Search

Daiwa :: Freshwater Rods :: Wilderness Trolling

 

Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Overall Customer Rating: 4.64 of 5 stars Daiwa Wilderness Trolling Rods 4.64 out of 5 (28 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Daiwa
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Wilderness Trolling

Daiwa Wilderness Trolling models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR701MR

7'

1

10 - 17

Regular

Medium

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR701MHR

7'

1

12 - 25

Regular

Medium Heavy

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR802MLR

8'

2

8 - 17

Regular

Medium Light

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR802MR

8'

2

10 - 20

Regular

Medium

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR802MHR

8'

2

12 - 30

Regular

Medium Heavy

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR862MR

8'6"

2

12 - 20

Regular

Medium

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR862MHR

8'6"

2

15 - 30

Regular

Medium Heavy

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR902MR

9'

2

12 - 25

Regular

Medium

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR902MHR

9'

2

15 - 30

Regular

Medium Heavy

Downrigger Trolling

WLDR962MHR

9'6"

2

15 - 30

Regular

Medium Heavy


* All Wilderness Trolling Rods specifications from the official Daiwa catalog. Daiwa reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Decent Rod

2012-07-10T23:15:57

7/10/2012 11:15:57 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod to use trolling for walleye. So far it has been a decent rod, good sensitivity, good backbone.
Reviewed by: Duane (NY)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Wilderness Trolling Rods by Daiwa

2012-07-10T23:15:03

7/10/2012 11:15:03 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I used theses rods for salmon and fishing this is the best rods I have ever had. I would recommend them to everyone that use dipsy divers.
Reviewed by: acre (Port huron, Mi)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Couldn''t agree more with the description

2012-07-10T23:14:43

7/10/2012 11:14:43 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Brought to try to compare with the Heartland line of medium heavy trolling rods. I actually like the rod action of these rods trolling kwik fish from a drift boat going downriver. The tip telegraphs the action of the lure quite well and has the action and toughest to easily handle a 30 pound plus king salmon. Additionally, the very low rod price makes it so I not concerned about breaking the rods and I have purchased two rods each of the 8, 8 1/2, 9 and 9 1/2 foot for myself and my friends have also purchased at least two in various lengths. Good deal and I couldn't be any happier with my purchase decisions.
Reviewed by: Gai Gin (Eureka, CA)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

trolling rods

2012-07-10T23:14:03

7/10/2012 11:14:03 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

for the price i couldn't be happier with these rods. i use the 8'6 for riggers and the 9'6 for dipsy divers and they perform flawlessly. i troll all day long 4 to 5 days a week on lake Ontario and these rods hold up to king salmon abuse all day long. great buy
Reviewed by: US fisher (NY)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

wilderness rods

2012-07-10T23:12:35

7/10/2012 11:12:35 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

great rods for the buck. use these 4 to 5 days a week trolling all day on lake Ontario. they handle the abuse of king salmon all day long without a problem. work great with riggers and dipsy's.
Reviewed by: roger voorhees (newfane,ny)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

I would buy this product again and recom

2012-07-10T23:11:44

7/10/2012 11:11:44 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

the product was very useful, it stands up to fishing in lake Ontario with the big fish, there was nothing wrong about the pole.
Reviewed by: Gene (Wellsboro, PA)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

great rod no compaints

2012-07-10T23:10:46

7/10/2012 11:10:46 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

great rod for the price
Reviewed by: make the turn (rochester, ny)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

RODS GET THE JOB DONE

2012-07-10T23:10:04

7/10/2012 11:10:04 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

CAUGHT TWO CATFISH DRIFT FISHING IN THE ARKANSAS RIVER. HAD NO PROBLEM LANDING A 12 AND A 17 LB. FISH.
Reviewed by: OLD MAN ON THE CREEK (FT. SMITH AR)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Wilderness Trolling Rods

2012-07-10T23:08:49

7/10/2012 11:08:49 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I use these Rods on my downriggers. They are just as good as other higher priced rods I have on my boat.
Reviewed by: candyman (stroudsburg pa-oswego ny)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Good rod for the money

2012-07-10T23:08:02

7/10/2012 11:08:02 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

The rod is a litte stiffer than I wanted but still a good value for the money.
Reviewed by: CW (Salt Lake City, Utah)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

great rod for the price

2012-07-10T23:07:02

7/10/2012 11:07:02 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I use the rod for dipsy divers and downriggers. No problems and would but again.
Reviewed by: hoss (N.E. Ohio)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

as good as top of the line

2012-07-10T23:05:58

7/10/2012 11:05:58 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I own 8 heartland rods and the wilderness rod is just as good for half the price.Salmon and steelhead don,t know the difference
Reviewed by: ALBIE (NEW YORK)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

I use these rods and will again

2012-07-10T23:05:09

7/10/2012 11:05:09 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

no complaints,i use them and i will continue to use them. great for trolling with downrigers.
Reviewed by: slucebaker (Finger Lakes, N.Y.)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

excellent for the price

2012-07-10T23:04:30

7/10/2012 11:04:30 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I've fished with $300+ rods and can't justify the price. These rods do very well and if I snap the tip off not an expesive loss. I don't like the guides and would prefer stainless guides. All of this type of guide (insert guide) fall apart.
Reviewed by: hottip (Puget Sound, Washington)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

I would buy this product again

2012-07-10T23:03:50

7/10/2012 11:03:50 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I think this rod will make a great lead core or used with small dipseys. For the price I do not think you can buy a trolling rod like this anywhere.
Reviewed by: Il Pescatore (Springfield MA)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

best rods for the money

2012-07-10T23:00:31

7/10/2012 11:00:31 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The Daiwa Wilderness Trolling Rods are the best rods for the money. Great for downriggers, board lines or dipsy divers.
Reviewed by: The Legend (Two Harbors, Mn)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Daiwa Wilderness Trolling Rods

2012-07-10T22:59:24

7/10/2012 10:59:24 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent value in a very durable and sensitive surf rod.
Reviewed by: gotfish (Michigan)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Great product at any price

2012-07-10T22:58:42

7/10/2012 10:58:42 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Its a great rod for the price, and if a client breaks a tip off it doesn't hurt.
Reviewed by: Capt. Chuck (Ludington, MI)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

more bang for buck

2012-07-10T22:57:56

7/10/2012 10:57:56 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

can' get much more for so little
Reviewed by: muskie man (chicag, il)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Sometimes you get more than you pay for

2012-07-10T22:57:14

7/10/2012 10:57:14 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Great price for a quality rod.Works great on planer boards.Have no cons for buying this rod and if it gets broke by the grandkids oh well I'll just buy another.What's not to like about a good down rigger rod at this price.
Reviewed by: Papa fish (Syracuse,NY)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

good rods

2012-07-10T22:56:23

7/10/2012 10:56:23 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Good rods for the occasional troller, I do not troll alot so these are perfect and affordable.
Reviewed by: fisherman (Northern IL)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Inexpensive but good

2012-07-10T22:55:33

7/10/2012 10:55:33 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Good rod
Reviewed by: John (Ohio)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Great walleye trolling rods

2012-07-10T22:54:42

7/10/2012 10:54:42 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought 2 rods for trolling for walleye. Great rod for the price. Worked so well I got 2 more.
Reviewed by: safemaster (Michigan)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

quality rods

2012-07-10T22:53:56

7/10/2012 10:53:56 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

these are quality rods at a good price!
Reviewed by: walleye hunter (salem,ohio)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Quality product

2012-07-10T22:53:11

7/10/2012 10:53:11 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I use these rods to troll for walleye. Very good quality for the price. Would certainly buy them again.
Reviewed by: merv (Little Chute, WI)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

2012-07-10T22:38:39

7/10/2012 10:38:39 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I got the medium 8' rod for trolling for walleye on lake Erie. Good for trolling inline boards, Jet 30's, inline wieghts up 4oz.
Reviewed by: Sundancer (Worthington, OH)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

Great Rod

2012-07-10T22:36:25

7/10/2012 10:36:25 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I fish mainly for cats here in Ohio & haven't been disappointed yet. Hooked a really large carp & the rod handled the fight very well. Extremely durable. I bought one, liked it & bought 2 more for my other baitcasters. For the price, you don't expect a rod to be made this well, but it is. Try one, you won't be sorry. I have the 8.6 model.
Reviewed by: Stoney (Ohio)

 
Daiwa Wilderness Trolling

great pole

2012-07-10T22:35:26

7/10/2012 10:35:26 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

great salt water inshore rod
Reviewed by: RONDO (LOWERLAKE,CA)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Daiwa Wilderness Trolling Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: