMHO It's the best rod I've seen in the $60 range by far! This thing is actually usable and not just a waste of money . I figured the Medium rating would be too light for a crancbait but it turns out it did fine (the small amount I threw a lipless crank). I could actually feel the "rattles" in the crank through the rod. I mainly threw Flukes & Paddle tales. I had a 50e Curado on it with older 8# test and the line broke on me a couple of times setting the hook... so I started using another rod but I can't wait to get new line and get it wet again.
Reviewed by: Hi Salenity (KCK)

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

2012-07-10T13:32:49

7/10/2012 1:32:49 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I got one Today 7'm Crankbait. I think/plan on it being a better weightless plastic rod . I'll get it wet Tomorrow and let you all know what I think.
Reviewed by: Hi Salenity (KCK)

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

2012-07-10T13:31:00

7/10/2012 1:31:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've held one and they feel sensitive just putting the tip up to someones throat and having them talk to feel the vibration. They feel a bit better than the Berkley lighting rods.
Reviewed by: Packard (Howell, MI)

 
Shimano Sellus Spinning

2012-07-10T13:30:02

7/10/2012 1:30:02 PM

I haven't used them but based off of their other rods is say its safe to assume they will be very competitive in their price range.
Reviewed by: NYBASSIN (Westchester county NY)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Shimano Sellus Spinning Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: