Search

Shimano :: Ultra Durable Rods :: Voltaeus Freshwater

 

Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Overall Customer Rating: 4.25 of 5 stars Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater Rods 4.25 out of 5 (24 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Shimano
Series: Ultra Durable Rods
Model: Voltaeus Freshwater

Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

VTS46UL

4'6"

1

1/32-3/16

1-4

Medium Fast

Ultra Light

VTS50UL

5'

1

1/32-3/16

1-4

Medium Fast

Ultra Light

VTS56UL2

5'6"

2

1/32-3/16

2-6

Medium Fast

Ultra Light

VTS60M

6'

1

1/8-1/2

6-12

Fast

Medium

VTS60M2

6'

2

1/8-1/2

6-12

Fast

Medium

VTS66M

6'6"

1

1/8-1/2

6-12

Fast

Medium

VTS66M2

6'6"

2

1/8-1/2

6-12

Fast

Medium

VTS66MH

6'6"

1

1/4-3/4

6-15

Fast

Medium Heavy

VTS70ML2

7'

2

1/16-5/16

4-12

Fast

Medium Light

VTS70M

7'

1

1/4-5/8

6-15

Fast

Medium

VTS70M2

7'

2

1/4-5/8

6-15

Fast

Medium

VTS70MH

7'

1

1/4-3/4

8-17

Fast

Medium Heavy

VTS70H

7'

1

1/2-11/4

10-20

Fast

Heavy

VTC60M

6'

1

1/4-5/8

8-17

Fast

Medium

VTC60MH

6'

1

1/4-3/4

10-20

Fast

Medium Heavy

VTC66M

6'6"

1

1/4-5/8

8-17

Fast

Medium

VTC66M2

6'6"

2

1/4-5/8

8-17

Fast

Medium

VTC66MH

6'6"

1

1/4-3/4

10-20

Fast

Medium Heavy

VTC70ML

7'

1

1/8-5/8

6-15

Fast

Medium Light

VTC70M

7'

1

1/4-5/8

8-17

Fast

Medium

VTC70MH

7'

1

1/4-1

12-20

Fast

Medium Heavy


* All Voltaeus Freshwater Rods specifications from the official Shimano catalog. Shimano reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Great rod

2012-07-10T15:08:22

7/10/2012 3:08:22 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

As always, I stopped in, described in general terms what I wanted and was recommended the Voltaeus. After two months of using it, I am very pleased with my purchase. Not sure I would have picked it out on my own but am very glad I did.
Reviewed by: Fishernut (Erie)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Love my new Voltaeus Rod

2012-07-10T15:07:14

7/10/2012 3:07:14 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I use the 7 foot Medium Heavy with fast tip on the Kenai River for Red, and Silver salmon. I love this rod. It is the best I have used with a Bait Cast reel for salmon fishing. I imagine I can probably use it for King Salmon as well but the season was over when I got my new rod.
Reviewed by: Jim Dicken Owner FGHP (Louisville, Ky / Soldotna, AK.)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

solid rod

2012-07-10T15:06:22

7/10/2012 3:06:22 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Nice rod. Works & looks great with the Shimano Saros reel. Hook keeper is great.
Reviewed by: Pork (Nw PA)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Great Rod

2012-07-10T14:43:28

7/10/2012 2:43:28 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Trout snook and redfish
Reviewed by: Big Bass Bentley (Atlanta)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

medium quality, but value for money

2012-07-10T14:42:51

7/10/2012 2:42:51 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I think that in total it is good rod for freshwater fishing. If you don't want to spend $100+ for the rod, then it is the right rod for you.
Reviewed by: nft (Israel)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

quality product

2012-07-10T14:41:58

7/10/2012 2:41:58 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod for a river fishing expedition to Africa. The rod performed admirably
Reviewed by: Fishing the Wild (Australia)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Shimano Voltaeus Spinning Rod

2012-07-10T14:41:23

7/10/2012 2:41:23 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Not sure it's a full 7', as compared to my other 7' rod, but it does a nice job regardless
Reviewed by: kwhites (Walkersville, MD)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Best Casting Rod

2012-06-18T23:58:55

6/18/2012 11:58:55 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I love this 1 piece rod! The action is awesome! Shimano did a great job! I use this rod with an Abu Bait Caster. What a great combo!
Reviewed by: CFin (IL)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Amazing rod for the price

2012-06-18T23:58:11

6/18/2012 11:58:11 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The Shimano Voltaeus is a great rod for a slim price, I wont hesitate to buy another in the future.
Reviewed by: njk3395 (St.Clair, PA)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Excellent for the price

2012-06-18T23:57:27

6/18/2012 11:57:27 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Good rod, worth the extra money (5-10 dollars) when compared to an ugly stick. The guides are a lot stronger and don't bend as easily when hauled around in the back your truck with other junk.The only improvement would be to make the cork handle a little thicker towards the reel seat, other than that I will buy again vs the other rods in that price range (ugly stick , lightning rod, pro guides).
Reviewed by: CreekJumper (texas)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

handle

2012-06-18T23:56:39

6/18/2012 11:56:39 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

I do like the feel and action of this rod. I do not like how the plastic comes underneath the reel. Using it with a jerk bait, bothered my hand. Liking the rod, I am going to try and modify it to rid the discomfort.
Reviewed by: katfish69 (lake amistad, texas)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Good Value

2012-06-18T23:56:02

6/18/2012 11:56:02 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

These rods are lightweight but very durable with a very modest price tag. I'm very pleased with this product. This is the second one I've purchased this year.
Reviewed by: JNCalifornia (California)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

AWESOME ROD

2012-06-18T23:55:32

6/18/2012 11:55:32 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome rod! Bought a 6'6" Medium Heavy with a fast action for a Washington halibut trip. Rod worked awesome when fishing in almost 500' of water and paired with a Penn 113 senator. Handled 50+ lb halibut with ease. The fast action tip allowed me to feel the bottom with ease without snagging the bottom. The smallest bites were felt and after 3 days and limits every day I will be buying another one.
Reviewed by: nhuskers8 (Kennewick, WA)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Great Rod

2012-06-18T22:55:39

6/18/2012 10:55:39 PM

I purchased the 6ft medium rod and couldn't be more satisfied. I just came off a fishing trip where I landed many stripers that were over 20 inches long. The rod has great action and I had no problems with landing the fish. The rod is sensitive and very responsive. I would highly recommend this rod to anyone.
Reviewed by: Opaulb (North Carolina)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Shimano Voltaeus Spinning Rod

2012-06-18T22:55:08

6/18/2012 10:55:08 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love everything about this rod!
Reviewed by: Red72 (West Tennessee watershed lake, 110 acres)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Its OK

2012-06-18T22:54:26

6/18/2012 10:54:26 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

Seems to work well, but it appears that my braided line has become frayed after use. The guides are stainless steel and the rod itself does get a bit heavy after a while. The rod handle could use 2-3", its a little short. Action and strength are fine.
Reviewed by: BigKarl (CT)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Voltaeus

2012-06-18T22:53:31

6/18/2012 10:53:31 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Used this just the other day, a great rod for the money, good feel and action. You cann't go wrong with one of these.
Reviewed by: TjHarv (Castlewood, VA)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Handle too short

2012-06-18T22:52:44

6/18/2012 10:52:44 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

Bought one for the wife. 7' MH Fast action
It is a great rod, nice feel.
The only drawback is that the handle is WAYYYY to short.
If they made the handle about 6-10 inches longer it would be awesome.
Reviewed by: Fisherman Guest (Bethel Island, CA)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

It is a GOOD rod

2012-06-18T22:51:44

6/18/2012 10:51:44 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Here's the deal,
I fish six days a week and have way too many rods. I bought this one just to keep in the back of the truck and not mind if it gets bumped and bruised.
I have to say that people make me laugh. They are complaining about a decent quality rod that costs less than 40.00. This rod is a good rod for the money. It has very good sesitivitey. good action and very durable ( as with all shimano products). I use braid with it and a 2500 sahara. I have found no fraying or any line damage of any kind. The guides are smooth and carry the line true. I have to wonder if they are using the guides as a hook keeper when storing them. This isnt a crucial or a tallus so you cant compare them with the volteaus. Shimano has done a good job on this rod for the intermediate fisherman or the low income fisherman who wants the quality name without the outrageous price. I have the carrot stix and the G loomis bronzeback, and yes they are phenominal rods for fishing like I do. Unfortunatley they are expensive and most people wont pay for that kind of quality. This is a low price rod without the lowend quality. Plus Shimano has the over the counter warranty and you just cant beat that...
Reviewed by: feedingtheaddiction

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Very nice experience!

2012-06-18T22:50:46

6/18/2012 10:50:46 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

A great rod for ligth spinning . I tried the rod with real fighters species and raise fish up to 3 kg and the response was very good.
It is very good for throwing long distances and to work subtly lures.
Highly recommended.
Reviewed by: FranzF (Buenos Aires, Argentina)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Great Rod

2012-06-18T22:49:55

6/18/2012 10:49:55 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Purchased this rod to go with my Shimano Spirex spinning reel. Haven't had any problems with my ultra light setup, and have even brought in some largemouth and pike.
Reviewed by: Straggler777 (Nebraska)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Not as good as they say..

2012-06-18T22:48:59

6/18/2012 10:48:59 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod as a combo with a shimano sierra reel (6'6" Med Fast and Sierra 2500).
The first season the the combo worked out nice, decent sensitivity and good casting distance. However, after 3 months fishing the tip top wore out, and stopped some of my casts and even cutting my line off (standard mono) so I was losing some of my lures. The cork eventually frayed, I didn't even know it could.
Finally I stopped using the rod since the top 6" snapped off bringing in a 8lb pickerel. I thought the "limited lifetime warranty" would cover it but it doesn't since their definition of "looks like it was smashed in a car door" fell under the "look" of the rod.
Their own Customer Service agreed to look somewhere else when it comes to the Voltaeus since the initial price of the rod and cost of shipping to send it back for repair/replacement. You are better off spending more money on a better rod from the get go.
I have no complaints about the reel it came with, it''ll go on a better rod.
Reviewed by: tomustang

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Great value!!!!

2012-06-18T22:47:46

6/18/2012 10:47:46 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased this rod with the advice from one of your knowlegable sales people. So glad I asked for help in choosing this rod. I have no regrets and can fish this rod ALL day long. So easy to get my spinners and plugs out very far with this rod, with little expended energy. I LOVE it!!!!
Reviewed by: Fisherman

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

Great rod for a great day catching lakers

2012-06-18T22:46:46

6/18/2012 10:46:46 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I recently purchased this rod (66”, two piece) with a Shimano Sahara 3000 reel, spooled with Berkley 8lb for a back country lake trout trip. The rod does what it says, it’s sensitive and durable—the reel was fantastic as well. I liked it so much I bought my great friend the same set up for his birthday. Well worth the purchase price and the service staff was very helpful with helping me pick out the set up.
Reviewed by: CodyBowl (United States, Utah)

 
Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater

great rod

2012-06-18T22:45:59

6/18/2012 10:45:59 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

my father bought the 5foot ultra light and said he loved it. after he said that i bought the 6 1/2 foot model for whacky rigging. Ive caught over 30 bass on this rod and the biggest being 5.5lbs and 20in. MY FAVORITE SPINNING COMBO. has the perfect tip action for whacky rigs and i highly recommend this to worm fishermen.
Reviewed by: 4seasonsoutdoors (United States, Wisconsin)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Shimano Voltaeus Freshwater Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: