Search

G. Loomis :: FLY TROUT :: StreamDance GLX

 

G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

Overall Customer Rating: 4.67 of 5 stars G. Loomis StreamDance GLX Rods 4.67 out of 5 (9 Reviews)
Manufacturer: G. Loomis
Series: FLY TROUT
Model: StreamDance GLX

G. Loomis StreamDance GLX models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

FR 993-3 SD GLX

8'3"

3

3

Moderate Fast

Medium Stiff

FR 1024-4 SD GLX

8'6"

4

4

Fast

Medium Stiff

FR 1025-4 SD GLX

8'6"

4

5

Fast

Medium Stiff

FR 1084-4 SD GLX

9'

4

4

Fast

Medium Stiff

FR 1085-4 SD GLX

9'

4

5

Fast

Medium Stiff

FR 1086-4 SD GLX

9'

4

6

Fast

Medium Stiff

FR 1146-4 SD GLX

9'6"

4

6

Fast

Medium Stiff

FR 1205-4 SD GLX

10'

4

5

Fast

Medium Stiff

FR 1206-4 SD GLX

10'

4

6

Fast

Medium Stiff


* All StreamDance GLX Rods specifications from the official G. Loomis catalog. G. Loomis reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

 
G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

G.Loomis StreamDance GLX 4 pce 4 wt

2012-10-17T23:49:15

10/17/2012 11:49:15 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

My first LOOMIS fly rod. It is a beautiful rod, it casts effortlessly and it has become one of my favorite rods.
Reviewed by: ARESMike (Virginia)

 
G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

Awesome

2012-10-17T23:48:38

10/17/2012 11:48:38 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Without question the sweetest rod I have ever cast. Just pick a spot 20 ft away or 70 ft away and this rod will smoothly deliver to the target. I've always heard great things about the Loomis GLX rods and now I see why. Life is too short for anything less.
Reviewed by: fisher (Livermore CA)

 
G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

StreamDance Review

2012-10-17T23:47:52

10/17/2012 11:47:52 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is amazing! I have never had a rod respond the way the streamdance does. I would recommend this rod to anyone.
Reviewed by: CoopNasty (Colorado)

 
G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

2012-10-17T23:47:13

10/17/2012 11:47:13 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

Excellent GLoomis blank with top quality components but actual built is a complete disaster. Guides unaligned, epoxy put on carelessly. Quality missed!
Reviewed by: Kulboj (Poland)

 
G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

MY new LOVE!

2012-10-17T23:46:36

10/17/2012 11:46:36 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

all I can say is wow!!! I decided after 6 years to upgrade and put my temple fork IM6 5 wieght as a backup.
the StreamDance is so light, and casts are done with no effort but the fly line travel long distance. the rod looks great, and feels great!
Do yourself a favor and get this rod. Just think of it as you wood a bow. the the better bows are not cheep, but are great to shot and hunt with. well this rod is the same thing, great to cast and fish with while being almost weightless in the hand.
Reviewed by: SEFoster (Des moines, IA)

 
G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

9ft 5wt

2012-10-17T23:45:46

10/17/2012 11:45:46 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

This has been my favorite rod since buying it 2 years ago. Its my nymphing and big dry rod. Its so easy to cast in close and has a ton of power. Nice easy loading tip, great feel and never folds when hauling alot of line. Rio gold has been my favorite line on this rod. The recoil guides are great and give off a nice humm when a big trout makes a run. The real seat is unique and looks great and the olive matte finish is very nice. I used the Gloomis warranty program after a cow stepped on it and had a new rod by the next weekend. I'm not giving it 5 stars because the rod sock and tube seem cheap for a high end rod.
Reviewed by: softhacklesowbug (montana)

 
G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

best of the best

2012-10-17T23:44:48

10/17/2012 11:44:48 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is the best of the best for a variety of applications...dries or nymphs...in tight or casting more line than most of us can manage...warm or cold water...lakes or streams (small, medium or large), etc. It is a top of the line rod that does actually deserve the top of the line price tag that does come with it. So if you want one of the best rods on the market and can afford it, you won't be disappointed. And if you want further proof, check out the results of the 5 weight shootout by The Yellowstone Angler and you will see how these rods (in whatever weight) fared against the competition. It is very lightweight yet extremely powerful at long range or with big/heavy flies, while still delicate and accurate in close range. It does it all and is a joy to fish. Had one since 1994 and haven't found anything since that's tempted me change to something else. This rod will actually make you a better fisherman.
Reviewed by: FishWithYou (WV)

 
G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

San Juan dandy

2012-10-17T23:43:57

10/17/2012 11:43:57 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Casts both dries and nymphs effortlessly.
Reviewed by: byflyfish (Farmington NM)

 
G. Loomis StreamDance GLX

beware

2012-10-17T23:19:50

10/17/2012 11:19:50 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Essentially there is no warranty associated with this product. Manufacturer's defect? Ha! Go ahead and try. These rods are overpriced and elitist. Buy a fly rod from back East for much less money and get a 25 year unconditional replacement warranty. There is no comparison.
Reviewed by: dickon

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the G. Loomis StreamDance GLX Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: