Search

St. Croix :: Freshwater Rods :: Wild River

 

St. Croix Wild River

Overall Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5 stars St. Croix Wild River Rods 4.8 out of 5 (5 Reviews)
Manufacturer: St. Croix
Series: Freshwater Rods
Model: Wild River

St. Croix Wild River models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

WRC80HF2

8'

2

3/4 - 3

15 - 40

Fast

Heavy

5.5

Casting

WRC86MF2

8'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.8

Casting

WRC86MHF2

8'6"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.3

Casting

WRC86HF2

8'6

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

7.0

Casting

WRC90MLF2

9'

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

5.8

Casting

WRC90MF2

9'

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

6.0

Casting

WRC90MHF2

9'

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

6.1

Casting

WRC90HF2

9'

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

7.1

Casting

WRC90HM2

9'

2

1 - 6

15 - 30

Moderate

Heavy

7.3

Casting

WRC96HM2

9'6"

2

1 - 6

15 - 30

Moderate

Heavy

7.4

Casting

WRC106MF2

10'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

7.4

Casting

WRC106MHM2

10'6"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 17

Moderate

Medium Heavy

8.5

Casting

WRC106HM2

10'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Moderate

Heavy

8.2

Downrigging

WRD90MHM2

9'

2

1 - 4

10 - 25

Moderate

Medium Heavy

8.4

Downrigging

WRD90HM2

9'

2

2 - 8

15 - 30

Moderate

Heavy

8.5

Downrigging

WRD106MHM2

10'6"

2

1 - 4

10 - 25

Moderate

Medium Heavy

8.4

Downrigging

WRD106HM2

10'6"

2

2 - 8

15 - 30

Moderate

Heavy

8.6

Kokanee Casting

WRKC76LM

7'6"

1

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 10

Moderate

Light

5.0

Kokanee Casting

WRKC76LM2

7'6"

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 10

Moderate

Light

5.0

Kokanee Casting

WRKC80LM2

8'

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 10

Moderate

Light

5.2

Spinning

WRS86MF2

8'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.6

Spinning

WRS86MHF2

8'6"

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

5.2

Spinning

WRS86HF2

8'6"

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

6.1

Spinning

WRS90LM2

9'

2

1/16 - 3/8

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

6.5

Spinning

WRS90MLF2

9'

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

5.6

Spinning

WRS90MF2

9'

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

5.8

Spinning

WRS90MHF2

9'

2

3/8 - 1

10 - 17

Fast

Medium Heavy

6.1

Spinning

WRS90HF2

9'

2

1/2 - 2

12 - 25

Fast

Heavy

7.1

Spinning

WRS96MLF2

9'6"

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

6.0

Spinning

WRS96MF2

9'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

6.1

Spinning

WRS106ULS2

10'6"

2

1/16 - 1/4

2 - 6

Slow

Ultra Light

6.2

Spinning

WRS106MLF2

10'6"

2

1/8 - 5/8

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

6.5

Spinning

WRS106MF2

10'6"

2

1/4 - 3/4

8 - 12

Fast

Medium

7.3

Spinning

WRST116LM2

11'6"

2

1/16 - 1/2

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

8.4

Spinning

WRST136LM3

13'6"

3

1/16 - 1/2

4 - 8

Moderate

Light

8.6


* All Wild River Rods specifications from the official St. Croix catalog. St. Croix reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about St. Croix Wild River

 
St. Croix Wild River

The Best Rod I''ve ever had

2012-10-25T13:40:39

10/25/2012 1:40:39 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod 1 year ago and had so much of good fishing experience during last summer.
The way St. Croix® Wild River® Salmon/Steelhead Trigger Rod casts is unbelievable and the feeling of the fish on your hook is just different. Strongly recommend for everyone who wants to go to the next level of fishing!!!
For my reel with this rod I use Shimano Saros F Spinning Reel, SAR3000F.
Reviewed by: BelAngler

 
St. Croix Wild River

Wild River Casting Rod Review 10''6" Medium Light

2012-10-24T23:43:32

10/24/2012 11:43:32 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Well, I have to say I am very pleased with the way St. Croix builds their rods. I am an avid salmon/steelheader who fishes a lot in Alaska, Washington and Oregon and I wanted a rod that I could drift fish as well as toss hardware and the WC106MLMF2 10'6" medium/light action casting rod certainly fits the bill. I have owned St. Croix rods in the past so I knew the quality of the rods that this American owned and built company produces. The rod itself is made with durable components and the look on the rod boasts comparisons to G Loomis and other extremely high priced rods. And while this rod may not be in the same league as a Loomis, the feel that you get from drifting a glob of salmon eggs on the bottom or thumping a spinner through a drift is half the fun while using this rod. Some other notes on the rod before we take it out onto the river are the guides and the cork grips. The cork is some of the highest grade cork available on the market and the guides are perfectly centered thanks to laser centering technology by St. Croix, proving that attention to detail plays a very important role in the making of these rods. One point that I'd like to make here is that the guides on the rod are not alconite and not suited for braided lines which was probably the reason why St. Croix decided to use Hialoy instead. Now onto the river...
My testing ground for the Wild River rod was the Little Susitna River in Willow Alaska. It is a river well suited for drift fishing and that was my main focus for this trip, to see if the rods design equaled its performance on the water. Paired up with a Shimano Citica and 12lb test Cajun line, the balance was good. My only note here is that I wish St. Croix would have made the reel seat a little bigger to accommodate larger reels. One thing that I admire about this rod is the castability, especially with lighter weights and lures. The length (10'6") plays a key role here not only for range, but for precision as well. With a 1/4 ounce Little Cleo, I could continually place it under overhanging vegetation from across the river. Sometimes when fishing for Salmon and Steelhead you have a small window of area to place your presentation and my confidence in the rod rose as I found the rhythm of the cast. As my spoon wobbled through the water, I could clearly feel every twist and turn that it made, even if I was working it 50'' downstream. Amazing sensitivity! My first fish on was a slightly blushed Pink Salmon that weighted about 3 1/2-4lbs. The strike was clearly telegraphed through the rod and I not only felt the lure stop, but I could feel the fish shaking it''s head as it tried to figure out why the thing in its mouth was so darn hard. My hookset, though solid, felt like I was doubling the rod over (due to its fast action), but knowing the durability of the rod, I would have had to put a lot more pressure on it before pushing it to the breaking point. While fighting the fish, the rods long length, not its strength tired the fish quickly and I was able to land it in a short period. My first Silver Salmon though was a completely different story. Drifting a corky/yarn combo through a pool enticed a nice fish to swim over and investigate before mouthing my offering. Even though I had seen the fish take my corky, I could feel the tell tale tap tap tap on my rod, which in actuality felt more like thumps. Once again, good solid hookset, but this time, I had little control over the fish as it raced out of the pool downstream and I had to chase it through a crowd of other anglers. By divine intervention and a little luck I was able to land the nine pound specimen which, like the Pink, gradually succumbed to the rods long length and power. I would highly recommend that when using this rod, not to use it for combat fishing as it is not designed to hoarse in fish quickly. That is not to say it won’t tire fish effectively or that it will take a long time to land, its long length and action will do the job effectively. If you want a more powerful rod for your drift fishing needs, I’d recommend the WC106MMF2 model that is a medium power and rated for 8-20lb line and ?-3/4 ounce lure sizes. One of my friends owns this model and he highly recommends it for King Fishing, or for fishing in heavy current.
Before I end this review I’d like to state a few last pieces of advice on using this rod. This rods main purpose and design is for drift fishing and tossing smaller lure sizes (1/8-1/2 ounce. It’s not a trolling rod, surfcasting rod and not a sturgeon rod or a catfish rod. When testing this rod, I used two different reel types, a Shimano Citica and an Ambassadur 6000 bait casting reel, both spooled with 12lb test Cajun line. Between the two, I preferred using the Citica as it sat lower on the reel seat and complimented the Wild Rivers casting ability and accuracy. It’s also much lighter than the Ambassadur which is easier on your arm if you spend a lot of time on the water. My last tip for using this rod is to “break it in” (not literally break it), meaning become comfortable with casting a longer rod before you tie on an expensive lure or drift rig. Sounds kind of silly to practice casting in your yard or with no lure, but once you get the feel and casting rhythm down, it will aid you greatly when you go after that trophy steelhead or salmon. Stated earlier, this rod has amazing casting ability and for those of us who are used to using shorter rods, the difference is tremendous and takes some getting used to.
I hope that this review has been helpful to you. Take care, tight lines, and most importantly, have fun in the great outdoors!
Reviewed by: crowdcor (Palmer, Alaska)

 
St. Croix Wild River

King Salmon

2012-10-24T23:42:07

10/24/2012 11:42:07 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

We have been using the 8,6 WC86MHF2 for King Salmons for more than 5 years now. They work absolutely excellent. I also have the more exp. G. Loomis.. but this one does the job just as good.
Nice feel whit the bait, and backbone enough to get even the 50 pounders at land. We fish from the bank, and now have equipped the camp with 10 rods. Together with Shimano Curado 301 you have what it takes to bring the big ones to land.
Reviewed by: Mollerdrengen (Denmark, Europe)

 
St. Croix Wild River

Fantastic Buy...no reason to buy anything else

2012-10-24T23:42:07

10/24/2012 11:42:07 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This product is phenomenal! This is my second full year with this rod and the functionality is unbelievable. I had a family member trying to get me to buy a Loomis rather than this rod and at twice the price I decided to try the St. Croix instead. I could not be more happy with it. I have the M weight MF action 8'6" rod and it is a dream in the casting, feel and ability to power salmon or Steelhead out of the powerful current and into the net. I had previously owned the Berkley series one Steelhead rod and it had a great fell but this thing blows it out of the water in the feel department. I can cast a country mile with this rod as well as feel like I am always in control of every situation when a fish gets hooked. This rod is the perfect marriage of strength and feel to feel even the lightest bites and control the head of any salmon or Steelhead with the stiff butt end of the rod. Love it and would recommend to anyone looking at this rod to save the money and purchase this rod over a Loomis any day!
Reviewed by: CarlLW

 
St. Croix Wild River

Great Perforance, feel, fit and finish

2012-10-24T23:41:26

10/24/2012 11:41:26 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

After having used nearly exclusively the "GL" brand, I was skeptical about this rod, but purchased it after what some trusted friends had to say. Took this rod fishing on the Columbia River for Spring Chinook and have been very satisfied.
Reviewed by: SpringerFever (Seattle)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the St. Croix Wild River Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: