Search

G. Loomis :: BASS :: ShakyHead

 

G. Loomis ShakyHead

Overall Customer Rating: 5 of 5 stars G. Loomis ShakyHead Rods 5 out of 5 (6 Reviews)
Manufacturer: G. Loomis
Series: BASS
Model: ShakyHead

G. Loomis ShakyHead models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

SHR 822 C

6' 10"

1

1/8 - 5/16

8 - 12

Extra Fast

Magnum Medium

SHR 821 S

6' 10"

1

1/16 - 1/4

6 - 10

Extra Fast

Magnum Light

SHR 822 S

6' 10"

1

1/8 - 5/16

8 - 12

Extra Fast

Magnum Medium


* All ShakyHead Rods specifications from the official G. Loomis catalog. G. Loomis reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis ShakyHead

 
G. Loomis ShakyHead

Most sensitive spinning rod ever

2012-10-18T10:57:09

10/18/2012 10:57:09 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I tried out my dads new shakey head rod which the thought that it would be like just another spinning rod. I thought wrong. this rod equipped with a Shimano stradic reel spooled with 8 lb test seagar 100% fluorocarbon line with a Davis Bait Companies Shakey head jig head in1/8 oz.Lets you feel every change in the contour of the lakes bottom. I caught several fish from 1-2.5 lbs range plus one in the 4 lb range this rod never failed .I fish the Alabama Lake systems on the Talapoosa chain & the Coosa chain and let me tell you these spotted bass will fool you with the slightest of bites,but you will be able to feel the slightest of bites.I will be sure to have this rod in the boat when tournament season comes around.
Reviewed by: spot chaser (Sylacauga Alabama)

 
G. Loomis ShakyHead

Med light Shaky Head Rod

2012-10-18T10:54:40

10/18/2012 10:54:40 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Well let me start by saying it's a G-Loomis so it's going to be a great rod. I purchased the medium light model a little over a year ago. I did try several other rods in the same price range to use for shaky heading. But by far the G-Loomis is more sensitive, lighter and has enough back bone to fight 2 to 3 pound easily but 4 plus can nerve racking. I agree with the other reviewer Spots in the south (especially in the winter months in reservoirs) can be a very very light bite. With this rod in your hand you know you have the best made for what you are doing.
Hope this helps!
Reviewed by: fisherm (TN)

 
G. Loomis ShakyHead

serious about the shaky?

2012-10-18T10:53:28

10/18/2012 10:53:28 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I started to get serious in my shakeyhead fishing, and decided to reward myself with this rod. One side not, it also doubles as a great splitshot rod, if you are into that. You should be, because it catches fish. Anyways, awesome flex at the tip, you can feel your rig at all times.
I have put well over 100 fish on this rod already and it still feels fresh and crisp as the day I took it out of the rod tube. Get one! (I own the Magnum Light)
Reviewed by: Creepy

 
G. Loomis ShakyHead

The perfect shakey head rod! Perfect plastics rod!

2012-10-18T10:51:15

10/18/2012 10:51:15 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've had this rod for a couple years now and it performs PERFECTLY for what it is intended. Shakey head fishing.
The action is perfect. Soft tip, for shaking in place, but plenty of backbone for setting the hook. And this is on the 821S which is the lighter rod.
Super sensitive too, with a blend of IMX/GL3 fibers. You can feel everything from changes in bottom to light bites.
Balances perfectly with a Pflueger Supreme 8030.
On top of the perfect action, and length, this rod is a very nice looking rod that feels GREAT in the hand.
And I LOVE the fact Loomis isn't just following everyone with all the new designs like split grips.
It's nice to have just a good quality rod, that performs it''s job flawlessly without all the trendy stuff going on today.
Reviewed by: LonLB (SW MI)

 
G. Loomis ShakyHead

Perfect Rod!

2012-10-18T10:50:19

10/18/2012 10:50:19 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have been using the 822S now for the last 6 months, this rod is an excellent choice for an avid Smallmouth angler. This is also a great multi purpose rod too. I use this rod for fishing with tubes, dropshots, soft plastic jerkbaits, and of course shakey heads. This rod is extremely light weight, sensitive beyond belief, and the extra fast tip allows for accurate casting, and positive hook sets every time! I have this paired up with a 3000 size Shimano Stradic, spooled up with 15# Power Pro. This combo can not be beat!
Reviewed by: RBKING (Ontario, Canada)

 
G. Loomis ShakyHead

Its a Loomis

2012-10-17T21:05:17

10/17/2012 9:05:17 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I don't really know how to review a Loomis rod, because the use of one is letting the rod review itself. However, if you have never tried one... let this one be your test... and you will find how superior they really are. The feel on the shaky head is comparable to their GLX model, for half the price. INSANE FEEL! If you are looking for a shaky head rod (for any soft plastic by the way)- look no longer... THIS IS IT!
Reviewed by: gracedoc (Hiram, Georgia)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the G. Loomis ShakyHead Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: