Search

St. Croix :: Freshwater Rods :: Triumph

 

St. Croix Triumph

Overall Customer Rating: 4.67 of 5 stars St. Croix Triumph Rods 4.67 out of 5 (39 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Triumph

St. Croix Triumph models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

TRC60MF

6'

1

1/4 - 3/4

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

3.8

Casting

TRC66MF

6'6"

1

1/4 - 3/4

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

4.2

Casting

TRC66MHF

6'6"

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.4

Casting

TRC70MF

7'

1

1/4 - 3/4

10 - 17

Fast

Medium

4.5

Casting

TRC70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 1

10 - 20

Fast

Medium Heavy

4.7

Musky

TRM70MHF

7'

1

3/4 - 3

20-50

Fast

Medium Heavy

7.2

Musky

TRM70XHF

7'

1

3 - 8

36-80

Fast

Extra Heavy

8.5

Musky

TRM76MHF

7'6"

1

3/4 - 3

20-50

Fast

Medium Heavy

9.0

Musky

TRM76HF

7'6"

1

2 - 6

30-65

Fast

Heavy

9.1

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

TRC86MHF2

8'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

6.5

Salmon & Steelhead Casting

TRC86HF2

8'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.7

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

TRS86MF2

8'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.6

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

TRS86MHF2

8'6"

2

3/8 - 1

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.8

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

TRS86HF2

8'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.2

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

TRS90LM2

9'

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

5.4

Salmon & Steelhead Spinning

TRS106ULS2

10'6"

2

1/16 - 1/4

2 - 6

Slow

Ultra Light

5.3

Spinning

TRS50ULM

5'

1

1/16 - 1/4

2 - 6

Moderate

Ultra Light

2.1

Spinning

TRS56ULF2

5'6"

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.4

Spinning

TRS60LF

6'

1

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

2.8

Spinning

TRS60MLF

6'

1

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

3.4

Spinning

TRS60MF

6'

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.5

Spinning

TRS66LF

6'6"

1

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

3.3

Spinning

TRS66LF2

6'6"

2

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

3.3

Spinning

TRS66MLF

6'6"

1

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.0

Spinning

TRS66MLF2

6'6"

2

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.0

Spinning

TRS66MF

6'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

3.9

Spinning

TRS66MF2

6'6"

2

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.3

Spinning

TRS70MLF

7'

1

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.2

Spinning

TRS70MLF2

7'

2

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.2

Spinning

TRS70MF

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.3

Spinning

TRS70MF2

7'

2

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.5

Spinning

TRS70MHF

7'

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.0

Spinning

TRS76MLF

7'6"

1

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.5

Spinning

TRS76MF

7'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.7

Spinning

TRS76MHF

7'6"

1

3/8 - 3/4

8 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.8

Travel Spinning

TRS56ULF4

5'6"

4

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Light

2.7

Travel Spinning

TRS60LF4

6'

4

1/16 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

3.5

Travel Spinning

TRS66MLF4

6'6"

4

1/8 - 1/2

4 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

4.7

Travel Spinning

TRS66MF4

6'6"

4

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Fast

Medium

4.9


* All Triumph Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Triumph

 
St. Croix Triumph

Awesome Rod

2012-10-26T23:32:28

10/26/2012 11:32:28 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod to replace a ultra light 5 foot I had set up with a ultra light spinning reel for trout fishing and occasional pan fish in Iowa. I used it for 5 straight days on streams in NE Iowa with jigs in the 1/64 & 1/80 ounce range . I was more than happy with the way the rod cast and it handled the trout great including a 14 in. brown and several fiesty brookies.
Great rod.
Reviewed by: chasfishes (New London, Ia)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Awesome Rod

2012-10-26T23:31:45

10/26/2012 11:31:45 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I got this rod in medium 6'6" and I''m incredibly impressed with it''s feel and overall performance. I''ve been catching bass from 3" and the way up to a 14" and the rod is just a champ. Great hit transfer and a really cool finish as well. Definitely recommended
Reviewed by: iPoosk (San Jose, Ca)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Great Rod

2012-10-25T13:39:07

10/25/2012 1:39:07 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Bought this rod yesterday, went out fishing yesterday and slammed bass all night. Caught up to a good 20 bass and the setting the hook on this rod is amazing. Nice and stiff for pulling the big boys out of the weeds. Great rod i have the mojo bass aswell but prefer the triumph, much more comfortable in your hand and just a great all around rod
Reviewed by: llovinit (London)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Great Rod

2012-10-25T13:37:57

10/25/2012 1:37:57 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

For the money you will be hard pressed to find a match. I have 5 of these and use them from casting crankbaits to jigging tubs. Bass, Walleye, Pike on Lake Erie.
Reviewed by: RGSGI (Grosse Ile, MI)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Nice Rod for the money

2012-10-25T08:53:42

10/25/2012 8:53:42 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I would normally purchase Loomis products but for my Grandsons 1st new fishing rod I could not see spending the $ on a GL3.
This was a very nice substitute for the money.
Reviewed by: dnemeth (Northern IL)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Highly recommend

2012-10-25T08:53:00

10/25/2012 8:53:00 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is an extremely good rod for the money. Plenty of strength and power for larger fish with great feel in the tip. I use if for inshore reds and trout and it works great. I fish with mostly jigs and top water baits and like the feel in both instances.
Reviewed by: papa (United States, Florida)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Great Rod

2012-10-25T08:52:19

10/25/2012 8:52:19 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I got this rod for walleye fishing trips. It has excellent 'feel' and is sensitive enough that you can feel a walleye sucking in the bait.
This seems to be an excellent rod for the cost.
Reviewed by: CrabbyFisherman

 
St. Croix Triumph

THE BEST!

2012-10-25T08:51:28

10/25/2012 8:51:28 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I am 44 and fished since I was 5.I fly fish a lot and know rods. For my needs with spinning rods, St. Croix is the best rod, best value EVER! If I am south on the crappie or north on the walleye, they have NEVER disappointed. I have 6 and yet to ever have one break even with the most trying situations!
Reviewed by: man (United States, Ohio)

 
St. Croix Triumph

St. Croix

2012-10-25T08:50:44

10/25/2012 8:50:44 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have owned more expensive St. Croix rods and figured i would try the triumph out against the fancier versions. It performed just as well.
I love the rod and how it feels.
Reviewed by: ahunterbou (United States, South Dakota)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Good blank, reel seat not so much

2012-10-25T08:49:51

10/25/2012 8:49:51 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Caught a ton of walleye in norther Manitoba on this rod and found the action, strength, and sensitivity to be very good. Only got 4 stars because the reel seat would occasionally loosen. Think a redesign of the threads would solve the problem, but aggravating to have to re-tighten throughout the day.
Reviewed by: ny (United States, Tennessee)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Another good product from St Croix

2012-10-25T08:48:55

10/25/2012 8:48:55 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have two Triumph spinning rods, 6' light and a 6'6" med light. Very well made, very sensitivity, and a great price. There is nothing cheap about this rod. One noticeable asset is number of guides.
Just a great product and I highly recommend this to anyone.
Reviewed by: NDMO (United States, Missouri)

 
St. Croix Triumph

very nice rods

2012-10-25T08:48:04

10/25/2012 8:48:04 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

These rods are great rods, 8 eyelets, a very sensitive 2-piece rod blank, a very good reel seats and high-end cork handles. Try St Croix rods and you will enjoy them. At this price a good buy. If made in the USA and even better buy. I own several other St Croix's made in the USA and got them under $99 ea.
Great rods worth the money.
Reviewed by: Rlock (Ohio)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Travel Spinning Rod

2012-10-24T23:51:53

10/24/2012 11:51:53 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod was excellent due to its portability, easy assembly and disassembly for travel and great feel of the walleye bite.
It is now my favorite walleye rod.
Reviewed by: chris (San Francisco Bay Area)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Travel rod - Nicest pack rod I have owned

2012-10-24T23:51:12

10/24/2012 11:51:12 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I do a lot of hiking in and motorcycling to fishing and have owned several pack rods through the years. I recently purchased the St. Croix 6' light action rod, and I have finally arrived at the best. Nice long purchase between the joints, extremely light weight, impeccable craftsmanship, and an unbelievable sensitivity for a 4 piece rod. If you are serious about a pack rod, spend the money, you won't be sorry. I'm pretty sure I will be owning 2 or 3 of these before long.
Reviewed by: BassAMinute (Beautiful Bucks County, Pa)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Travel rod - VERY GOOOD

2012-10-24T23:50:15

10/24/2012 11:50:15 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Stays together well, nice action for a four-piece. Fit and finish very nice. I will probably rig up some sort of hard-case tube device for backpacking b/c I'm not sure the soft-side carry case is sturdy enough to survive a drop while attached to a heavy pack. Am thinking about some sort of sturdy carboard tube, like a photo mailing tube for big prints, or maybe a PVC tube setup. The PVC will likely add too much weight to the pack, given the diameter needed to fit the section of rod with the fattest eye.
Great rod.
Reviewed by: IM (KY)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Travel Rod

2012-10-24T23:49:26

10/24/2012 11:49:26 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

So far so good. I've owned St. Croix rods for years and was looking for something a little more packable. Most of the pack rods out the seem to be pretty cheap and stiff. So I stuck with what I know. I usually fish with an ultra-light fast action rod when I fish the high mountain lakes and I was concerned that this rod was a little to stiff. Well my fears quickly subsided when I hooked a beautiful Brookie... The rod felt great, good response, fast action, and very sensitive. I look forward to many trips with my new rod.
Reviewed by: longbowjarhead (Wilderness fisherman and traditional bowhunter)

 
St. Croix Triumph

St Croix Travel Rod

2012-10-24T23:48:24

10/24/2012 11:48:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I received this Travel Rod for a Fathers Day Gift. The first time out I caught and landed four bass and a bluegill. The rod cast's smooth and performed as well as my higher end St. Croix Rods. Since I travel a lot with my job I'm sure to put it to good use. Thank you for another Great product.
Reviewed by: Tazboy (Prosper ,Texas)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Travel rod - horribles

2012-10-24T23:47:13

10/24/2012 11:47:13 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

landed a fish and pole snapped in half
Reviewed by: nen (PA)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Travel rod - Excellent for travel

2012-10-24T23:46:17

10/24/2012 11:46:17 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have owned some rods that are definitely better than this rod...but it is, after all, a travel rod. With that being said, the build quality is very nice. The sections fit together securely. The rod has a great feel, the flex is good, and it does not feel like a 4 piece rod. The feedback through the rod is great. You can feel the spinner as it goes through the water. You lose very little fishabilty with this travel rod. It even broke down small enough to fit inside my suitcase...something most of the other companies could not do with their 3 piece rods (that was the main reason for me choosing this rod). My only complaint is the carry case. It is simply a sturdy cloth that you roll up and secure with Velcro. I will need to buy a plastic case so it is protected from the air travel.
Reviewed by: jklancke (Lagos, Nigeria (via Tacoma, WA))

 
St. Croix Triumph

Travel rod - good quality rod

2012-10-24T23:45:31

10/24/2012 11:45:31 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Took this with me in a backpack last summer during a trip out west. Fished around Yellowstone with it and was extremely happy. It performs like other 2 piece rods I own. I am happy with the quality and construction. The carrying case is sufficient. I have trouble getting the smallest section into the nylon sleeve, but don't consider it a dealbreaker.
Reviewed by: JTSfishing (East Coast)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Travel rod - Good break down

2012-10-24T23:44:48

10/24/2012 11:44:48 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

This is a nice rod and does break down for easy travel. Not sure if I like the padded case as I would prefer a tube. Seems as if the last quarter of the rod is a bit too flexible compared to the lower 3/4 of the rod.
Reviewed by: Bschelhorn (Fairfax Va)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Good nice priced rod

2012-10-24T23:34:21

10/24/2012 11:34:21 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I do a lot of bass fishing, and just started sripper fishing. The 6'6'' MH is the rod I chose, and would recommend it to anyone. It has a nice back bone and very nice feel. For the money you can not go wrong with this rod.
Reviewed by: Joey (TN)

 
St. Croix Triumph

basically a premier

2012-10-24T23:33:12

10/24/2012 11:33:12 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

This years triumph model is last years premier. Honestly, there's not a whole lot of difference. I'd recommend this rod for the weekend fisherman who fishes on a budget. Most of us can't drop the cash for a high-end rod and this has all the features you''d want for your money. Good rod for the average joe.
Reviewed by: mostlylucky (KCMO)

 
St. Croix Triumph

2012-10-24T23:32:01

10/24/2012 11:32:01 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is better than you think,for the money its awesome! I guess some guys think its for the weekend guy,well they must be some real hog hulers? I caught a 15 lb northern on it so there! I wasn't even worrying about it breaking at all,Nice job croix!
Reviewed by: fishinfool (IL)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Casting rod

2012-10-24T23:31:00

10/24/2012 11:31:00 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

By far one of the best rods ever. I have three of them
Reviewed by: dandan (Gulf coast of Florida)

 
St. Croix Triumph

St. Croix Triumph Casting Rod

2012-10-24T23:30:18

10/24/2012 11:30:18 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod to go along with my new Shimano Citica Bait Casting Reel and I completely love this rod. I bought the same Model "Triumph" rods in Spincasting and they have become my all-time favorites. I have used them in catching Crappie, Bass and most recently, Strippers. These rods have handled everything that a fish can dish out and it came out a winner. I have found no fault with the rod. Come June 9, 2008 it will become the true test as I put it to use in Canada fishing those feisty northern pike and walleyes. Come this fall it will be put to the ultimate test as I go fishing for the fall run rainbows "Steelhead". No doubt it will again exceed my expectations.
Buy one soon!
GOOD FISHING FRIENDS!
Reviewed by: WalleyFever (North Carolina)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Triumph

2012-10-24T23:28:35

10/24/2012 11:28:35 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

I bought the 6'6" M rod. Its lightweight and sensitive. Not a great all around rod for heavier weighted lures, my rod has made a cracking noise while casting on several occasions.
Reviewed by: Dio (Leavittsburg, Oh)

 
St. Croix Triumph

2012-10-24T23:27:57

10/24/2012 11:27:57 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

this is the best rod for the $ i have ever bought. Its sensitive with incredible stiffness for long casting.
Reviewed by: waterhead (mn)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Great rod

2012-10-24T23:27:24

10/24/2012 11:27:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have a 7' MH and love it. Like other reviews said it's basically a premier, the only major difference is that its made in China instead of Wisconsin.
I will buy again!
Reviewed by: rio (Milwaukee, WI)

 
St. Croix Triumph

st croix casting rods

2012-10-24T23:26:28

10/24/2012 11:26:28 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

triumphs are very good rods that are priced reasonably.
Reviewed by: pete (serena illinois)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Good Value

2012-10-24T23:25:43

10/24/2012 11:25:43 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought these rods to fish for Heavier deeper fish (Stripers/Cat) have Shimano Curado E300s on both.
I also have a few Mojo Bass and some Fly Rods from St. Croix. They have never let me down, good price and no flaws.
I would and will buy more
Reviewed by: Dogue (Fort Worth TX)

 
St. Croix Triumph

2012-10-24T23:24:53

10/24/2012 11:24:53 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Suits my purpose just fine , sensitive with enough feel for lite bites.
Reviewed by: fishead

 
St. Croix Triumph

Good rod

2012-10-24T23:24:14

10/24/2012 11:24:14 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I have had no problems with this rod. I've used it from casting spinnerbaits (normal spinnerbait rod has no line), flippen jigs, and flippen plastics. I paired it with a Phlueger Cetina and love the combination. I prefer it with the jigs. Planning on getting at least one more of these and a spinning model. Great rod especially for the price!
Reviewed by: JAAOntheFox (Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Triumph

The best Rod I''ve ever owned

2012-10-24T23:22:45

10/24/2012 11:22:45 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

St. Croix has done it again! Another great rod. The best rod I've ever owned. Great price, Great Rod = Great day on the water.
Reviewed by: MIBass (Roach, MO)

 
St. Croix Triumph

good rod

2012-10-24T23:22:06

10/24/2012 11:22:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

works well for bass.
Reviewed by: mtdogs

 
St. Croix Triumph

new rod

2012-10-24T23:21:29

10/24/2012 11:21:29 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

It is nearly time to hang up the rod I purchased in 1960 so I purchased the St Croix to go with a recent new reel purchase. I really like this rod. After a little practice I was able to drop the lures and spinner bates in close to the fish hiding spots. I purchased this rod based on a friend's recommendation and am now passing the same along for your review.
Reviewed by: fishcaller

 
St. Croix Triumph

Terrific value

2012-10-24T23:19:51

10/24/2012 11:19:51 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own two St. Croix Triumph rods, one casting and one spinning. I was impressed enough with the spinning rod that I recently bought the casting rod. You can certainly spend a lot more money for a rod, but it is difficult to imagine getting a better value. Casts greats, catches fish, and is build to last. If I ever need another rod it is highly likely to be a St. Croix Triumph.
Reviewed by: Cowboy (United States, Ohio)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Love it

2012-10-24T23:19:06

10/24/2012 11:19:06 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

what a difference for jig fishing
I spose the more expensive rods might be more sensitive, but this was a huge difference to me
felt the "tic" as walleyes picked up the bait
I know I felt pickups that I wouldn't have felt on my other setups
rigged it with a braid and a fluoro leader and a decent reel...
very happy!
Reviewed by: cityof (United States, Wisconsin)

 
St. Croix Triumph

Great Rods

2012-10-24T23:18:07

10/24/2012 11:18:07 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This St Croix rod was the third in by collection and I have no disappointments in any of them! Great action, unbelievable sensitivity and quality that is hard to beat! From the slightest little bump of a largemouth to the snap of a good hook set this rod will deliver for years. I keep four rods set up when I am bass fishing so I have one more to switch out and you can bet that forth rod will be a St Croix!
Reviewed by: LineRider (Hebron, Ohio)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Triumph Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: