Search

G. Loomis :: SALMON & STEELHEAD :: Steelhead Series

 

G. Loomis Steelhead Series

Overall Customer Rating: 5 of 5 stars G. Loomis Steelhead Series Rods 5 out of 5 (6 Reviews)
Manufacturer: G. Loomis
Series: SALMON & STEELHEAD
Model: Steelhead Series

G. Loomis Steelhead Series models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

STR 980 C - 1

8' 2"

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 15

Extra Fast

Magnum Medium

STR 1063 C - 1

8' 10"

1

3/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Fast

Medium Light

STR 1045 C

8' 8"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

STR 1104 C

9' 2"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1163 C

9' 8"

2

3/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Fast

Medium Light

STR 1165 C

9' 8"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

STR 982 S

8' 2"

2

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 10

Moderate

Light

STR 1044 S

8' 8"

2

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

STR 1045 S

8' 8"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

STR 1161 S

9' 8"

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Slow

Ultra Light

STR 1162 S

9' 8"

2

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 10

Moderate

Light

STR 1163 S

9' 8"

2

3/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Fast

Medium Light

STR 1163 S - SK

9' 8"

2

3/8 - 3/4

6 - 12

Fast

Medium Light


* All Steelhead Series Rods specifications from the official G. Loomis catalog. G. Loomis reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis Steelhead Series

 
G. Loomis Steelhead Series

STR 1161

2012-10-17T22:02:44

10/17/2012 10:02:44 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The STR1161S is a fabulous rod for steelhead. The UL rod lets you play the fish and reacts to the head shakes for you without fear of throwing the hook or breaking light line.
Reviewed by: JeremyT (Sac, CA)

 
G. Loomis Steelhead Series

Loomis Steelhead STR1165

2012-10-17T21:10:12

10/17/2012 9:10:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have this rod combined with a Calcutta CTE250DC. I love this rod! Its light, precise, and sensitive. What more can I say! Only con...the cost.
Reviewed by: Richew (Fremont, California)

 
G. Loomis Steelhead Series

Excellent

2012-10-17T21:09:09

10/17/2012 9:09:09 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Being from the N.W. I always wanted a Loomis. Used mine drifting a corkie and pencil lead. The feel of the lead was transmitted better than any other rod I've used and there was no doubt between bottom and fish. Winter run on the bank!
Reviewed by: DanDan (washington state)

 
G. Loomis Steelhead Series

2012-10-17T20:10:06

10/17/2012 8:10:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod for my husband as a birthday gift and he was absolutely blown away!!! He says that it is by far the best rod that he's ever used - not to mention - he thinks I should win the Wife of The Year Award and all of his friends have asked that I please take their wives shopping with me for their next birthday!
Reviewed by: NumberOneWife

 
G. Loomis Steelhead Series

G.Loomis GL3

2012-10-17T20:07:08

10/17/2012 8:07:08 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I fished with a buddy that had a couple of these rods. I watched them work, wow. I own five now, smooth, sensitive, the action can't be compared to other rods I have used. A bit pricey but you get the reputation behind a great product. The flex on these rods is amazing, the rod "twists" and follows the line when you set them in the rod holders just waiting for the strike.
Reviewed by: jdrewfish (Eagle Lake, CA)

 
G. Loomis Steelhead Series

Do not hesitate to buy this rod

2012-10-17T20:06:05

10/17/2012 8:06:05 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This was the very best decision I have ever made when it comes to buying fishing gear. Bar none this the the best rod I have ever owned. The sensitivity is unbelievable and when you are drifting for steelhead you want the most sensitive rod you can find. This is the ticket. Enough backbone for larger fish and enough sensitivity for the softest bite. I will never buy another cheap rod again. G. Loomis is the way to go.
Reviewed by: SteelheadFever (Pocatello ID)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the G. Loomis Steelhead Series Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: