Search

St. Croix rods reviews

 
St. Croix
 Fly Fishing Rods   Freshwater Rods  Saltwater Rods

Benefits of St. Croix models.

To review St. Croix models, please click on the screen shot of interest.

If you are using St. Croix rods please write your experience.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix

 
St. Croix

2017-10-13T11:50:50

10/13/2017 11:50:50 AM

I have 4 St. Croix rods. I have no quarrel with any of them.

I wonder why they discontinue models though. I have 2 "Rage" rods and I find them to be fantastic for the price. I went to go get a couple more and find they are now discontinued...

You cannot help but wonder "why?" What is wrong?

You wonder if you bought a turd in a brown paper sack...."am I going to have problems down the road with this?"

My other 2 St. Croix rods are "premiers" and I am yet to find a problem with either of them
Reviewed by: Joe (Charleston. WV)

 
St. Croix

best rod ever

2017-09-25T12:42:12

9/25/2017 12:42:12 PM

i own several Avid spinning rods. they are the best rod ever. very sensitive you can feel the bottom and also every bump from fish.
Reviewed by: mr big11 (nwi)

 
St. Croix

2014-07-18T11:44:21

7/18/2014 11:44:21 AM

My new Avid has a rough patch on each section where it seems to have been rested while moist. A bit of filler in thehandle is missing a has left a hole. I do not have these issues with my two (less expensive) Premiers. It has not been used. I will see what they have to say. I made sure they understood that many cheap Cabela's rods do not share these issues.
Reviewed by: Ted (Connecticut)

 
St. Croix

2012-10-25T15:47:45

10/25/2012 3:47:45 PM

I have over a dozen St. Croix rods, and I think they are great sticks.
Reviewed by: Bucktail (St Petersburg FL)

 
St. Croix

2012-10-25T14:33:15

10/25/2012 2:33:15 PM

None of my St croixs have ever broken. I do have the reel seat screw problem on my premiers, and had it on a triumph I used to own. Just wrap the threads of the reel seat with teflon tape. This will keep the reel seat screw from coming loose. My avid and ltb do not have that problem. It isn't St. Croix's fault as the reel seats are manufactured by fuji.
Reviewed by: jerzeeD

 
St. Croix

2012-10-25T14:32:37

10/25/2012 2:32:37 PM

The REAL St. Croix rods are 100% designed and built in the USA by real craftsman!! They start with the Premier Series all the way up thru the Legend Extreme, and out of the over 15 Premier's Avid's and Legend''s I own I have had one problem and that was a stupid move on my part, when I sat a Legend Elite on the Cap of my truck and it fell off, never scratched the rod or the reel, but one of the guides landed on a rock and it shattered the guide insert, cost me $10.00 to print shipping to St. Croix and it was taken care of no questions asked!! You get what you pay, if you just want a rod that says St. Croix on it, well you been there! If you want one that say''s St. Croix and is the real Mcoy!! if I were you, I would upgrade to the American made Avid series, or myself would rather have the Legend Elite, and experience what made St. Croix great, a real St. Croix, made right here in America with American Craftsman.
Reviewed by: Capt.Bob

 
St. Croix

2012-10-25T14:31:55

10/25/2012 2:31:55 PM

I own 7 St Croix's now, (3 LTB, 2 Avids, and 2 Mojos) and have had various others over the years, never had a problem with them that was not my own fault. I snapped a 7' MH Avid casting rod in half dead lifting a 5lber in the boat once, they replaced it. And I had a tip guide insert on a LTB chip when I smacked it on the TM shaft, they sent me a new guide free of charge.
Reviewed by: farmer

 
St. Croix

2012-10-25T14:28:33

10/25/2012 2:28:33 PM

I have numerous St. Croix rods and haven't had any problems with them.
Reviewed by: triton

 
St. Croix

2012-10-25T14:05:42

10/25/2012 2:05:42 PM

I have over a dozen St. Croix's and swear by them all. I have no doubt we will love these new rods too!
Reviewed by: peepaw (Il)

 
St. Croix

2012-10-25T14:04:31

10/25/2012 2:04:31 PM

i bought my first St. Croix rod this fall and love it so far.
Reviewed by: Hanr (East Peoria IL)

 
St. Croix

2012-10-25T14:03:47

10/25/2012 2:03:47 PM

St Croix are definitely top notch rods. I've fished with several different series including the legend, premiere, and Triumph.
Reviewed by: Gamblinman (NE Oklahoma)

 
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: