Search
 

Shimano TDR

Overall Customer Rating: 4.67 of 5 stars Shimano TDR Rods 4.67 out of 5 (6 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Shimano
Series: Trolling Rods
Model: TDR

Shimano TDR models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

TDR70MB

7'0"

1

10-17

Medium Fast

Medium

TDR70MHB

7'0"

1

12-25

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy

TDR80ML2B

8'0"

2

8-17

Medium Fast

Medium Light

TDR80M2B

8'0"

2

10-20

Medium Fast

Medium

TDR80MH2B

8'0"

2

12-30

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy

TDR80H2B

8'0"

2

15-40

Medium Fast

Heavy

TDR86M2B

8'6"

2

12-20

Medium Fast

Medium

TDR86MH2B

8'6"

2

15-30

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy

TDR90M2B

9'0"

2

12-25

Medium Fast

Medium

TDR90MH2B

9'0"

2

15-30

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy

TDR96MH2B

9'6"

2

15-30

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy


* All TDR Rods specifications from the official Shimano catalog. Shimano reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Shimano TDR

 
Shimano TDR

durable beyond belief

2012-07-02T10:51:15

7/2/2012 10:51:15 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I inherited this rod from my father who has had it for several years, and liked it alot. I have used it only sparingly, but it is the rod i lend to friends and family when they want to learn to fish. It has held up for 4 years for me already, and has been through some serious abuse. It has been slammed in the trucks tailgate, thrashed in the bushes, and pulled in some pretty impressive fish. Never heard a crack or a squeak, it has quite a few scratches, and wear, but the performance has been unaffected. It gest stored outdoors yearround, unless it is sitting in the back of the car, and stays straight and true, with out even showing fade from the sun.
Reviewed by: Galloping goat (Denver, CO)

 
Shimano TDR

What a tool

2012-07-02T10:50:16

7/2/2012 10:50:16 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

What value for money these rods are, you would never believe what these rods have caught and the jobs they do well.
I have the 9 foot medium to heavy and i use it for deep wreck fishing, salmon fishing as a trolling rod and for the tuna, striped marlin and sailfish. So tough, all my mates have them now, combined with a decent reel and some braid there ain't much these rods can't handle. Had a 300lb black marlin subdued in no time. The rod was seriously under tension but never a groan was heard, amazing bit of kit. Mine now is 12 years old and still in use, i also have 3 others just in case they stop making them.
Reviewed by: Gripper (London UK)

 
Shimano TDR

good rod

2012-07-02T10:49:25

7/2/2012 10:49:25 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

trout trolling rods,especially lightweight, are almost
impossible to procure, but this one works
Reviewed by: Tassy trout (Tasmania Australia)

 
Shimano TDR

TDR rod

2012-07-02T10:48:34

7/2/2012 10:48:34 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful rod for the money they, handle big fish very well. I have about 9 of them, after some usage you may have to replace an eye now and then but altogether, these are GREAT RODS !
Reviewed by: ccredfinn (central coast, CA)

 
Shimano TDR

This is a great all around rod and the best deal for the money!

2012-07-02T10:47:42

7/2/2012 10:47:42 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The first one of these rods i owned i found stuck in a pile of tulle's with a spinning reel attached to it. soon after i replaced the spinning reel with a bait caster and have been using it for the past 8 years! it just recently boke the tip eye off after 8+ years of hard abuse with bass, rock cod, catfish, stripers and even sharks!
Reviewed by: toyotamobing (central coast, CA)

 
Shimano TDR

good rod but eyelets are to small

2012-07-02T10:46:37

7/2/2012 10:46:37 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

added two tdr-70mb's too my trolling set up. I usually run planer mast and boards with clips and rubber bands and what ive found is the eyelets are small and if the rubberband doesn't break off it is very tight going thru the eyes didn't loose any fish thank god rod does have good action for trolling though
Reviewed by: twenty1in1990

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Shimano TDR Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: